KTM: Mullin Wins Lone Star AMA Enduro

2011 AMA National Enduro Results

Factory FMF/KTM Team rider Charlie Mullins won the third round of the AMA National Enduro Series held in Kalgary, Texas, marking his first win of the 2011 season.

The conditions were the toughest of the season as the riders traversed the dry, hard-packed and rocky Texas soil. The temperatures were in the mid-nineties with high winds.

Mullins, the reigning AMA National Enduro Champion, started well taking the win in the first test section. Mullins was followed closely by his teammates Cory Buttrick and Russell Bobbitt as well as Husaberg riders Mike Lafferty and Nick Fahringer.

Mullins, who was struggling with the stomach flu throughout the day, was happy to start off strong.

Charlie Mullins (KTM Enduro) says: “I was glad to get the win in the first section. I also had a pretty decent run in the second test and just came up a little short behind Fahringer.

“In the third test I got held up by a lapper that fell in front of me and I couldn’t pass in the tight section so I had to wait for him to get going again. It’s just part of racing, but I did lose quite a bit of time in that section.”

Mullins was able to pull it together in the final three tests, turning the fastest time in all three sections. After winning four of the six special tests he was able to ride away with the win. Husaberg’s Nick Fahringer finished 2nd overall while Buttrick and Bobbitt finished 3rd and 4th respectively.

Now three rounds into the series, the FMF/KTM Team holds the top three positions in overall points. Bobbitt holds the points lead with two wins, Mullins is currently in 2nd with one win and Buttrick is 3rd in the overall standings.

Next Event: April 17, 2011 – West Point, Tenn.

AMA National Enduro: Kalgary, Texas, Overall Results:
1) Charlie Mullins – (55:23) KTM
2) Nick Fahringer (55:42)
3) Cory Buttrick – (56:34) KTM
4) Russell Bobbitt – (58:18) KTM
5) Cole Kirkpatrick (59:16)
6) Brad Bakken – (60:44) KTM
7) Andrew Delong – (62:10) KTM
8) Shane Hufford – (62:18) – KTM
9) Cody Schafer (66:01)
10) Morgan Moss (67:33)

AMA National Enduro Overall Point Standings:
1) Russell Bobbitt – 78
2) Charlie Mullins – 70
3) Cory Buttrick – 60
4) Nick Fahringer – 57
5) Brad Bakken – 55