Suzuka 8 Hours: Team Yoshimura on Pole

Suzuka 8 Hours

Team Yoshimura Suzuki with ENEOS has taken Pole for tomorrow’s Coca-Cola Zero Suzuka 8 Hour World Endurance third round in Japan.

Team rider Daisaku Sakai set the fastest lap aboard the factory’s GSX-R1000 in the closing stages of the third session with a time of 2’07.905 to finish ahead of leader of the opening two sessions; FCC TSR Honda’s Kosuke Akiyoshi (2’07.963).

Different rules for Superpole apply at Suzuka and the top time is taken from the fastest rider rather than an average of the other team riders – Yukio Kagayama and Nobuatsu Aoki.

In what is building up to be an intense battle between the major Japanese manufacturers, Keihin Kohara Racing Team (Honda) collected third place on the grid with a time of 2’08.268 with MuSASHI RT HARC-PRO Honda fourth on 2’08.548.

Top of the permanent World Endurance teams was Yamaha Austria: Gwen Giabbani took the eighth position in the final session although he crashed as he was entering in his best lap. Yamaha France GMT 94 Ipone will start from the 14th place after suffering from overheating problems.

Suzuka 8 Hour Superpole Result:

1. Yoshimura Suzuki with ENEOS (Suzuki – D Sakai/N Aoki/ Y Kagayama) – 2’07.905.
2. FCC TSR Honda (Honda – K Akiyoshi/ J Rea/T Takahashi) – 2’07.963.
3. Keihin Kohara Racing Team (Honda – S Ito/ M Tamada) – 2’08.268.
4. MuSASHI RT HARC-PRO (Honda – R Kiyonari/ T Nakagami/ T Takahashi) – 2’08.548.
5. PLOT FARO PANTHERA (Suzuki – O Deguchi/ T Yasuda/ Y Kodama) – 2’09.873.
6. Honda DREAM RT SAKURAI HONDA (Honda – W Maxwell/ C Kameya) – 2’10.888.
7. Teluru HoneyBee Racing (Honda – H Noda/ T Sekiguchi) – 2’12.155.
8. Yamaha Austria Racing Team (Yamaha – I Jerman/ S Martin/ G Giabbani) – 2’38.773.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.