125 MotoGP: Derbi Clinches Title

MotoGP 125

Thanks to the victory earned by the young Spanish rider, Marc Marquez, in the Australia GP, Derbi has mathematically conquered the motorcycle manufacturer title in the 125 class for the 2010 MotoGP season.

For the Catalan-based motorcycle manufacturer, founded in Martorelles in 1922 and now part of the Piaggio Group, the title earned Sunday on the Phillip Island track is the 20th world title summing the nine manufacturer titles with the eleven wreaths earned by Derbi riders.

Great champions have raced and won with the Derbi. To name a few, Jorge Martinez ‘Aspar’ (32 victories on the Derbi), Angel Nieto (30 victories), Japanese rider Youichi Ui (11), 2010 MotoGP Champion Jorge Lorenzo (4) and Frenchman Mike di Meglio (4).

The nine motorcycle manufacturer titles have been earned by Derbi in the MotoGP 125 class (4 times), 250 class (twice) and 50 cc (3 times).

This year Derbi had already celebrated an historic mile marker: one hundred motorcycle victories in Moto GP, thanks once again to Marquez, who won in August in the German GP round. With today’s win, Derbi chalks up 105 GP victories.

With Sunday’s Phillip Island victory, Marc Marquez also strengthens his position as leader in the 125 MotoGP championship Rider standings.