2015 Laguna Seca SBK Superpole | Davies Earns Debut Pole

2015 Laguna Seca SBK Superpole | Davies Earns Debut Pole
Ducati's Chaz Davies

2015 Laguna Seca SBK Superpole Results

2015 Laguna Seca SBK Superpole | Davies Earns Debut Pole
Ducati’s Chaz Davies

For the first time in his four-year World Superbike career, Chaz Davies earned the top qualifying spot. This was after the Welshman piloted his Aruba.it Racing – Ducati Superbike Team 1199 Panigale R to the quickest time in 2015 Laguna Seca SBK Superpole.

Davies wrapped up Friday SBK practice in the lead, and carried this momentum into Saturday’s final free practice and Superpole sessions. Davies was fast from the outset, posting the second-quickest time in the final free-practice session.

Things only got quicker during Superpole when Davies scored his debut World Superbike pole position with a 1:22.01 around the 2.2-mile circuit featuring the famed corkscrew. Joining Davies on the front row for Laguna Seca SBK is Giugliano (-0.196) and Aprilia Racing Team – Red Devils’ Jordi Torres (-0.313).

“Superpole has never really been my specialty but today we did everything right. I honestly didn’t think I’d done enough as I made one small mistake, so to be here on pole is a fantastic result, especially at Laguna, a really special track,” Davies said.

“We’ve been working extremely well this weekend and I believe we’re in a position to really fight tomorrow. This morning we made good progress and then took another step forward in Superpole. I feel well prepared for the scrap we’re bound to see tomorrow, and I’m very much looking forward to racing.”

2015 Laguna Seca SBK Superpole | Davies Earns Debut Pole Torres
Aprilia’s Jordi Torres

Heading up the second row following 2015 Laguna Seca SBK Superpole is the only rider to on the grid to win at stateside track, Kawasaki Racing Team ZX-10R Ninja rider Tom Sykes. The 2013 World SBK Champion finished 0.425 of a second back.

Sykes was followed by the current World SBK points leader who won 11 of 16 races so far this season, Kawasaki Racing Team’s Jonathan Rea (-0.753), and the final rider to post within a second of Davies, Aprilia Racing Team – Red Devils’ Leon Haslam (-0.890).

Row three will consists of Althea Racing Ducati’s Niccolo Canepa, Volctom Crescent Suzuki’s Alex Lowes and the reigning World SBK Champion, Pata Honda World SBK Sylvain Guintoli.

Following 2015 Laguna Seca SBK Superpole, the 21-rider grid will return to the track at 9:15 a.m. PT Sunday morning for warm up ahead of the first race at 11:30 a.m.

Photos by Ara Ashjian

2015 Laguna Seca SBK Superpole Results Photo Gallery


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.