Motorcycle Racing News Tim Gajser Clinches 2019 MXGP World Championship in Imola

Tim Gajser Clinches 2019 MXGP World Championship in Imola

Team HRC’s Gajser Wins FIM Motocross World Championship

Just days after his 23rd birthday, Team HRC’s Tim Gajser clinched his second MXGP World Championship at the Grand Prix of Italy in Imola. With three rounds remaining in the 18-round series, Gajser has an insurmountable 664-481 lead over Monster Energy Yamaha Factory MXGP Team’s Jeremy Seewar, his nearest rival.

Tim Gajser 2019 MXGP World Champion
Tim Gajser in Imola

Gajser built his vast lead mid-season by scoring 14 wins in the span of 18 races. Injuries to many of Gajser’s main protagonists—MXGP World Champions Tony Cairoli (Red Bull KTM Factory Racing), Jeffrey Herlings (Red Bull KTM Factory Racing), and Romain Febvre (Monster Energy Yamaha Factory MXGP Team)—made Gajser’s march to his second MXGP World Championship a bit less challenging than expected.

Cairoli had a strong start to the 2019 MXGP World Championship Series, with seven race wins and three P2 finishes in the five opening rounds. However, Gajser scored six consecutive wins in Portugal, France, and Russia over the seven-time MXGP Champion Cairoli, who was bravely riding with a broken right arm. After the Latvian round, Cairoli’s arm required a rest.

Febvre broke his ankle at the opening round in Argentina, missing four full rounds. Herlings has ridden just two mid-season rounds, earning a victory in Latvia. Herlings injured his foot before the start of the 2019 MXGP World Championship Series, and then broke his ankle when hit by another motorcycle after falling on the sighting lap for Race 1 in Latvia (which he went on to win).

Tim Gajser, 2019 MXGP World Champion
Tim Gajser, 2019 MXGP World Champion

As a result, Gajser has 15 race wins and 24 podiums in 15 rounds this year, enough to clinch the championship over Seewer, who has yet to win a race. As Gajser was clinching the title at Imola, Glenn Coldenhoff (Standing Construct KTM) went 1-1, giving Coldenhoff podium finishes in the last four races.

Still remaining in the 2019 MXGP World Championship Series are the Grands Prix of Sweden, Turkey, and China.


2019 MXGP World Championship Standings (after 15 of 18 rounds)

  1. Tim Gajser, Slovenia, Honda, 664 points (15 face wins)
  2. Jeremy Seewer, Switzerland, Yamaha, 481
  3. Gautier Paulin, France, Yamaha, 440
  4. Arnaud Tonus, Switzerland, Yamaha, 419
  5. Glenn Coldenhoff, Netherlands, KTM, 399  (2 race wins)
  6. Arminas Jasikonis, Lithuania, Husqvarna, 377
  7. Romain Febvre, France Yamaha, 362
  8. Tony Cairoli, Italy, KTM, 358 (7 race wins)
  9. Pauls Jonass, Latvia, Husqvarna, 352
  10. Jeremy Van Horebeek, Belgium, Honda, 347

Don Williams
Don Williams
With 50 years of riding experience, Don Williams is a fan of all kinds of motorcycles. He enjoys sport bikes, cruisers, dirt bikes, touring bikes, adventure bikes, dual sport bikes, and rideable customs. Ask Don what his favorite bike is and he will tell you, "Whatever bike I'm on."

Honda Dual Clutch Transmission 10th Anniversary Celebrated

Ten years ago, the Honda Dual Clutch Transmission (DCT) technology made its debut on a production motorcycle—the 2010 Honda VFR1200F. Although the genre-ambivalent VFR1200F...

Ducati and Shell Partnership Expands: New Countries Added

Although many American motorcyclists don’t think of Shell as an oil supplier for motorcycles, Ducati owners know better. Since 2017, oil with Ducati and...

iXS 208 2.0 Adventure Motorcycle Helmet First Look

Switzerland’s iXS has a new adventure helmet, the iXS 208 2.0. It has the traditional features expected on an ADV motorcycle helmet, along with...

Sturgis Meals on Wheels Charity Work Pinning the Throttle

One of the less-covered side stories of the 80th Annual Sturgis Motorcycle Rally based in the Black Hills of South Dakota is all the...

BSMC x Indian Motorcycle = Stylish Apparel Partnership

America’s Indian Motorcycle and London’s Bike Shed Motorcycle Club have joined forces for a range of lifestyle apparel. The co-branding comes with an announcement...

Top 5 Strange Odors That Can Mean Trouble With Your Motorcycle

It’s true—that schnozz of yours can be a powerful tool for something besides smelling the pizza Do you have a nose for trouble? I mean...