2011 Freestyle Motocross: Linz Preview

2011 Freestyle Motocross

Later this month, the freestyle motorcycle scene will be descending en masse on the Austrian city of Linz for the European championship.

FMX stars from different continents will be staging the ultimate freestyle motocross showdown in the first two rounds of NIGHT of the JUMPs / UEM Freestyle MX European Championships at the Tips Arena.

The top contestants from the 2010 championships will be up against the superstars of tomorrow and the cream of Europe’s freestyle motorcross riders.

They will be aiming to match and surpass each other in the complexity of their tricks and backflip combinations, and to come away with a decent points haul from the Euro curtain-raiser.

Linz has never before held out such a prospect for excitement in the world of freestyle motocross. This will be the first time that there has been prequalification for the European Championships.

Lining up in Linz will be reigning world champion Libor Podmol (CZE), runner-up Brice Izzo (FRA) and bronze medal winner Jose Miralles from Spain. They will be joined by twice FIM world champion Remi Bizouard, Italy’s FMX legend Massimo Bianconcini and two-time German FMX champion Hannes Ackermann.

The remaining starting places for NIGHT of the JUMPs freestyle motocross will be hotly contested by FMX riders from all around the world. Already signed up for the privilege are rising Spanish FMX pro Maikel Melero, Lukas Weis from Munich, Branislav Niks from Slovakia, the FMX youngster duo of Kai Haase (GER) and David Wirnsberger (AUT), the Czech FMX posse of Ales Liemann, Pavel Polasek, Radek Bilek and Frantisek Maxa, as well as Austrian freestyle veteran Martin Schenk.

Thrills and spills are also guaranteed in the side events. The Highest Air Contest will see riders attempt to break the world record jump of 11.00 metres.

And for the first time ever in Linz, spectators will experience the hugely successful Race & Style Contest, which sees two riders pitted against each other for speed and skill.

NIGHT of the JUMPs is the longest-established and biggest international freestyle MX series worldwide. It is a unique blend of top international sport (FIM Freestyle MX World Championship plus UEM European Freestyle MX Championship) and breathtaking showmanship that includes elements of pyrotechnics and son et lumiere.

NIGHT of the JUMPs had its premiere in 2001 at the Arena Riesa. During the intervening eleven years, it has developed from a ‘sportainment’ tour into the sporting benchmark for everything FMX.

It is only at NIGHT of the JUMPs that world and European champions are crowned. This is where the heroes of freestyle motocross first rocket to worldwide fame and write their names in the record books of the sport. There is one thing we can be sure of – the 2011 NIGHT of the JUMPs will see new legends born. And it will be the spectators in the Linz Tips Arena who first get to see the superstars of tomorrow in close-up.

UEM Freestyle MX European Championship (Rounds 1 + 2)
Tips Arena Linz / Austria

Field of Freestyle Motocross Riders:
Libor Podmol (CZE)
Brice Izzo (FRA)
Jose Miralles (ESP)
Remi Bizouard (FRA)
Massimo Bianconcini (ITA)
Hannes Ackermann (GER)

Freestyle Motocross riders Pre-Qualifier:
Maikel Melero (ESP)
Lukas Weis (GER)
Kai Haase (GER)
Martin Schenk (AUT)
David Wirnsberger (AUT)
Ales Lieman (CZE)
Pavel Polasek (CZE)
Radek Bilek (CZE)
Frantisek Maca (CZE)
Branislav Niks (SLK)