Jerez Moto2: Spanish Grand Prix Results


Spoiler alert: Don’t want to know the MotoGP results for the Spanish Grand Prix at Jerez? Then please don’t open this story…

In Moto2 Andrea Iannone (Speed Master) mastered the rain to take his fourth victory in the category, a first of the season, and joining him on the rostrum were Thomas Luthi (Interwetten Paddock Moto2) and Simone Corsi (Ioda Racing Project).

Lüthi took the early control in the race and was on course for his first win in Moto2, until the Italian rider passed him for the lead and pulled a large advantage. His winning margin was 7.850s.

Building on the second place the Speed Master rider achieved in Losail Moto2, Iannone takes the lead of the 2011 World Championship after scoring 25 points for the win.

The Moto2 race started in damp conditions and more rain fell throughout, leading to a slippery and difficult circuit. Starting from 18th position Corsi was leading the race after a lap and half, but was caught by Iannone and the Swiss rider and took the final spot on the rostrum to take his third podium in the intermediate class.

Bradley Smith (Tech 3) who started from fifth, finished in fourth place in only his second ever Moto2 race. With a few laps to go, he was in fifth place until Stefan Bradl (Viessmann Kiefer Racing) made a costly error when he nearly lost control of his bike and Smith was there to take his fourth position.

Bradl had been aiming to become the first German rider to win back-to-back races in the intermediate class since Ralf Waldmann in 1996 but dropped a handful of places at the start. Lüthi and Bradl now share second place in the standings.

Julián Simón (Mapfre Aspar) was the first Spanish rider to cross the line in sixth place, ahead of Alex de Angelis (JiR Moto2) who salvaged seventh position after a ride through penalty for jumping the start. Scotsman Kev Coghlan (Team Aeroport de Castelló) finished in eighth place after qualifying back in 24th position, scoring his first Grand Prix points. Rookie Michele Pirro (Gresini Racing Moto2) took ninth place and it was a titanic tussle until the final corner between MZ Racing team-mates Anthony West and Max Neukirchner with the German taking tenth and the Australian 11th.

Yuki Takahashi (Gresini Racing) who had been involved in the fight for third, crashed out at high speed at turn 12 losing front grip and missed out on a potential 16 points.

Marc Marquez (Team CatalunyaCaixa Repsol) failed to pick up his first points of his Moto2 debut season after Jules Cluzel (Forward Racing) was unable to stop his bike in time and ran into the back of the current 125cc World Champion after a battle for sixth place. The incident put them both out of the race.

2011 Jerez Moto2 Results

Pos. Points Num. Rider Nation Team Bike Km/h Time/Gap
1. 25 29 Andrea IANNONE ITA Speed Master Suter 138.2 49’56.423
2. 20 12 Thomas LUTHI SWI Interwetten Paddock Moto2 Suter 137.8 +7.850
3. 16 3 Simone CORSI ITA Ioda Racing Project FTR 137.6 +12.625
4. 13 38 Bradley SMITH GBR Tech 3 Racing Tech 3 137.5 +15.355
5. 11 65 Stefan BRADL GER Viessmann Kiefer Racing Kalex 137.3 +17.850
6. 10 60 Julian SIMON SPA Mapfre Aspar Team Moto2 Suter 137.1 +24.247
7. 9 15 Alex DE ANGELIS RSM JIR Moto2 Motobi 136.9 +27.991
8. 8 49 Kev COGHLAN GBR Aeroport de Castello FTR 136.5 +36.181
9. 7 51 Michele PIRRO ITA Gresini Racing Moto2 Moriwaki 136.5 +36.775
10. 6 76 Max NEUKIRCHNER GER MZ Racing Team MZ-RE Honda 136.3 +41.407
11. 5 13 Anthony WEST AUS MZ Racing Team MZ-RE Honda 136.3 +41.711
12. 4 14 Ratthapark WILAIROT THA Thai Honda Singha SAG FTR 136.3 +41.870
13. 3 75 Mattia PASINI ITA Ioda Racing Project FTR 136.2 +42.313
14. 2 68 Yonny HERNANDEZ COL Blusens-STX FTR 136.1 +45.384
15. 1 34 Esteve RABAT SPA Blusens-STX FTR 136.0 +47.193
16. 54 Kenan SOFUOGLU TUR Technomag-CIP Suter 136.0 +47.204
17. 36 Mika KALLIO FIN Marc VDS Racing Team Suter 136.0 +47.316
18. 21 Javier FORES SPA Mapfre Aspar Team Moto2 Suter 135.9 +50.677
19. 19 Xavier SIMEON BEL Tech 3 B Tech 3 135.5 +57.958
20. 44 Pol ESPARGARO SPA HP Tuenti Speed Up FTR 135.5 +58.554
21. 71 Claudio CORTI ITA Italtrans Racing Team Suter 135.1 +1’07.467
22. 88 Ricard CARDUS SPA QMMF Racing Team Moriwaki 135.0 +1’10.925
23. 45 Scott REDDING GBR Marc VDS Racing Team Suter 134.7 +1’16.149
24. 40 Aleix ESPARGARO SPA Pons HP 40 Pons Kalex 134.6 +1’19.512
25. 35 Raffaele DE ROSA ITA Desguaces La Torre G22 Moriwaki 134.5 +1’22.459
26. 63 Mike DI MEGLIO FRA Tech 3 Racing Tech 3 134.3 +1’26.753
27. 4 Randy KRUMMENACHER SWI GP Team Switzerland Kiefer Racing Kalex 133.8 +1’37.226
28. 77 Dominique AEGERTER SWI Technomag-CIP Suter 133.6 +1’42.838
29. 9 Kenny NOYES USA Avintia-STX FTR 133.1 +1’54.532
30. 53 Valentin DEBISE FRA Speed Up FTR 133.0 +1’57.120
31. 64 Santiago HERNANDEZ COL SAG Team FTR 131.3 1 Lap
32. 97 Steven ODENDAAL RSA MS Racing Suter 131.3 1 Lap
33. 95 Mashel AL NAIMI QAT QMMF Racing Team Moriwaki 120.8 3 Laps
Not Classified
25 Alex BALDOLINI ITA Forward Racing Suter 124.4 14 Laps
93 Marc MARQUEZ SPA Team CatalunyaCaixa Repsol Suter 137.0 16 Laps
16 Jules CLUZEL FRA Forward Racing Suter 137.0 16 Laps
72 Yuki TAKAHASHI JPN Gresini Racing Moto2 Moriwaki 137.3 17 Laps
39 Robertino PIETRI VEN Italtrans Racing Team Suter 126.2 22 Laps
99 Lukasz WARGALA POL Desguaces La Torre G22 Moriwaki 118.9 25 Laps
Not Starting
80 Axel PONS SPA Pons HP 40 Pons Kalex 0 Lap