News Croft British Superbike: Friday Report

Croft British Superbike: Friday Report

2011-croft-british-superbike-friday-report (1)

2011 Croft BSB FP1/FP2 Results

Round 3 of the 2011 British Superbike Championship officially throttled into action Friday at Croft, with the BSB grid lapping the track for the first two of three practice sessions.

The man who set the pace Friday was Swan Yamaha R1 rider Tommy Hill. The North Yorkshire British Superbike rider is still healing from a crash during warm-up for the last round at Oulton Park, but battled through the pain to post a time of 1:20763, which was 0.043 of a second faster than Rapid Solicitors Bathams Ducati rider Michael Rudder.

Tommy Hill (Swan Yamaha YZF-R1) says: “I’m well happy with that, but I have to keep my feet on the ground and remember that I am injured. I was running at 85-90% for much of the time but on that last lap just pushed a little bit more. I have to be realistic over the weekend.”

The third fastest British Superbike rider on Friday was last year’s race winner, Hill’s teammate Michael Laverty. Laverty was a tenth of a second quicker than MCC COlchester Kawasaki rider, Stuart Easton, who has also won at Croft. Fifth fastest time went to Loris Baz on the Motorpoint Yamaha.

As for the American John Hopkins, he was sixth quickest. Hopkings is coming off his maiden win at Oulton Park, and is looking for additional positive results aboard the Samsung Crescent Suzuki GSX-R1000 this weekend.

The British Superbike grid will be back on Croft Saturday from FP3 and qualifying.

2011 Croft Free Practice 1 Results:

1. Michael Laverty (Swan Yamaha) 1m:21.442s

2. Stuart Easton (MSS Colchester Kawasaki) +0.314s

3. Peter Hickman (Tyco Honda) +0.315s

4. John Hopkins (Samsung Crescent Racing) +0.354s

5. Gary Mason (MSS Colchester Kawasaki) +0.394s

6. Michael Rutter (Rapid Solicitors-Bathams Ducati) +0.420s

2011 Croft Free Practice 2 Results:

1. Tommy Hill (Swan Yamaha) 1m:20.763s

2. Michael Rutter (Rapid Solicitors-Bathams Ducati) +0.043s

3. Michael Laverty (Swan Yamaha) +0.088s

4. Stuart Easton (MSS Colchester Kawasaki) +0.169s

5. Loris Baz (Motorpoint Yamaha) +0.222s

6. John Hopkins (Samsung Crescent Racing) +0.440s

Ron Lieback
Ron Lieback
One of the few moto journalists based on the East Coast, Ron Lieback joined the motorcycle industry as a freelancer in 2007, and is currently Online Editor at Ultimate Motorcycling.

Wells Lamont FX3 Style 7807 Gloves Review: Work and Play?

Spinning wrenches or twistin’ the throttle, that old glove company has some new looks  A while back, I discovered that an old American company that...

Interview with Josh McSwain of Parmalee: Motorcycle Rider

Motorcycles and country music go together as well as America and apple pie. Josh McSwain, guitarist, keyboardist, and songwriter for Parmalee, a country music...

2020 Kawasaki Ninja 1000SX First Look (12 Fast Facts)

In an alternative universe, right now we’d be providing you with a ride review of the new 2020 Kawasaki Ninja 1000SX. However, due to...

XPD X-Two Boots Review: Low-Rise Motorcycle Footwear

The blur between motorcycle boots and riding shoes continues, with the XPD X-Two boots offering racing-like protection from the ankle down in a mid-height...

Optimizing Recovery with Backmate by Eric Bostrom

During his years as a professional racer, Eric Bostrom had a reputation as one of the fittest riders in the AMA paddock. Now retired...

2020 Vent Derapage RR 125 First Look: Italian Supermoto

Have you ever heard of Vent motorcycles? We hadn’t either until recently. Based in Introbio, less than 40 miles from Milan, Vent started off...