Motorcycle Types Motocross / Off-Road Toni Bou Retains Lead after Pau X-Trial World Championship

Toni Bou Retains Lead after Pau X-Trial World Championship

The 2015 X-Trial World Championship headed to Pau, France, this past weekend for round three of six. And with it came the end of Toni Bou’s streak of winning 28-consecutive indoor rounds.

Though he earned second, Repsol Honda’s Bou – an eight-time World Champion – retained the overall lead in the X-Trial indoor series.

This was the first time the X-Trial series was held in the French town of Pau, which is at foot of the iconic Pyrenees mountains. Bou performed well from the outset, completing the opening five zones without penalty.

But his streak ceased after a small mistake in the penultimate obstacle. He was penalized seven points, three more than the eventual winner, Gas Gas’ Adam Raga. Taking the final podium position was Beta’s Jeroni Fajardo.

“When we checked the zones this morning I already saw that it was a very easy race. Any mistake would be impossible to recover and that’s what happened in the finale: few zones and very easy,” Bou says.

“I tried to complete the 4th zone with a zero, but maybe I was a bit too fast… it was close, but I couldn’t do it. I want to congratulate Adam Raga, who did a great performance and deserves his victory. I had won 28 consecutive indoor rounds and that’s what probably wasn’t natural: not making any mistake for so long and being always on top. Now I have to focus on the next race, where my aims will be the same: win the round and win the Championship. I feel comfortable and happy with the bike, so I’ll do my best in Barcelona.”

As the series heads to Barcelona (March 8), Bou now has 55 points – eight ahead of Raga.

2015 Pau X-Trial Championship Results:

1. Adam Raga Gas Gas 4 points

2. Toni Bou Repsol Honda 7 points

3. Jeroni Fajardo Beta 12 points

4. Albert Cabestany Sherco 20 points

5. Alexandre Ferrer Sherco 13 points

2015 X-Trial World Championship Points (after three of six rounds):

1. Toni Bou Repsol Honda 55 points

2. Adam Raga Gas Gas 47 points

3. Albert Cabestany Sherco 36 points

4. Jeroni Fajardo Beta 30 points

5. Alexandre Ferrer Sherco 18 points

2022 Triumph Bonneville Bobber First Look (11 Fast Facts)

The 2022 Triumph Bonneville Bobber enjoys a wide range of updates that include functional and aesthetic. The changes are, in part, to meet Euro...

2021 MV Agusta Dragster RR SCS RC First Look (9 Fast Facts)

The 2021 MV Agusta Dragster RR SCS RC is the new flagship of the urban-brawling Dragster lineup. The RC stands for Reparto Corse, and...

2022 Triumph Bonneville T100 First Look (9 Fast Facts)

The Triumph Bonneville T100 gets a more powerful and higher-revving motor for 2022,  along with a lighter chassis and upgraded suspension as the British...

2022 Triumph Street Twin First Look (7 Fast Facts)

The best-selling Triumph Street Twin is back with motor changes to meet Euro 5 standards, upgraded styling, and a classy new variant. Let’s take...

2021 Harley-Davidson Pan America 1250: 150 HP ADV [17 Fast Facts]

Harley-Davidson officially unveiled Monday its all-new adventure touring motorcycles, the 2021 Pan America 1250 and Pan America 1250 Special. The Motor Company released all the...

Story of Warner Riley’s 200+ MPH Run Aboard a Sportster 50 Years Ago!

50 years ago Warner Riley began working toward having the World’s Fastest Conventional Motorcycle. With help from S&S Cycle in Wisconsin, topping 200 mph...