Infineon SportBike Results: Race 1

2011-infineon-sportbike-results-race-one2011 AMA SportBike Results

From the drop of the flag in Saturday’s Daytona Sportbike race number 1, Jason DiSalvo led. Although he went on to win in convincing fashion aboard the Team Latus Motors Racing Ducati 848, he did get a bit of good luck when Jake Holden, also Ducati mounted, riding the Roberson Motorsports 848, over shot turn four while hounding DiSalvo for the lead.

The mishap allowed Danny Eslick, on the Geico/Richie Morris Racing Suzuki GSX-R600 sportbike, to slot into second, followed by PJ Jacobson, on another Ducati 848, and Tommy Aquino on the Pat Clark Yamaha.

However, following the off-course excursion, Holden re-entered in sixth place and went on to put on a truly awesome display of riding. Holden put his head down and started clicking off one fast lap after another, going to work picking off AMA SportBike riders in front of him. After getting past Aquino and Jacobson, there was a pretty good gap to Eslick.

That said, Holden steadily reeled the Suzuki rider in and in a matter of a few laps was on Eslick’s rear fender, getting past coming over the hill and dropping into turn five to, amazingly, reclaim second place in Infineon SportBike.

DiSalvo got the message on his pit board and picked up the pace to ensure he brought the Ducati home in first. Jake Holden, riding as the ultimate privateer this weekend due some upheavals with the team, gave a very entertaining and impressive preview of what’s in store for tomorrow’s DSB race number 2.

At the checkered Jason DiSalvo was leading, taking the win and stretching his point lead. Four seconds back (pretty close considering he went off track) Jake Holden brought the privateer Ducati across the line for second. Danny Eslick was the all-Italian podium spoiler putting his Suzuki in the final spot on the rostrum.

PJ Jacobson, who looked like he might give Danny a run for the third spot (which would have made it a Ducati sweep) faded back to finish fourth, followed by Tommy Aquino, Corey West, Cameron Beaubier, Paul Allison, Tyler Odom, and Tyler O’Hara.

The win for DiSalvo was a strong comeback figuring he was disqualified from Friday qualifying for non-compliance with fuel. With rain expected tonight and the forecast uncertain for

Sunday’s AMA Daytona SportBike race number 2 is next; it promises to be an interesting day.

2011 AMA Daytona SportBike Results: Race 1

PosNo.Rider(s)TeamBikeIntervalGapBest LapPoints
1.40Jason DiSalvoTeam Latus Motors RacingDucati 84822 LapsWINNER1:39.27132
2.59Jake HoldenRoberson MotorsportsDucati 8487.6227.6221:39.31725
3.69Danny EslickRichie Morris RacingSuzuki GSX-R60023.25515.6321:40.51621
4.9PJ JacobsenCeltic RacingDucati 84825.1731.9181:40.59318
5.6Tommy AquinoYamaha Extended Service, Pat Clark Sports, Graves, YamahaYamaha YZF-R631.1525.9791:40.39716
6.57Cory WestVesrah SuzukiSuzuki GSX-R60040.0638.9101:40.61515
7.116Cameron BeaubierGP Bike Parts RacingYamaha YZF-R640.3480.2841:40.59514
8.20Paul AllisonTriple Crown IndustriesYamaha YZF-R656.26715.9191:41.91913
9.46Tyler OdomDon Odom RacingHonda CBR600RR57.6391.3721:41.91312
10.129Tyler OHaraGP Bike Parts RacingYamaha YZF-R61:06.6288.9881:42.02411
11.44Taylor KnappVesrah SuzukiSuzuki GSX-R6001:12.1645.5351:41.53810
12.72Bryce PrinceBryce Prince RacingYamaha YZF-R61:21.3299.1651:42.6389
13.7Fernando AmantiniTeam AmantiniKawasaki ZX-6R1:33.88512.5561:42.6688
14.174Josh GalsterJosh Galster RacingYamaha YZF-R621 Laps1 Lap1:44.3577
15.75Huntley NashLTD Racing Y.E.S YamahaYamaha YZF-R67.8177.8171:44.3276
16.77Matthew SadowskiTop Shelf Motorcycles RacingDucati 84843.01235.1941:45.8965
17.181Craig MasonTeam TDS Guns/ IndustriesYamaha YZF-R643.8330.8211:45.9694
18.45David Sadowski, Jr.Top Shelf Motorcycles RacingDucati 84850.3076.4731:46.2583
19.13Melissa ParisHT Moto YamahaYamaha YZF-R654.1513.8441:45.8202
20.444Oscar CovarrubiasGet Some RacingKawasaki ZX-6R1:08.29514.1441:46.3161
21.28Kevin BoisvertBayside PerformanceSuzuki GSX-R6001:26.23717.9411:47.2960
22.32Santiago VillaM4 SuzukiSuzuki GSX-R60019 Laps2 Laps1:42.4910
23.300Patrick McCordPeak Performance RacingKawasaki ZX-6R8 Laps11 Laps1:46.5930
24.5Dane WestbyM4 SuzukiSuzuki GSX-R600DNFDNF-no times-0
25.8Josh HerrinMonster Energy Graves YamahaYamaha YZF-R6DNSDNS-no times-0