Motorcycle Types Adventure / Dual-Sport 2010 Monster Energy Supercross Awards

2010 Monster Energy Supercross Awards

2010 SX Awards

The 2010 Monster Energy Supercross, an FIM World Championship, season concluded this past weekend, following the year-end awards ceremony held at The Joint by Rogue inside the Hard Rock Hotel & Casino, Las Vegas.

A total of 24 awards were presented to recognize the championship’s top riders and industry personnel who enjoyed a remarkable 2010 Monster Energy Supercross season.

Rockstar Makita Suzuki’s Ryan Dungey was crowned the AMA Supercross class champion following a prominent rookie season.

Dungey closed the championship with a 70 point lead over GEICO Powersports Honda’s Kevin Windham, following a season ending win at Las Vegas’ Sam Boyd Stadium.

Ryan Dungey says: "It’s been an amazing year," stated Dungey. "This has been something I never thought I would do, it’s an unreal feeling. It’s something you have worked so hard for since a kid. I never thought I would be at this point in my career; everything worked out for the best. Roger (DeCoster) gave me an opportunity of a lifetime and everyday I’ll remember that."

Dave Prater
says: "Overall this was a great season," said Dave Prater, director of supercross. "We were faced with a bit of a challenge due to the unfortunate weather, but everything worked out in the long haul. I’d like to congratulate all of the riders, sponsors and teams for making the 2010 Monster Energy Supercross season a huge success."

2010 Supercross Awards Recipients

> Road 2 Recovery Main Jet Award – Mark Hall

> FIM Recognition Award – Wolfgang Srb

> Transport Driver of the Year Award – Tim Dixon

> AMA Recognition Award – Rob Dingman

> Motorcycle Mechanics Institute (MMI) Top Tech Award – Commemorates the top 17 mechanics throughout the 2010 AMA Supercross season.

> Rising Star Award – Trey Canard

> Team Manager of the Year Award – Larry Brooks

> Humanitarian of the Year Award – Shasta Johnson

> SPIKE Super Spills Award – Justin Barcia

> Team of the Year Award – Pro Circuit Kawasaki

> SPIKE Holeshot Award – Commemorates all riders who captured a holeshot throughout 2010 AMA Supercross season.

> Champions Mechanic Award – Mike Gosselaar

> Dave Coombs Sr. SX Lites E/ W Shootout Award – Jake Weimer

> Manufacturer of the Year Award – Suzuki

> 3rd Place Top Privateer Award – Kyle Chisholm

> 2nd Place Top Privateer Award – Ivan Tedesco

> 1st Place Top Privateer / CE Altman Award – Tommy Hahn

> AMA Supercross Lites West Champion – Jake Weimer

> AMA Supercross Lites East Champion – Christophe Pourcel

> Lifetime Achievement Award – Steve Hudson

> AMA Supercross Class Top Riders of the Season – Positions 20-4

> AMA Supercross Class Third Place – Davi Millsaps

> AMA Supercross Class Second Place – Kevin Windham

> AMA Supercross Class Champion – Ryan Dungey

Ron Lieback
Ron Lieback
One of the few moto journalists based on the East Coast, Ron Lieback joined the motorcycle industry as a freelancer in 2007, and is currently Online Editor at Ultimate Motorcycling. He is also the author of "365 to Vision: Modern Writer's Guide (How to Produce More Quality Writing in Less Time).

2021 GasGas Trial Lineup First Look (8 Fast Facts: 3 TXT Racing Models)

The first GasGas motorcycles of the Pierer Mobility AG and Bajaj Auto era have arrived. Those who were expecting wholesale redesigns of the line...

Lieback’s Lounge: This Will All Pass [Thoughts on Simic and Motorcycles]

There is a menace in the air Of tragedies in the making. These lines are from "Late September," written by the American minimalist poet Charles Simic....

Racing Classic Motorcycles: First You Have to Finish by Andy Reynolds [Review]

Author Andy Reynolds’ new book, Racing Classic Motorcycles: First You Have to Finish, is about a man livin’ the classic motorcycle racing dream—with some...

2021 BMW R 18 Test: City and Country Life with the Big Boxer

Let's say we hop into Mr. Peabody's WABAC Machine and set the date for October 1936 and Berlin as a location. With us, we...

Harley-Davidson Tremont Shoes Review: Urban Motorcycle Footwear

In the on-going debate over how much protection is enough, the correct answer for each of us comes from within. Some riders would never...

2021 Langen Two Stroke First Look: Street-Legal V-Twin!

If you thought we’d never see another street-legal two-stroke sportbike, you’re not alone. There hasn’t been a full-size two-stroke motorcycle for the street in...