Motorcycle Racing News MotoGP: Rossi Start Record Broken

MotoGP: Rossi Start Record Broken

Moto GP News

Following his crash at Mugello, Valentino Rossi missed out on starting a Grand Prix for the first time in his career. This brings to an end a record sequence of 230 successive Grand Prix starts.

As shown in the following table, the only other rider who has had an unbroken sequence of more than 200 Grand Prix starts is Rossi’s great rival Max Biaggi, who competed in 201 successive GP events starting with the 250cc race at Donington in 1992 and ending with his last GP race at Valencia at the end of 2005.

Third rider on this list is MotoGP rider Randy de Puniet, who has the longest currently ongoing sequence of successive GP events. De Puniet is on target to reach the milestone of 200 races without missing by the end of this season, if he competes in each of the MotoGP races in 2010.

The sequence of successive race starts by Rossi included 170 in the premier-class, which is also a record as shown in the second table.

Following Rossi’s accident at Mugello the current rider with the longest still ongoing sequence of successive starts in the premier class is Colin Edwards, who has not missed a race since making his Grand Prix debut at the first race of 2003.

Riders with longest sequence of starts at successive GP events

1.Valentino Rossi 230 (125cc, 250cc, 500cc, MotoGP)

2.Max Biaggi 201 (250cc, 500cc, MotoGP)

3.Randy de Puniet 186 (125cc, 250cc, MotoGP)

4.Alex de Angelis 165 (125cc, 250cc, MotoGP)

5.Alex Barros 158 (500cc/MotoGP)

Riders with longest sequence of successive starts in the premier-class

1.Valentino Rossi 170 South Africa/2000/Welkom France/2010Le Mans

2.Alex Barros 158 Brazil/1992/ Interlagos Dutch TT/2003/Assen

3.Max Biaggi 127 Japan/1998/Suzuka Valencia/2005/Ricardo Tormo

4.Shinya Nakano 124 Portugal/2001/Estoril Valencia/2008/Ricardo Tormo

5.Colin Edwards 123 Japan/2003/Suzuka Italy/2010Mugello

Ron Lieback
Ron Lieback
One of the few moto journalists based on the East Coast, Ron Lieback joined the motorcycle industry as a freelancer in 2007, and is currently Online Editor at Ultimate Motorcycling. He is also the author of "365 to Vision: Modern Writer's Guide (How to Produce More Quality Writing in Less Time).

2021 Harley-Davidson CVO Limited First Look: Updates, Specs, Photos

The 2021 Harley-Davidson CVO Limited arrives with two new paint choices, plus a couple of updates in the dash area. There’s a new LED...

MP Magic 37.5 Tech Merino Wool Socks Review (All-Season Footwear)

I’m very picky when it comes to motorcycle socks. For dirt bikes, it’s easy. I always wear Fly Racing Knee Brace socks, as they...

2021 Triumph Tiger 850 Sport Review (13 Fast Facts)

Marketing is a funny thing. Usually, manufacturers exaggerate the displacement in model names—even if only by a little bit. However, in the case of...

2021 Harley-Davidson Street Glide Special First Look (5 Fast Facts)

The 2021 Harley-Davidson Street Glide Special changes this year focus on new colors and finishes. However, there are some other updates worth discussing. The...

2021 DOT Certified Helmet Performance Testing Update

We provide some deep insight into the latest 2021 DOT Certified Motorcycle Helmet performance testing, from failure rate to suggestions for regulators.

2021 Benelli TRK502 Review (15 Fast Facts for Sport-Touring)

Last month we tested the 2021 Benelli TRK502X adventure motorcycle and came away impressed. At first glance, the standard TRK502 doesn’t seem that much...