2014 Sealine Rally Day 2 Results | KTM’s Sunderland Wins 2nd Leg

2014 Sealine Rally Day 2 Results | KTM’s Sunderland Wins 2nd Leg
Red Bull KTM's Sam Sunderland
2014 Sealine Rally Day 2 Results | KTM’s Sunderland Wins 2nd Leg
Red Bull KTM’s Sam Sunderland

2014 Sealine Rally Day 2 Results

Red Bull Factory KTM’s Sam Sunderland won a long and grueling stage 2 of the Sealine Rally, round 2 of the FIM Cross Country Rallies World Championship.

Tuesday’s stage was the longest of the five-stage rally, taking riders 485 kilometers with 396 of those timed in a loop that took them back into the bivouac.

The route was cluttered with many rocks, and the terrain was hard. Moreover, a very tricky day’s navigation played an important role, and this meant note-reading right from the outset.

Monday’s stage-one winner, Team HRC Joan Barreda finished in sixth. He is now in second overall, just 56 seconds behind the leader, Red Bull KTM’s Marc Coma. The four-time Dakar winner Coma finished fifth Monday.

As for the reigning FIM Cross Country Rallies World Champion, Paulo Gonclaves, who won the Abu Dhabi Desert Challenge, he regained some time following his navigation error in Monday’s stage. On Tuesday, though, he finished in second, placing him fourth overall, 2:29 minutes behind Coma.

Taking the final podium of stage 2 was yet another KTM rider, Jordi Viladoms.

Wednesday’s stage 3 will take riders 416 kilometers, with 411 of those times.

2014 Sealine Rally Stage 2 Results:

1Sam Sunderland04:22’22GBRKTMKTM Red Bull Rally Factory
2Paulo Goncalves+02’04PRTHONDATEAM HRC
3Jordi Viladoms+08’07ESPKTMKTM Red Bull Rally Factory
4Helder Rodrigues+08’30PRTHONDATEAM HRC
5Marc Coma+10’03ESPKTMKTM Red Bull Rally Factory
6Joan Barreda+12’01ESPHONDATEAM HRC
7Mohammed Albalooshi+42’14UAEKTMKTM UAC
8Julián Villarrubia+58’50ESPHONDAPoland National
9Mohammed Abu Issa+01:00’46QATYAMAHAAbu Issa
10Rafal Sonik+01:02’45POLHONDAPoland National

2014 Sealine Rally Overall Results after 2 of 5 stages:

1Marc Coma06:15’58ESPKTMKTM Red Bull Rally Factory
2Joan Barreda+00’56ESPHONDATEAM HRC
3Jordi Viladoms+02’06ESPKTMKTM Red Bull Rally Factory
4Paulo Goncalves+02’29PRTHONDATEAM HRC
5Sam Sunderland+05’58GBRKTMKTM Red Bull Rally Factory
6Helder Rodrigues+08’22PRTHONDATEAM HRC
7Mohammed Albalooshi+38’12UAEKTMKTM UAC
8Mohammed Abu Issa+01:23’00QATYAMAHAAbu Issa
9Rafal Sonik+01:27’57POLHONDAPoland National
10Julián Villarrubia+01:35’36ESPHONDAPoland National