2014 GP Champions - Alex Marquez, Tito Rabat, Marc Marquez
2014 Grand Prix Champions – Alex Marquez, Esteve Rabat, Marc Marquez

2014 FIM Awards Ceremony

The 2014 FIM Grand Prix racing season saw some heroic riding in spectacular competition. A reigning world champion successfully defend his crowned, and noteworthy new champions were also crowned as well.

To put the finishing touches on the season, the 2014 FIM Awards were hosted Sunday following the season finale at Valencia by Izaskun Ruiz and Gavin Emmett, with the presenters joined by Dorna Sports CEO Mr. Carmelo Ezpeleta and FIM President Mr. Vito Ippolito, at the Palacio de Congresos.

Repsol Honda’s Marc Marquez topped the list with his second consecutive MotoGP World Championship, but that didn’t overshadow Esteve Rabat’s World Championship in Moto2 and it added luster to his younger brother Alex’s World Championship in Moto3.

But the Marquez brothers were not the only pair of siblings to shine this season. Monster Yamaha Tech 3’s Pol Espargaro was recognized as MotoGP Rookie of the Year and his brother Aleix Espargaro (NGM Forward Racing) won recognition as the top rider in the Open Category.

Maverick Viñales (Paginas Amarillas HP 40) received Rookie of the Year in Moto2, with Enea Bastianini (Junior Team GO&FUN Moto3) recognized as Moto3 Rookie of the Year.

The BMW M Award for best qualifier in the MotoGP class went to Marc Marquez again, as well as the Tissot Pole of Poles, which also went to Rabat in Moto2 and Jack Miller in Moto3.
The Best Grand Prix prize was won by Indianapolis. Repsol Honda repeated as the MotoGP Team World title trophy winner and as in 2013, the Constructor Titles went to Honda in MotoGP, Kalex in Moto2, and KTM in Moto3.

The Red Bull MotoGP Rookies Cup Champion Jorge Martin, Runner-up Joan Mir and third placed rider Stefano Manzi also made appearances on stage to receive their medals for their fine racing in 2014.