2015 Sepang Supersport Results | USA’s Jacobsen by 0.091!

2015 Sepang Supersport Results | USA’s Jacobsen by 0.091!
PJ Jacobsen

2015 Sepang Supersport Results

2015 Sepang Supersport Results | USA’s Jacobsen by 0.091!
PJ Jacobsen

For the first time in the history of the World Supersport Championship, an American has earned the win. This was after the sole American in 2015 WSS, PJ Jacobsen, piloted his CORE Motorsport Thailand Honda CBR600RR to victory by a mere 0.091 over MV Agusta Reparto Corse’s Jules Cluzel at Sepang International Circuit.

Jacobsen, who also earned the pole, and Cluzel battled for the entire 14-lap 2015 Sepang Supersport race at the Malaysian track. Taking the final podium position at 2015 Sepang Supersport was Cluzel’s teammate Lorenzo Zanetti, who finished 3.387 seconds behind Jacobsen.

When the race began, three-time World Supersport Champion and current points leader Kenan Sofuoglu surged to the front aboard his Kawasaki Puccetti Racing ZX-6R Ninja. But he out-braked himself at turn one, and was forced back into seventh. By the end of the opening lap, the Turkish rider was into fifth.

By mid race, Sofuoglu was up into third. But as Cluzel and Jacobsen diced up front, Zanetti came from the back and passed Sofuoglu on the final corner to secure the final podium finish of 2015 Sepang Supersport. Sofuoglu had to settle for fourth, and was followed by Pata Honda’s Kyle Smith and Team Lorini’s Roberto Rolfo.

Rounding out the top 10 were the CIA Landlord Insurance Honda duo of Martin Cardenas and Gino Rea, Team Go Eleven Kawasaki’s Christian Gamarino and ATK#25 MV Agusta’s Alex Baldolini.

After nine of 13 rounds, Sofuoglu contines to lead the World Supersport Championship with 168 points - 13 ahead of Cluzel. Jacobsen is in third, 28 points behind Sofuoglu.

The series now breaks for six weeks ahead of round 11 at Jerez in Spain.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.