Motorcycle Racing News MotoGP 2015 Misano Moto2 Results - Zarco Earns Win #6, Closes on Title

2015 Misano Moto2 Results – Zarco Earns Win #6, Closes on Title

2015 Misano Moto2 Results – San Marino Grand Prix

Johann Zarco at Misano Moto2 2015
Johann Zarco

Ajo Motorsport’s Johann Zarco is one round closer to clinching the 2015 Moto2 title. The Frenchman put in yet another dominate performance, earning the sixth win of the season – and seventh of his Moto2 career – at Misano World Circuit Marco Simocnelli for the San Marino Grand Prix.

Zarco began the weekend quickly, qualifying on the pole. But when the 26-lap race at the 2.63-mile circuit containing 16 corners began, Zarco sat back and watched Technomag Racing Interwetten’s Dominique Aegerter and Paginas Amarillas HP 40’s Alex Rins fight for the lead.

Aegerter and Rins, crashed on the second lap, placing Zarco in front. He went on to eventually take the win by 3.850 seconds ahead of Marc VDS Racign’s Tito Rabat and 5.388 seconds ahead of Idemitsu Honda’s Takaaki Nakagami, who earned his first podium since 2013 and the sixth of his career. All three podium finishers opted for a harder rear tire while many of the others went for a softer rear, which were destroyed by race’s end.

Tito Rabat at Misano Moto2 2015
Tito Rabat

With his win, which was also his 12th-straight podium, Zarco joins Oliver Jacque, Arnaud Vincent and Christian Sarron in the list of most successful French GP riders of all time. Zarco is now 93 points ahead of Rabat, meaning he can possibly clinch the title early.

Finishing fourth, 7.058 seconds back was Forward Racing’s Simone Corsi, who finished over two seconds ahead of QMMF Racing Speed Up’s Julian Simon. On a medium rear tire, AGR Team’s Jonas Folger was in contention for a podium, but faded back to finish sixth, 10.466 seconds behind Zarco.

Forward Racing’s Lorenzo Baldassari braved a dislocated right shoulder to finish seventh, and the top 10 was completed by Sandro Cortese (Dynavolt Intact GP), Luis Salom (Paginas Amarillas HP40), and Thomas Luthi (Derendinger Racing Interwetten) completed the top ten.

As for Rins and Aegerter, both rejoined the race. Rins was black flagged due to battling with a rider that was down a lap, and Aegerter finished 24th.

Speed Up Racing’s Sam Lowes of the UK was forced to retire from the race after a loose fairing rubbed against his rear tire forcing it to delaminate.

During San Marino Moto2, Mika Kallio announced he would be parting ways with the Italtrans Racing Team to join the QMMF Racing Team for 2016. Unfortunately, the 2014 Moto2 runner-up crashed out of the race at turn 8 on lap three. Also crashing out were Ricard Cardus, Robin Mulhauser, Alex Marquez, Jesko Raffin and Federico Caricasulo.

The series no breaks for two weeks ahead of the Aragon Grand Prix September 27.

2015 Misano Moto2 Results – Photo Gallery

2021 Triumph Tiger 850 Sport Review (13 Fast Facts)

Marketing is a funny thing. Usually, manufacturers exaggerate the displacement in model names—even if only by a little bit. However, in the case of...

2021 Harley-Davidson Street Glide Special First Look (5 Fast Facts)

The 2021 Harley-Davidson Street Glide Special changes this year focus on new colors and finishes. However, there are some other updates worth discussing. The...

2021 DOT Certified Helmet Performance Testing Update

We provide some deep insight into the latest 2021 DOT Certified Motorcycle Helmet performance testing, from failure rate to suggestions for regulators.

2021 Benelli TRK502 Review (15 Fast Facts for Sport-Touring)

Last month we tested the 2021 Benelli TRK502X adventure motorcycle and came away impressed. At first glance, the standard TRK502 doesn’t seem that much...

2021 Harley-Davidson CVO Road Glide First Look (6 Fast Facts)

The 2021 Harley-Davidson CVO Road Glide is here, and it’s louder and sleeker than ever—plus it has some wild new wheels. Here’s what’s new...

2021 Houston 3 Fantasy Supercross Tips (11 Fast Facts)

The 2021 Monster Energy Supercross Championship Series is off to a mind-boggling start. The playing field is so level that the bubble is right...