Motorcycle Types Cruiser Barber AMA XR1200: Harley Report

Barber AMA XR1200: Harley Report

2011-barber-ama-xr1200-harley-report (1)

2011 AMA XR1200 Series

Parts Unlimited rider Steve Rapp prevailed in an 11-lap duel with series points leader Chris Fillmore (Bruce Rossmeyer’s Daytona Racing) to win his second AMA Pro Vance & Hines XR1200 race of the season at Barber Motorsports Park June 20 by a margin of 0.157-second.

At the start of the race, Rapp, the polesitter, and Fillmore broke to the front of the pack along with fellow front-row starter Michael Beck (J&P Cycles), but exiting the track’s final turn onto the front straight to complete the first lap, Beck lost control of his motorcycle in a dramatic high-side crash, which he remarkably walked away from uninjured.

The resulting chaos as following motorcycles attempted to avoid Beck and his crashed motorcycle allowed Rapp and Fillmore to make a break at the front, which widened as the laps ticked off.

Riding on the ragged edge of control as the sweltering 95-plus degree temperature degraded the track’s available grip and tire condition, the pair ran nose to tail for the remainder of the race, but ultimately Fillmore was unable to find a way around Rapp, who earned his second victory of the season. Rapp was credited with leading all 11 laps of the race.

Steve Rapp (Harley-Davidson XR1200) says: “I got a decent start. I was in third going through the first couple corners, then got a little bit of a draft going in to Turn 4 and was able to start passing some people.

“By the end of the first lap I was back in the lead, and then I just went as hard as I could without crashing. This class really shows bike skill and rider set-up, that’s what I like about it. I had fun.”

Chris Fillmore
(Harley-Davidson XR1200) says: “In the beginning of the race when [Beck] got spit off, it was right in front of me and I ran into the grass. I kind of checked out of the race for a second, then realized we had to get back in line.

“I was pushing hard, pushing hard the whole time, but every time I thought about making a move, the front end would push and the rear would come around. It was really, really greasy out here. I kind of played it conservative. I wish I’d tried some more aggressive moves, but I was pretty much doing everything I could just to stay there.”

Some 11 seconds back, a battle for third place emerged as Tyler O’Hara (, who made an exceptional start from eighth on the grid to third place was eventually chased down by Travis Wyman (Harv’s Harley-Davidson) and Michael Barnes (Drag Specialties). On the final lap, Wyman crashed while attempting to overtake O’Hara, who earned his first podium finish of the season.

Tyler O’Hara (Harley-Davidson XR1200) says: “In the middle of race, Travis was catching me, and on the last lap he really put some heat on me and passed me going into 4 on the inside. [We ended up] drag racing all the way to the Museum Turn, then I just held it wide open and made it work. I’m definitely really happy to be up here.”

Barnes finished fourth, followed by Bruce Rossmeyer’s Daytona Racing teammates Michael Corbino and Kyle Wyman, and Dave Estok (Black Hills Harley-Davidson) in tight formation. Chase McFarland (Latus Motors) and brothers Payton and Brett Sassaman rounded out the top 10.

The AMA Pro Racing Vance & Hines XR1200 Series returns to action July 9-10 at Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course in Lexington, OH.

Barber AMA XR1200 Series Race Result:

1. Steve Rapp (Parts Unlimited), 11 Laps
2. Chris Fillmore (Bruce Rossmeyer’s Daytona Racing), +0.157
3. Tyler O’Hara (GP Bike Parts), +11.915
4. Michael Barnes (Drag Specialties), +12.919
5. Michael Corbino (Bruce Rossmeyer’s Daytona Racing), +29.104
6. Kyle Wyman (Bruce Rossmeyer’s Daytona Racing), +29.213
7. David Estok (Black Hills Harley-Davidson), +29.675
8. Chase McFarland (Latus Motors Racing), +32.773
9. Payton Sassaman (Harley-Davidson of Macon), +37.654
10. Brett Sassaman (Eagle Harley-Davidson), +54.772
11. Gerry Signorelli (Kuryakyn), +1:18.617
12. Matthew Heidel (Shar-Tuff/Davis H-D), +1:18.849
13. Paul James (James Gang/Hoban Brothers/H-D of Appleton),), +1:23.609
14. Travis Wyman (Harv’s Harley-Davidson), 10 Laps
15. Bryan Desimone (Kuryakyn), +1:50.698
16. Jeremiah Johnson ( ·New Roc Harley-Davidson), 9 Laps
17. Shawn Higbee (HOG Racing/Harley Owners Group), 5 Laps
18. Michael Morgan (Python Exhaust), 2 Laps
19. Michael Beck (J&P Cycles), 0 Laps

2011 AMA XR1200 Series Points Standings
1. Chris Fillmore, 135
2. Steve Rapp, 119
3. Michael Barnes, 80
4. Kyle Wyman, 78
5. Tyler O’Hara, 67
6. Michael Corbino, 65
7. Chase McFarland, 61
8. Michael Beck, 59
9. Danny Eslick, 50
10. Joe Kopp, 45

Ron Lieback
Ron Lieback
One of the few moto journalists based on the East Coast, Ron Lieback joined the motorcycle industry as a freelancer in 2007, and is currently Online Editor at Ultimate Motorcycling.

2020 SWM Ace of Spades 500 First Look: For Motorheads!

2020 SWM Ace of Spades 500 First Look: Restromod Style Although SWM is best known in the United States for its line of affordable dual-sport, adventure,...

2019 KTM 690 Enduro R On-/Off-Road Review (16 Fast Facts)

2019 KTM 690 Enduro R Review: ADV, Rally, and Dual-Sport in One The KTM 690 Enduro R has always been a red-headed stepchild in the Austrian...

2020 Vespa Primavera Sean Wotherspoon Scooter First Look

2020 Vespa Primavera Sean Wotherspoon Debuts at EIMCA 2019 While Vespa scooters have always been high-level industrial fashion, that doesn’t stop the trendsetting Italian brand...

2020 Italjet Dragster Scooter First Look (7 Fast Facts)

Available in two motor sizes and body styles, the 2020 Italjet Dragster 200 and Dragster 125 bring radical naked styling to the world of scooters.

MotoGP Champ Jorge Lorenzo Announces Retirement from Racing

During the press conference for the final round of 2019 MotoGP at Valencia, Jorge Lorenzo shocked the crowd as he announced his retirement from professional motorcycle racing.

2020 Honda NC750X and NC750X DCT ABS Buyer’s Guide: Specs & Prices

2020 Honda NC750X and NC750X DCT ABS The 2020 Honda NC750X and its full-featured maternal twin, the NC750X DCT ABS, are two of the most...