Motorcycle Types Motocross / Off-Road KTM’s Kailub Russell Earns 30th GNCC Win at Snowshoe

KTM’s Kailub Russell Earns 30th GNCC Win at Snowshoe

Kailub Russell 30th GNCC Victory – Snowshoe GNCC Results

KTM’s Kailub Russell Earns 30th GNCC Win at Snowshoe
Kailub Russell at Snowshoe GNCC

FMF KTM Factory pilot Kailub Russell proved his riding talent once again this past weekend during round nine of 13 in the 2015 AMSOIL GNCC Racing series.

Round nine was held at arguably the most challenging course of the series in Snowshoe, W.V. Under muddy conditions, Kailub Russell was able to earn his eighth win of the season, and also the 30th of his GNCC career.

KTM reports that slick rocks and tree roots made up a majority of the 13-mile course but it was the infamous “Howard” mud hole that proved to be the most difficult obstacle of the afternoon.

The Snowshoe GNCC used a live-engine starting procedure, and Kailub Russell propelled himself to the front alongside other riders. the reigning GNCC XC1 Pro Champion then fought with Husqvarna’s Ryan Sipes, who would crash and suffer a DNF.

The Snowshoe GNCC then became a duel between Russell and Husaberg’s Thad DuVall. But Russell was able to find something extra within the two final laps, and take the win. Duvall eventually finished a minute 20 seconds behind. Taking the final podium position was Yamaha’s Jordan Ashburn.

With his 39 wins, Russell is now third on the all-time GNCC wins list, which is led by Rodney Smith with 33.

“I knew it was going to be a tough day after walking the track in the morning,” Kailub Russell said. “I had a fun day racing with Thad, he had a lot of good lines and I had some better ones in places so we kind of complemented each other all day. I’m glad I was able to put down a couple solid laps at the end to break away from him and get the win.”

The series now breaks until September 20 when GNCC action resumes in New Berlin, N.Y.

KTM’s Kailub Russell Earns 30th GNCC Win at Snowshoe - Podium
2015 Snowshoe GNCC podium

2015 Snowshoe GNCC Overall Results (XC1 Pro and XC2 Pro Lites Combined) –

1. Kailub Russell – KTM

2. Thad DuVall – Husaberg

3. Jordan Ashburn – Yamaha

4. Chris Bach – Honda

5. Jason Thomas – KTM

6. Trevor Bollinger – Honda

7. Grant Baylor _ Yamaha

8. Taylor Robert – KTM

9. Steward Baylor Jr. – KTM

10. Daniel Milner – Yamaha

Overall GNCC Point Standings XC1 Pro:

1. Kailub Russell (265)

2. Grant Baylor (161)

3. Thad DuVall (145)


KTM’s Kailub Russell Earns 30th GNCC Win at Snowshoe promo shoot
Kailub Russell from a KTM promo shoot

Sinless Cycles Collection at Mecum’s Las Vegas 2021 Auction: Top 7

Sinless Cycles out of Woodworth, La., is a renowned custom shop. It looks like the garage got a bit full, so they’re putting up...

2022 Kawasaki KLR650 First Look (14 Fast Facts)

2018 was a dark year for Kawasaki KLR650 enthusiasts. It was the last year of the much-loved venerable big-bore dual-sport model that debuted in...

2022 Indian FTR Lineup First Look (8 Fast Facts)

It’s barely 2021, yet the 2022 Indian FTR lineup is here, and there are some significant changes to three of the four variants. In...

2021 Kawasaki KLX230R S First Look (8 Fast Facts)

Just a year after the debut of the Kawasaki KLX230R trail bike, we get our first look at the 2021 Kawasaki KLX230R S. While...

2021 Triumph Speed Triple 1200 RS First Look (19 Fast Facts)

Forget what you know about any previous Triumph Speed Triple. The 2021 Triumph Speed Triple 1200 RS is an all-new naked upright sportbike ready...

2021 Harley-Davidson CVO Limited First Look: Updates, Specs, Photos

The 2021 Harley-Davidson CVO Limited arrives with two new paint choices, plus a couple of updates in the dash area. There’s a new LED...