Moto2: Bradl Leads Heading to Jerez

Moto2 Jerez Preview

Leading the way in Moto2 after Round 1 is Stefan Bradl (Viessmann Kiefer Racing), whose second Moto2 victory of his career came from his first ever pole position start at the Losail circuit. The Moto2 series heads to Jerez this weekend for the Spanish Grand Prix.

The German rider led Andrea Iannone (Speed Master) and Tom Lüthi (Interwetten Paddock Moto2) across the finish line in Qatar, with Alex de Angelis (JiR Moto2) and Yuki Takahashi (Gresini Racing) all putting forward early reminders of their ambitions to be challenging at the top this season in the ultra competitive category.

Lüthi placed on the podium at Jerez in last year’s race and will aim for consistency as the early stages of the season unfold, and alongside the top five finishers from Qatar a number of others will be forceful in their attempts to push forward and initiate a pressured atmosphere around their numerous rivals.

Simone Corsi (Ioda Racing Project) and Jules Cluzel (Forward Racing) will be amongst them, as will pre-season title favourite Julián Simón (Mapfre Aspar), who placed tenth in the season opener and whose focus will be the podium.

Likewise, Scott Redding (Marc VDS Racing) will aim to recover ground following his 31st placed finish at Losail.

Bradley Smith (Tech 3 Racing) made an impressive start to life in Moto2 with a top-ten finish and will hope to continue on the same path at Jerez, whilst Marc Marquez (Team CatalunyaCaixa Repsol) will be determined to make up for what was a frustrating debut in the category following a crash.

Joining the field for the second round will be two wild card entries, Iván Moreno (Andalucía Cajasol) and Steven Odendaal (MS Racing), as the Moto2 spectacle intensifies.

Moto2 Point Standings

Pos. Rider Bike Nation Points
1. Stefan BRADL Kalex GER 25
2. Andrea IANNONE Suter ITA 20
3. Thomas LUTHI Suter SWI 16
4. Alex DE ANGELIS Motobi RSM 13
5. Yuki TAKAHASHI Moriwaki JPN 11
6. Simone CORSI FTR ITA 10
7. Jules CLUZEL Suter FRA 9
8. Michele PIRRO Moriwaki ITA 8
9. Bradley SMITH Tech 3 GBR 7
10. Julian SIMON Suter SPA 6
11. Aleix ESPARGARO Pons Kalex SPA 5
13. Dominique AEGERTER Suter SWI 3
14. Esteve RABAT FTR SPA 2