2011 Assen Moto2: Qualifying Results



Viessmann Kiefer Racing rider Stefan Bradl set an early fast time under darkening skies at Assen in the Netherlands to put himself on pole position for the Moto2 race.

He is joined by Marc Marquez (Team CatalunyaCaixa Repsol) and Simone Corsi (Ioda Racing Project) on the front row.

Having posted the fastest times in both practice sessions, Bradl stepped in front of the field early in the 45 minute Moto2 qualifying session, with a fast lap of 1’39.305 to give him his sixth pole of the 2011 season. Catalan Marquez posted an early lap 0.295s behind the German and Italian Corsi followed with a posted time of 1’39.700 to put him in third.

The skies threatened rain as the Moto2 bikes hit the track, and by the halfway point it started to fall. Riders entered the pits to wait it out or change tires, and in the last few minutes of the session most of them hazarded back out on the wet track to make the most of the already shortened weekend track time.

Tom Lüthi (Interwetten Moto2 Paddock), Yuki Takahashi (Gresini Racing) and Aleix Espargaró (Pons HP 40) make up the second row for the start of the race, while Kenan Sofuoglu (Technomag-CIP), Scott Redding (Marc VDS Racing) and Michele Pirro (Gresini Racing) comprise row three. Bradley Smith (Tech 3 Racing) completed the top 10 of the qualifying session.

2011 Assen Moto2: Qualifying Results

Pos.Num.RiderNationTeamBikeKm/hTimeGap 1st/Prev.
1.65Stefan BRADLGERViessmann Kiefer RacingKalex253.81’39.305
2.93Marc MARQUEZSPATeam CatalunyaCaixa RepsolSuter253.01’39.6000.295 / 0.295
3.3Simone CORSIITAIoda Racing ProjectFTR252.31’39.7000.395 / 0.100
4.12Thomas LUTHISWIInterwetten Paddock Moto2Suter264.11’39.8440.539 / 0.144
5.72Yuki TAKAHASHIJPNGresini Racing Moto2Moriwaki249.51’39.8900.585 / 0.046
6.40Aleix ESPARGAROSPAPons HP 40Pons Kalex252.01’39.9620.657 / 0.072
7.54Kenan SOFUOGLUTURTechnomag-CIPSuter245.41’40.1230.818 / 0.161
8.45Scott REDDINGGBRMarc VDS Racing TeamSuter248.71’40.1490.844 / 0.026
9.51Michele PIRROITAGresini Racing Moto2Moriwaki247.61’40.2340.929 / 0.085
10.38Bradley SMITHGBRTech 3 RacingTech 3251.01’40.2380.933 / 0.004
11.44Pol ESPARGAROSPAHP Tuenti Speed UpFTR256.21’40.4691.164 / 0.231
12.63Mike DI MEGLIOFRATech 3 RacingTech 3248.91’40.5501.245 / 0.081
13.77Dominique AEGERTERSWITechnomag-CIPSuter255.31’40.6471.342 / 0.097
14.19Xavier SIMEONBELTech 3 BTech 3245.71’40.7261.421 / 0.079
15.71Claudio CORTIITAItaltrans Racing TeamSuter248.11’40.7441.439 / 0.018
16.36Mika KALLIOFINMarc VDS Racing TeamSuter249.21’40.8041.499 / 0.060
17.4Randy KRUMMENACHERSWIGP Team Switzerland Kiefer RacingKalex252.61’40.9251.620 / 0.121
18.75Mattia PASINIITAIoda Racing ProjectFTR252.31’40.9851.680 / 0.060
19.34Esteve RABATSPABlusens-STXFTR252.01’41.0361.731 / 0.051
20.13Anthony WESTAUSMZ Racing TeamMZ-RE Honda251.71’41.0681.763 / 0.032
21.68Yonny HERNANDEZCOLBlusens-STXFTR246.71’41.2111.906 / 0.143
22.15Alex DE ANGELISRSMJIR Moto2Motobi243.61’41.3642.059 / 0.153
23.16Jules CLUZELFRANGM Forward RacingSuter249.51’41.5362.231 / 0.172
24.21Javier FORESSPAMapfre Aspar Team Moto2Suter245.41’41.5642.259 / 0.028
25.29Andrea IANNONEITASpeed MasterSuter247.21’41.6422.337 / 0.078
26.9Kenny NOYESUSAAvintia-STXFTR245.21’41.7322.427 / 0.090
27.14Ratthapark WILAIROTTHAThai Honda Singha SAGFTR250.51’41.7392.434 / 0.007
28.25Alex BALDOLINIITANGM Forward RacingSuter247.91’41.9082.603 / 0.169
29.64Santiago HERNANDEZCOLSAG TeamFTR248.61’41.9312.626 / 0.023
30.49Kev COGHLANGBRAeroport de CastelloFTR250.81’42.0772.772 / 0.146
31.88Ricard CARDUSSPAQMMF Racing TeamMoriwaki245.61’42.1602.855 / 0.083
32.31Carmelo MORALESSPADesguaces La Torre G22Moriwaki246.61’42.3083.003 / 0.148
33.66Michael VAN DER MARKNEDEAB RacingTen Kate245.31’42.5653.260 / 0.257
34.80Axel PONSSPAPons HP 40Pons Kalex254.11’42.6823.377 / 0.117
35.53Valentin DEBISEFRASpeed UpFTR249.91’42.9083.603 / 0.226
36.39Robertino PIETRIVENItaltrans Racing TeamSuter246.41’43.2003.895 / 0.292
37.97Steven ODENDAALRSAMS RacingSuter246.21’44.2404.935 / 1.040
38.95Mashel AL NAIMIQATQMMF Racing TeamMoriwaki247.21’44.2824.977 / 0.042
76Max NEUKIRCHNERGERMZ Racing TeamMZ-RE Honda239.41’53.04313.738 / 8.761
82Elena ROSELLSPAMapfre Aspar Team Moto2Suter