Motorcycle Racing News AMA Supercross/Motocross Zach Osborne Fined For Joey Savatgy Pass In Vegas 250SX Supercross Finale

Zach Osborne Fined For Joey Savatgy Pass In Vegas 250SX Supercross Finale

Osborne Remains AMA Supercross 250SX East Champion

The Race Director has ruled that Rockstar Energy/Husqvarna Factory Racing’s Zach Osborne’s final lap pass of Monster Energy/Pro Circuit/Kawasaki’s Joey Savatgy at the final round of the Monster Energy AMA Supercross Championship Series in Las Vegas “was aggressive in nature.” That lead to Osborne being fined $7500 for the rule violation.

Osborne’s hard pass two corners before the finish allowed Osborne to take the 250SX East championship. Savatgy went down, and remounted to finish 14th. The incident allowed Savatgy’s teammate Adam Cianciarulo to pass Savatgy in the final standings. Cianciarulo won the Las Vegas round, leading the entire race.

2017 Las Vegas 250SX Finale Results: Husqvarna's Zach Osborne
Zach Osborne

Osborne, who had been involved in a multi-bike first turn crash that left him at the back of the pack, made his way up to eight place on the final lap when he encountered Savatgy. Savatgy was second after the first lap, but a solo crash put him back to second. He made his way up to fourth on Lap 3, but began to struggle and was eventually passed by Osborne.

An appeal of the fine-only penalty was lodged, but the AMA determined the Race Director’s decision was correct.

Osborne hadn’t expected a position penalty after the race saying, “I’m so thankful for everything. This was such a great night. I didn’t know what to expect coming into tonight, but I was positive. To come out with the championship is amazing and I’m so incredible happy.”

2017 Monster Energy AMA Supercross 250SX East Final Standings

  1. Zach Osborne, 173 points (4 wins)
  2. Adam Cianciarulo, 171 (2 wins)
  3. Joey Savatgy, 166 (1 win)
  4. Jordon Smith, 161 (1 win)
  5. Dylan Ferrandis, 144
  6. Christian Craig, 97
  7. Mitchell Harrison, 86
  8. Luke Renzland, 84
  9. Anthony Rodriguez, 82
  10. Kyle Cunningham, 77
  11. Gannon Audette, 63
  12. Alex Martin, 60
  13. Jesse Wentland, 55
  14. Colt Nichols, 49
  15. Cameron McAdoo, 49
  16. Lorenzo Locurcio, 46
  17. Fredrik Noren, 46
  18. Kyle Peters, 37
  19. RJ Hampshire, 36
  20. Dakota Alix, 33
  21. Henry Miller, 28
  22. Cole Thompson, 24
  23. Josh Cartwright, 23
  24. Paul Coates, 20
  25. John Short, 11

Don Williams
Don Williams
With 45 years of riding experience, Don Williams is a fan of all kinds of motorcycles. He enjoys sport bikes, cruisers, dirt bikes, touring bikes, adventure bikes, dual sport bikes, and rideable customs. Ask Don what his favorite bike is and he will tell you, "Whatever bike I'm on."

2019 Aragon MotoGP Preview: Leader Marquez to Start 200th Race

Sunday's 23-lap Aragon MotoGP will also be a historic one for Honda's Marc Marquez as the points leader starts his 200th GP race.

The BMW Story: Second Edition by Ian Fallon: Rider’s Library (Review)

In the second edition of The BMW Story shares what Ian Falloon has learned as he tracked the BMW motorcycle line since the book’s first printing in 2003.

2020 Indian Scout Bobber Twenty + Scout 100th Anniversary First Ride Review (10 Fast...

2020 Indian Scout Bobber Twenty and Scout 100th Anniversary First Ride Review Indian Motorcycle has been on a tear lately, and the Minnesota-based company doesn’t...

2020 Kawasaki KLX300R Review: Off-Road Motorcycle (9 Fast Facts)

2020 Kawasaki KLX300R Review: Single-track to Jeep-trail Tested After a 12-year break following a 14-year run, the Kawasaki KLX300R is back to fill a void in...

2019 Honda CB1100 RS 5Four First Look: 50th Anniversary

2019 Honda CB1100 RS 5Four First Look The 50th anniversary of the iconic Honda CB750 is an important event around the world. To commemorate it...

2020 Yamaha YZF-R1 and YZF-R1M Review (23 Fast Facts)

We head to Jerez to test the updated and more refined 2020 Yamaha YZF-R1 and YZF-R1M superbikes. Here's our first ride review.