News Manx GP: Dunlop Sets Unofficial Record

Manx GP: Dunlop Sets Unofficial Record


Isle of Man

Conditions around the course for the 5th practice of the 2010 Manx Grand Prix, sponsored by, were described as ‘perfect and dry throughout with light winds’ by Clerk of the Course Phil Taubman, although he warned riders of sunlight dazzle between Union Mills and Ballacraine and also at the exit of the Gooseneck.

And Michael Dunlop took advantage of the conditions to post another unofficial lap record for the Post Classic class with 117.927mph, exceeding the mark he established the previous night and well inside Ryan Farquhar’s time from last year’s event.

The Senior, Junior, Lightweight and Newcomers A Groups had first use of the mountain course and the yellow plated Junior riders Dave Moffitt and Mike Sweeney were first away at 6.23pm, shortly after the scheduled start.

Wayne Kirwan was first to Glen Helen with fastest man in practice to date Simon Fulton close behind and Ivan Lintin the fastest Senior to the first checkpoint. Michael Sweeney was first back to the Grandstand with a lap of 117.230, a time that was quickly exceeded by Wayne Kirwan who clocked the fastest time of the week to date with 117.999 and Ivan Lintin with 117.570 on his Senior machine, a Suzuki GSXR 750cc.

Sweeney then bettered the week’s fastest time with a lap of 119.051 on his second lap, his fastest ever lap around the mountain course. Andy Fenton also clocked his fastest time of the week in the Newcomers A with 114.090.

Dan Sayle posted a lap of 118.254 on his Junior machine, his fastest around the mountain course, and just managed to get out in time on his 2004 Honda RS 250 Lightweight machine before the session was flagged at 7.00pm, eventually clocking 114.776, again the fastest time of the Lightweight session and only .32 seconds outside Richard Quayle’s 19 minute 43.10 sec MPG lap record from 1999, confirming his position as favourite for next Friday’s race.

Olie Linsdell started the second session for Senior Classic, Post Classic, Ultra Lightweight and Newcomers B with the distinctive roar of the Paton with Meredyyd Owen on a Seeley alongside him and Linsdell was first to Glen Helen ahead of Alan Oversby on an MV and Mark Parrett riding a 62 Matchless.

Linsdell eventually recorded 110.938mph in the Senior Classic (500cc) session with Oversby almost a minute behind at 106.539mph and Watty Brown third on the night on a 1970 Manx Petty with 102.218mph. Linsdell came in and made adjustments to the Paton before heading out again and clocking 111.830 on his second lap but it was Michael Dunlop riding the Suzuki XR69 in the Post Classic class who set the session alight with an unofficial lap record of 116.54 on the opening practice lap which he surpassed on his second lap.

In the Senior Classic 750cc experienced campaigner David Madsen-Mygdal, who first competed on the Isle of Man in the 1982 Manx Grand Prix, topped the practice leader board on his Triumph RO6 North with 95.849.

In the Junior Post Classic Barry Davidson on a Yamaha TZB 3YL 249cc machine recorded an opening lap of 105.685, a time later bettered by Chris Palmer (110.384) on the 1991 Yamaha TZV 250 twin and Ewan Hamilton (106.375) on a ’90 Yamaha TZA 249cc, both inside the lap record, while Roy Richardson on a 1969 Aermacchi clocked 102.014 to head the Junior Classic class on the night from Chris Palmer (97.480) on the 62 AJS.

A host of laps inside Keith Taylor’s 2003 lap record were posted in the Ultra Lightweight Class with Dave Moffitt posting an unofficial fastest of 112.052. Phil McGurk and Joe Phillips also bettered the 2003 benchmark. Lee Darbyshire again topped the Newcomers B practice leader board with 104.965.

Ron Lieback
Ron Lieback
One of the few moto journalists based on the East Coast, Ron Lieback joined the motorcycle industry as a freelancer in 2007, and is currently Online Editor at Ultimate Motorcycling. He is also the author of "365 to Vision: Modern Writer's Guide (How to Produce More Quality Writing in Less Time).

2021 MotoE World Cup Championship Series Schedule First Look

The 2021 FIM Enel MotoE World Cup Calendar is set—well, at least as set as anything can be in the era of COVID-19 government...

Klim Adventure GTX Boots Review: Target Audience Perfection

Although mic drop is a cliché these days, some situations and products deserve that accolade. The all-new Klim Adventure GTX boots check every boot...

Harley-Davidson Gift of Riding H-D Riding Academy Contest

There is no better gift in the world than turning a non-rider into a motorcyclist. Of course, it takes more than best wishes to...

2021 Suzuki 650 V-Twins: New Colors Sneak Peek First Look

It’s always interesting to check into Europe’s latest to see what might appear on dealer showroom floors in the United States. We look at...

2021 Honda Rebel 500 ABS SE First Look (5 Fast Facts)

After an upgrade last year, Honda has more plans for the now-midsize Rebel. There is now a 2021 Honda Rebel 500 ABS—an accessorized version...

Sena SRL2 Review: Bluetooth Communications for Select Shoei Helmets

The Shoei Neotec II is a sweet upgrade from the original Neotec, and it incorporates many improvements. Nic de Sena reviewed the Shoei Neotec...