AMA Supersport Season Finale Format

Supersport Racing

On Wednesday, AMA Pro Racing officials released the format for the AMA Pro SuperSport Young Guns and Top Guns Shootout races at the season finale at Barber Motorsports Park Sept. 24-26, 2010

The season-ending doubleheader SuperSport races, held in conjunction with AMA Superbike and AMA Daytona Sportbike finals, will determine the AMA Pro SuperSport Young Guns and Top Guns National Champions using Moto-style cumulative scoring.

The Young Guns class features 16- to 21-year-old riders on motorcycles with limited modifications to highlight the rider’s skills as they build experience for the future.

Top Guns is a separate class within a class for riders with an Expert License from a recognized road racing organization that wish to compete under the halo of a full AMA Pro Road racing event.

Any AMA Pro SuperSport Young Gun and Top Gun rider who participated in one of the seventeen individual rounds of the 2010 AMA Pro SuperSport series is eligible to compete in the Shootout races at Barber Motorsports Park.

The races will be scored Moto-style as the combined results of both weekend races will count towards determining the overall National Champion in each category within the SuperSport class.

This year’s Young Gun Divisional Championship saw terrific action as first Joey Pascarella captured the West Divisional Young Guns title and then J.D. Beach put his mark on the East Division Championship with seven wins.

Six different riders took wins in the Young Guns category this year, including Elena Myers who made history with her win at Infineon.

The Top Gun riders featured in many of the races during the year, most notably Tyler O’Hara, who took a couple of third places at Infineon and also featured at Laguna Seca.

David Gaviria and Michael Corbino have competed in the East Division Top Guns category with Gaviria taking a fifth place finish at Road America and also a sixth at Road Atlanta.

Corbino finished in the top ten on a number of occasions as well. Another Top Gun rider was Sam Nash, older brother of two time Young Guns winner Huntley Nash. Sam took an eighth place finish at Daytona.

Upon the completion of the two Shootout races, each Divisional Champion will be honored with a Number 1 Plate and trophy and the overall Young Guns and Top Guns National Champions will also be honored with a Number 1 Plate and trophy at the AMA Pro Awards Banquet at the Barber Vintage Motorsports Museum, Monday evening, Sept. 27, 2010.