Portugal Moto2: Estoril Results

2010-portugal-moto2-estoril-results (1)

Portuguese Moto2

Stefan Bradl’s first podium result in the Moto2 class was a hard fought victory on Sunday as the Viessmann Kiefer Racing rider won from the third row of the starting grid, in a thoroughly engrossing bwin Grande Premio de Portugal at Estoril.

Bradl, whose last World Championship race win came at Motegi in the 125cc class in 2008, powered through to take victory ahead of Alex Baldolini by a margin of just 0.068s after the duo had battled closely in the final stages of the race.

It was a contest that was ridden on a track that dried rapidly throughout the course of the race as the Moto2 field opted to set off on slick tyres, having ridden predominantly on wets in the practice sessions.

For Caretta Technology Race Dept rider Baldolini second place signified the first World Championship podium of his career in his 143rd Grand Prix start, after he had led the race for a period.

The Italian had also started from the third row alongside Bradl after the Moto2 grid had been decided on the combined practice session times following the cancellation of qualifying due to Saturday’s poor weather.

At just over 2.7s further back another fantastic battle played out behind the duo and it was Alex de Angelis who took third place. For the JiR Moto2 rider it was his third successive top-three result and came after a hard fight with a host of others for the coveted final podium step.

The closeness of that fight was represented by the fact that Scott Redding (Marc VDS Racing) finished just 0.012s behind De Angelis, having rocketed up from 24th on the starting grid.

Special mention must also go to Turkish Moto2 rider Kenan Sofuoglu (Technomag-CIP) who on his GP debut led the race by a margin of over six seconds at one stage, before being reeled back in by Bradl and eventually finishing fifth as he rode on his Suter in dry conditions for the very first time.

Completing the top ten in Moto2 at Estoril were Raffaele De Rosa (Tech 3 Racing), Anthony West (MZ Racing) – both with a season’s best results – pole man Gabor Talmacsi (Fimmco Speed Up), Dominique Aegerter (Technomag-CIP) and Karel Abraham (Cardion AB Motoracing).

The battle for second spot in the Championship will go down to the final race in Valencia after Julián Simón (Mapfre Aspar) finished 12th and Andrea Iannone (Fimmco Speed Up) 21st to leave the Spaniard with a six-point advantage over his Italian rival, who crashed when in fourth position having risen from 34th on the grid.

Carmelo Morales (Racing Team Germany) crashed when riding in fifth and eventually placed 20th, whilst already-crowned Moto2 World Champion Toni Elías (Gresini Racing) failed to finish a race for the first time this season after crashing with 11 laps to go when running in eighth position. Yonny Hernández (Blusens-STX) placed 18th having been involved at the front early on when a crash set him back.

2010 Estoril Moto2: Portugal Results:

1.2565Stefan BRADLGERViessmann Kiefer RacingSuter138.846’59.723
2.2025Alex BALDOLINIITACaretta Technology Race DeptI.C.P.138.8+0.068
3.1615Alex DE ANGELISRSMJIR Moto2Motobi138.7+2.830
4.1345Scott REDDINGGBRMarc VDS Racing TeamSuter138.7+2.842
5.1154Kenan SOFUOGLUTURTechnomag-CIPSuter138.7+2.947
6.1035Raffaele DE ROSAITATech 3 RacingTech 3138.7+3.311
7.98Anthony WESTAUSMZ Racing TeamMZ-RE Honda138.7+3.385
8.82Gabor TALMACSIHUNFimmco Speed UpSpeed Up138.6+3.952
9.777Dominique AEGERTERSWITechnomag-CIPSuter138.6+4.284
10.617Karel ABRAHAMCZECardion AB MotoracingFTR138.6+4.311
11.555Hector FAUBELSPAMarc VDS Racing TeamSuter138.6+4.492
12.460Julian SIMONSPAMapfre Aspar TeamSuter138.2+13.006
13.380Axel PONSSPATenerife 40 PonsPons Kalex137.5+26.529
14.23Simone CORSIITAJIR Moto2Motobi137.5+27.760
15.139Robertino PIETRIVENItaltrans S.T.R.Suter137.4+28.259
16.12Thomas LUTHISWIInterwetten Moriwaki Moto2Moriwaki137.4+28.311
17.16Jules CLUZELFRAForward RacingSuter137.4+28.333
18.68Yonny HERNANDEZCOLBlusens-STXBQR-Moto2137.0+37.873
19.71Claudio CORTIITAForward RacingSuter137.0+38.092
20.31Carmelo MORALESSPARacing Team GermanySuter137.0+38.227
21.29Andrea IANNONEITAFimmco Speed UpSpeed Up136.5+46.976
22.40Sergio GADEASPATenerife 40 PonsPons Kalex135.8+1’01.779
23.19Xavier SIMEONBELHoliday Gym G22Moriwaki134.7+1’25.872
24.10Fonsi NIETOSPAHoliday Gym G22Moriwaki134.7+1’26.029
25.61Vladimir IVANOVUKRGresini Racing Moto2Moriwaki133.5+1’51.690
26.72Yuki TAKAHASHIJPNTech 3 RacingTech 3132.71 Lap
27.70Ferruccio LAMBORGHINIITAMatteoni RacingMoriwaki132.61 Lap
28.88Yannick GUERRASPAHoliday Gym G22Moriwaki130.01 Lap
29.95Mashel AL NAIMIQATBlusens-STXBQR-Moto2130.01 Lap
Not Classified
4Ricard CARDUSSPAMaquinza-SAG TeamBimota136.23 Laps
44Roberto ROLFOITAItaltrans S.T.R.Suter134.64 Laps
7Dani RIVASSPABlusens-STXBQR-Moto2135.87 Laps
24Toni ELIASSPAGresini Racing Moto2Moriwaki127.09 Laps
14Ratthapark WILAIROTTHAThai Honda PTT Singha SAGBimota130.512 Laps
53Valentin DEBISEFRAWTR San Marino TeamADV132.513 Laps
9Kenny NOYESUSAJack & Jones by A.BanderasPromoharris128.513 Laps
56Michael RANSEDERAUTVector Kiefer RacingSuter119.821 Laps