Moto2: Misano Qualifying Notes


Moto2 Misano

Toni Elías secured his second pole position of the 2010 season – his first since the opening round in Qatar – on Saturday, as he primed himself for an attempt at a sixth win of the season this weekend at Misano.

The Spaniard’s best time of 1’38.991 was enough to beat young Brit Scott Redding to pole by 0.044s in the Gresini Moto2 team’s home motorcycle racing GP.

Redding took his second successive front row position for the Marc VDS Racing Team having finished on the podium from third in Indianapolis, with Julián Simón (Mapfre Aspar) third at just over two-tenths behind.

Jules Cluzel of the Forward Racing team will complete the front file of the grid for tomorrow’s race.

Andrea Iannone’s session was cut short by a mechanical problem but the Fimmco Speed Up rider still managed to hold onto fifth position at 0.435s off Elías’ time, and he will head up a second row that also includes JiR Moto2 duo Simone Corsi and home rider Alex de Angelis along with Shoya Tomizawa (Technomag-CIP).

Mattia Pasini qualified in ninth as he continued his impressive weekend as a wild card for the Italtrans STR team, with Gabor Talmacsi (Fimmco Speed Up) completing the top ten.

There were crashes in the session for Dominique Aegerter (Technomag-CIP) who qualified in 12th, Michael Ranseder (Vector Kiefer Racing) in 22nd and Raffaele de Rosa (Tech 3 Racing) in 28th – all three avoided any lasting injuries as a result of their falls.

Pos.Num.RiderNationTeamBikeKm/hTimeGap 1st/Prev.
124Toni ELIASSPAGresini Racing Moto2Moriwaki236.61’38.991
245Scott REDDINGGBRMarc VDS Racing TeamSuter232.41’39.0350.044 / 0.044
360Julian SIMONSPAMapfre Aspar TeamSuter232.91’39.2800.289 / 0.245
416Jules CLUZELFRAForward RacingSuter237.01’39.4130.422 / 0.133
529Andrea IANNONEITAFimmco Speed UpSpeed Up232.91’39.4260.435 / 0.013
63Simone CORSIITAJIR Moto2Motobi234.81’39.6640.673 / 0.238
715Alex DE ANGELISRSMJIR Moto2Motobi233.51’39.6860.695 / 0.022
848Shoya TOMIZAWAJPNTechnomag-CIPSuter232.31’39.7780.787 / 0.092
975Mattia PASINIITAItaltrans S.T.R.Suter233.61’39.8560.865 / 0.078
102Gabor TALMACSIHUNFimmco Speed UpSpeed Up233.31’39.8570.866 / 0.001
1155Hector FAUBELSPAMarc VDS Racing TeamSuter235.11’40.0451.054 / 0.188
1277Dominique AEGERTERSWITechnomag-CIPSuter231.01’40.0471.056 / 0.002
1372Yuki TAKAHASHIJPNTech 3 RacingTech 3233.71’40.0751.084 / 0.028
1471Claudio CORTIITAForward RacingSuter230.71’40.1011.110 / 0.026
1512Thomas LUTHISWIInterwetten Moriwaki Moto2Moriwaki232.61’40.1011.110
1619Xavier SIMEONBELHoliday Gym G22Moriwaki230.31’40.1531.162 / 0.052
1765Stefan BRADLGERViessmann Kiefer RacingSuter230.51’40.1641.173 / 0.011
1840Sergio GADEASPATenerife 40 PonsPons Kalex235.91’40.1841.193 / 0.020
1963Mike DI MEGLIOFRAMapfre Aspar TeamSuter235.91’40.2011.210 / 0.017
2070Ferruccio LAMBORGHINIITAForward RacingSuter229.41’40.2901.299 / 0.089
2125Alex BALDOLINIITACaretta Technology Race DeptI.C.P.232.91’40.5231.532 / 0.233
2256Michael RANSEDERAUTVector Kiefer RacingSuter231.81’40.5311.540 / 0.008
2368Yonny HERNANDEZCOLBlusens-STXBQR-Moto2227.81’40.5791.588 / 0.048
2444Roberto ROLFOITAItaltrans S.T.R.Suter230.81’40.6771.686 / 0.098
2517Karel ABRAHAMCZECardion AB MotoracingFTR229.01’40.7321.741 / 0.055
2680Axel PONSSPATenerife 40 PonsPons Kalex234.71’40.7511.760 / 0.019
2739Robertino PIETRIVENItaltrans S.T.R.Suter232.21’40.8801.889 / 0.129
2835Raffaele DE ROSAITATech 3 RacingTech 3229.81’40.9301.939 / 0.050
2999Tatsuya YAMAGUCHIJPNGresini Racing Moto2Moriwaki230.31’41.0742.083 / 0.144
3052Lukas PESEKCZEMatteoni CP RacingMoriwaki231.81’41.1472.156 / 0.073
3153Valentin DEBISEFRAWTR San Marino TeamADV230.51’41.1782.187 / 0.031
3214Ratthapark WILAIROTTHAThai Honda PTT Singha SAGBimota233.01’41.2692.278 / 0.091
3359Niccolo CANEPAITAM RacingBimota226.01’41.5222.531 / 0.253
348Anthony WESTAUSMZ Racing TeamMZ-RE Honda227.71’41.5262.535 / 0.004
359Kenny NOYESUSAJack & Jones by A.BanderasPromoharris228.21’41.7942.803 / 0.268
365Joan OLIVESPAJack & Jones by A.BanderasFTR232.71’41.8532.862 / 0.059
374Ricard CARDUSSPAMaquinza-SAG TeamBimota230.31’42.0613.070 / 0.208
3895Mashel AL NAIMIQATBlusens-STXBQR-Moto2230.31’42.6573.666 / 0.596
3988Yannick GUERRASPAHoliday Gym G22Moriwaki228.71’42.8273.836 / 0.1

Previous articleMotoGP: Misano Qualifying Quotes
Next articleMotoGP: Misano 125 GP Qualifying
One of the few moto journalists based on the East Coast, Ron Lieback joined the motorcycle industry as a freelancer in 2007 and is currently Editor at Large at Ultimate Motorcycling. He is also the author of 365 to Vision: Modern Writer's Guide (How to Produce More Quality Writing in Less Time).