MotoGP: Misano 125 GP Qualifying


Misano 125cc GP

Bradley Smith will start the 125cc race from pole position on Sunday, after setting a hot lap of 1’43.329 on his final lap of the session. That delivered the Bancaja Aspar rider his second pole of the 2010 season, as he continues his quest for a first win of the campaign.

Smith beat Championship leader Marc Márquez (Red Bull Ajo Motorsport) – who had led until the dying moments of the session – to top spot on the timesheet by 0.158s, with the Brit’s teammate Nico Terol, who was second in last year’s race, third. Pol Espargaró (Tuenti Racing) will complete a strong front row as he was the final rider to get within half a second of Smith’s time.

Row two of the 125cc grid will be comprised of Tomoyoshi Koyama (Racing Team Germany), Sandro Cortese (Avant Mitsubishi Ajo), Efrén Vázquez (Tuenti Racing) and Esteve Rabat (Blusens-STX), whilst Danny Webb (Andalucia Cajasol) and Johann Zarco (WTR San Marino Team) completed the top ten.

There were crashes during the session for Marcel Schrötter (Interwetten Honda 125), Randy Krummenacher (Stipa-Molenaar Racing) and wild card Alessandro Tonucci (Junior GP).

Pos.Num.RiderNationTeamBikeKm/hTimeGap 1st/Prev.
138Bradley SMITHGBRBancaja Aspar TeamAprilia198.41’43.329
293Marc MARQUEZSPARed Bull Ajo MotorsportDerbi201.21’43.4870.158 / 0.158
340Nicolas TEROLSPABancaja Aspar TeamAprilia198.61’43.6440.315 / 0.157
444Pol ESPARGAROSPATuenti RacingDerbi196.61’43.8090.480 / 0.165
571Tomoyoshi KOYAMAJPNRacing Team GermanyAprilia197.41’44.2720.943 / 0.463
611Sandro CORTESEGERAvant Mitsubishi AjoDerbi196.81’44.3411.012 / 0.069
77Efren VAZQUEZSPATuenti RacingDerbi200.71’44.4791.150 / 0.138
812Esteve RABATSPABlusens-STXAprilia199.11’44.5611.232 / 0.082
999Danny WEBBGBRAndalucia CajasolAprilia194.71’44.8161.487 / 0.255
1014Johann ZARCOFRAWTR San Marino TeamAprilia193.51’44.9291.600 / 0.113
1194Jonas FOLGERGEROngetta TeamAprilia196.01’44.9751.646 / 0.046
1239Luis SALOMSPAStipa-Molenaar Racing GPAprilia197.91’45.0201.691 / 0.045
1335Randy KRUMMENACHERSWIStipa-Molenaar Racing GPAprilia197.61’45.1031.774 / 0.083
1423Alberto MONCAYOSPAAndalucia CajasolAprilia197.41’45.1661.837 / 0.063
1515Simone GROTZKYJITAFontana RacingAprilia195.31’45.2171.888 / 0.051
1626Adrian MARTINSPAAeroport de Castello – AjoAprilia198.91’45.6612.332 / 0.444
1753Jasper IWEMANEDCBC CorseAprilia197.51’46.0482.719 / 0.387
1878Marcel SCHROTTERGERInterwetten Honda 125Honda195.11’46.3092.980 / 0.261
1984Jakub KORNFEILCZERacing Team GermanyAprilia191.31’46.3663.037 / 0.057
2063Zulfahmi KHAIRUDDINMALAirAsia – Sepang Int. CircuitAprilia194.11’46.3683.039 / 0.002
2169Louis ROSSIFRACBC CorseAprilia192.11’46.5573.228 / 0.189
2297Armando PONTONEITAJunior GP FMIAprilia190.91’46.9163.587 / 0.359
2332Lorenzo SAVADORIITAMatteoni CP RacingAprilia187.31’46.9323.603 / 0.016
2487Luca MARCONIITAOngetta TeamAprilia192.31’46.9403.611 / 0.008
2595Alessandro TONUCCIITAJunior GP Racing Team FMIAprilia191.21’47.2353.906 / 0.295
2676Francesco MAURIELLOITATeam SemprucciAprilia194.31’47.4554.126 / 0.220
2796Tommaso GABRIELLIITARacing Team GabrielliAprilia193.01’47.7324.403 / 0.277
2836Joan PERELLOSPALambretta Reparto CorseLambretta192.41’47.8094.480 / 0.077
2972Marco RAVAIOLIITALambretta Reparto CorseLambretta193.31’47.9734.644 / 0.164
305Alexis MASBOUFRAOngetta TeamAprilia192.11’48.1114.782 / 0.138
3150Sturla FAGERHAUGNORAirAsia – Sepang Int. CircuitAprilia190.61’48.3244.995 / 0.213
3279Giovanni BONATIITAJunior GP FMIAprilia190.01’48.3465.017 / 0.022

Previous articleMoto2: Misano Qualifying Notes
Next articleMisano MotoGP: American TV Schedule
One of the few moto journalists based on the East Coast, Ron Lieback joined the motorcycle industry as a freelancer in 2007 and is currently Editor at Large at Ultimate Motorcycling. He is also the author of 365 to Vision: Modern Writer's Guide (How to Produce More Quality Writing in Less Time).