2024 Salt Lake City Supercross Results: Jett Lawrence Takes Title

2024 Monster Energy AMA Supercross Champion Jett Lawrence.

Riding a cautious race at Rice-Eccles Stadium in Salt Lake City, Jett Lawrence’s P7 finish was enough to win the 2024 Monster Energy AMA Supercross Championship. Cooper Webb, the only rider not eliminated from the title chase going into the final round, finished in P3; Webb needed a P2 or better to have any chance of wresting the title from Lawrence. Jett Lawrence is the third rookie to win a 450SX championship, joining Jeremy McGrath and Ryan Dungey.

2024 Salt Lake City Supercross Results, Standings, Video and Coverage: Jett Lawrence
Jett Lawrence.

Defending Supercross Champion Chase Sexton won the lightning-delayed Salt Lake City Main Event, and finishes the season in P3 in the standings, 19 points behind Webb and 44 shy of Lawrence. Justin Cooper took his first 450SX podium with a P2 result.

2024 Salt Lake City Supercross Results, Standings, Video and Coverage: Chase Sexton
Chase Sexton.

It was an anticlimactic ending to the series, as Chase Sexton grabbed the holeshot and was never challenged. Likewise, Cooper settled into P2 and was there every lap. When Hunter Lawrence and Jason Anderson came together on lap 2, Webb capitalized by moving into P3, which he held the entire race. Jett Lawrence started in P7 and moved up to P4 by lap 3 before coasting to the championship-clinching P7 finish.

2024 Salt Lake City Supercross Results, Standings, Video and Coverage: Justin Cooper
Justin Cooper.

Anderson and Eli Tomac tied on series points, with Tomac winning the best-finish tie-breaker thanks to a win at St. Louis. Cooper’s P2 moved him ahead of injured Ken Roczen for P6 in the standings, and Barcia’s P5 finish moved him clear of Hunter Lawrence in the battle for P8. Malcolm Stewart passed the injured Aaron Plessinger to take the last top-10 spot in the final standings. Forty-five riders scored points in the 450SX class in 2024.

RJ Hampshire won the 250SX West championship, and Tom Vialle took the 250SX East title.

Exclusive photography by Will Embree / SMX Pictures

2024 Salt Lake City Supercross Results

  1. Chase Sexton, KTM
  2. Justin Cooper, Yamaha
  3. Cooper Webb, Yamaha
  4. Jason Anderson, Kawasaki
  5. Justin Barcia, GasGas
  6. Malcolm Stewart, Husqvarna
  7. Jett Lawrence, Honda
  8. Dylan Ferrandis, Honda
  9. Mitchell Oldenburg, Honda
  10. Dean Wilson, Honda
  11. Colt Nichols, Beta
  12. Vince Friese, Honda
  13. Justin Hill, KTM
  14. Shane McElrath, Suzuki
  15. Hunter Lawrence, Honda
  16. Kyle Chisholm, Suzuki
  17. Jeremy Hand, Honda
  18. Grant Harlan, Yamaha
  19. Freddie Norén, Kawasaki
  20. Adam Cianciarulo, Kawasaki
  21. Devin Simonson, Yamaha
  22. Kevin Moranz, KTM

2024 Monster Energy AMA Supercross Championship Series Final Standings 

  1. Jett Lawrence, Honda, 351 points (8 wins, 10 podiums, 13 top fives)
  2. Cooper Webb, Yamaha, 336 (4W, 9P, 14 T5)
  3. Chase Sexton, KTM, 307 (2W, 9P, 12 T5)
  4. Eli Tomac, Yamaha, 282 (1 W, 6P, 8 T5)
  5. Jason Anderson, Kawasaki, 282 (4P, 11 T5)
  6. Justin Cooper, Yamaha, 227 (1P, 2 T5)
  7. Ken Roczen, Suzuki, 223 (1W, 6P, 8 T5)
  8. Justin Barcia, GasGas, 217 (1P, 4 T5)
  9. Hunter Lawrence, 207 (2P, 4 T5)
  10. Malcolm Stewart, Husqvarna, 200
  11. Aaron Plessinger, KTM, 198 (1W, 3P, 7 T5)
  12. Dylan Ferrandis, Honda, 147 (1 T5)
  13. Shane McElrath, Suzuki, 132 (1 T5)
  14. Adam Cianciarulo, Kawasaki, 95
  15. Benny Bloss, Beta, 94
  16. Dean Wilson, Honda, 91
  17. Justin Hill, KTM, 71
  18. Kyle Chisholm, Suzuki, 66
  19. Vince Friese, Honda, 64
  20. Colt Nichols, Beta, 62
  21. Mitchell Oldenburg, Honda, 55
  22. Jorge Prado, GasGas, 45
  23. Christian Craig, Husqvarna, 39
  24. Freddie Norén, Kawasaki, 38
  25. Cade Clason, Kawasaki, 34
  26. Derek Drake, Suzuki, 33
  27. Mitchell Harrison, Kawasaki, 25
  28. Jeremy Hand, Honda, 23
  29. Ty Masterpool, Kawasaki, 19
  30. Grant Harlan, Yamaha, 13
  31. Jerry Robin, Yamaha, 10
  32. John Short, Kawasaki, 8
  33. Austin Politelli, GasGas, 7
  34. Anthony Bourdon, Suzuki, 7
  35. Ryan Breece, Yamaha, 6
  36. Justin Rodbell, KTM, 5
  37. Devon Simonson, Yamaha, 4
  38. Carson Mumford, Honda, 3
  39. Aaron Tanti, Kawasaki, 3
  40. Tristan Lane, KTM, 3
  41. Justin Starling, Honda, 2
  42. Josh Hill, Yamaha, 2
  43. Kevin Moranz, KTM, 2
  44. Jason Clermont, Kawasaki, 1
  45. Robbie Wageman, Yamaha, 1