Dunlop Congratulates 2010 WERA Champs

2010-dunlop-congratulates-2010-wera-champs (1)

WERA Racing News

Dunlop Tire Company proudly extends its congratulations to the 2010 WERA National Championship winners: National Endurance Champion Team Zyvax, WERA Superbike Expert Champion Brian Stokes and 600cc Superstock Expert Champion Benny Solis.

There was no shortage of spectacular racing action and epic displays of endurance during the 2010 season. Team Zyvax, represented by a combination of riders throughout the season including Ben Bostrom, Chris Clark, Eric Bostrom, Jason DiSalvo, Josh Herrin, Dane Westby, Clinton Seller, Tommy Aquino and Scott Russell, were unstoppable with their Dunlop-fitted Yamaha R1, pulling off a perfect sweep of the National Endurance Championship after finishing on top at all eight rounds in the series.

At the four-hour finale at Road Atlanta, Clark, Disalvo and Herrin raced the team’s R1 to victory, cementing the title. Stokes raced his Dunlop-shod Honda CBR1000RR to impressive results, achieving seven WERA Superbike Expert podiums in eight races, including two wins, five second-place finishes and a fourth-place result en route to taking the title.

Finishing on top in the points, Solis raced his Dunlop-equipped Yamaha 600 to five 600 Superstock Expert podiums, three times taking the victory and twice placing second.

JB Layman (Team Zyvax owner) says: “This is the best year yet for Team Zyvax. You could say it was a year of firsts for us for many reasons. It was our first year working directly with Graves Motorsports; our first year running the Yamaha R1; our first year running Dunlop tires; and most importantly, it was the first year we’ve won the WERA National Endurance Championship overall.”

“This season has been so successful because of the hard work and tremendous effort by everyone involved. I’m looking forward to returning to defend the title next year and for the first time running the number one plate!”

Dunlop outperformed all other tire brands in the National Endurance Championship with eight of the top ten teams in the series points on Dunlop tires. Garnering more overall wins in the series than any other brand-in almost every class the overall winner rode on Dunlop tires-Dunlop was represented by a significant percentage of teams that qualified to race.

Sabastian Mincone (Senior Manager, Motorcycle Road Race) says: “Dunlop couldn’t be prouder of Team Zyvax, Stokes and Solis performances this season. To be a part of Team Zyvax’s success-winning their first National Endurance title in their first year with Dunlop-is a great result for us.”

“Stokes and Solis were solid contenders at every race aboard their Dunlop-equipped race machines and very worthy title winners. We are committed to supporting road racing at all levels in the sport and judging by this year’s results, WERA series racers fared quite well with our support.”

Dunlop would also like to congratulate Tim Bemisderfer, Tim Hunt, Garrett Gerloff, Hayden Gillim, Opie Caylor, Jimmy Merck, Trevor Townsend, David Ur, David Pullen, Taylor Knapp and all of the 2010 WERA riders, on a very successful season.