2014 Qatar Moto2 Qualifying Results | Rabat Secures Pole

2014 Qatar Moto2 Qualifying Results: Rabat Secures Pole
Marc VDS Racing Team's Esteve Rabat en route to Qatar Moto2 pole
2014 Qatar Moto2 Qualifying Results: Rabat Secures Pole
Marc VDS Racing Team’s Esteve Rabat en route to Qatar Moto2 pole

2014 Qatar Moto2 Qualifying Results

The Moto2 qualifying session at the Commercial Bank Grand Prix of Qatar at Losail International Circuit saw Esteve Rabat (Marc VDS Racing Team) take pole. ahead of Sandro Cortese (Dynavolt Intact GP) and Takaaki Nakagami (IDEMITSU Honda Team Asia).

Rabat took pole with a best time of 2:00.081 to beat the existing pole record at the 3.34-mile circuit containing 16 corners, with Cortese just behind him by 0.02 of a second in second.

Cortese later crashed in an incident also involving Jordi Torres (Mapfre Aspar Team Moto2) and Mika Kallio Marc (VDS Racing Team) causing a red flag, but each escaped relatively unscathed.

Nakagami (+0.37 of a second) rounded out the front row, with Thomas Luthi (Interwetten Paddock Moto2), the impressive rookie Sam Lowes (Speed Up) and Kallio on row two.

Xavier Simeon (Federal Oil Gresini Moto2), Alex De Angelis (Tasca Racing Moto2) and Johann Zarco (AirAsia Caterham Moto Racing) qualified on the third row, just ahead of late crasher Simone Corsi (NGM Forward Racing), who was also OK.

As for the only American in Moto2, Caterham Moto2’s Josh Herrin qualified 27th, 2.177 seconds behind Rabat.

2014 Qatar Moto2 Qualifying Results:

153Esteve RABATSPAMarc VDS Racing TeamKalex274.02’00.081
211Sandro CORTESEGERDynavolt Intact GPKalex273.42’00.1010.020 / 0.020
330Takaaki NAKAGAMIJPNIDEMITSU Honda Team AsiaKalex268.82’00.4510.370 / 0.350
412Thomas LUTHISWIInterwetten Paddock Moto2Suter274.82’00.4590.378 / 0.008
522Sam LOWESGBRSpeed UpSpeed Up272.62’00.5470.466 / 0.088
636Mika KALLIOFINMarc VDS Racing TeamKalex273.42’00.6210.540 / 0.074
719Xavier SIMEONBELFederal Oil Gresini Moto2Suter270.82’00.6960.615 / 0.075
815Alex DE ANGELISRSMTasca Racing Moto2Suter273.92’00.7640.683 / 0.068
95Johann ZARCOFRAAirAsia CaterhamCaterham Suter267.52’00.8060.725 / 0.042
103Simone CORSIITANGM Forward RacingForward KLX270.72’00.8310.750 / 0.025
1177Dominique AEGERTERSWITechnomag carXpertSuter273.02’00.9100.829 / 0.079
1254Mattia PASINIITANGM Forward RacingForward KLX271.22’00.9140.833 / 0.004
1323Marcel SCHROTTERGERTech 3Tech 3273.42’01.0040.923 / 0.090
1440Maverick VIÑALESSPAPons HP 40Kalex269.12’01.0320.951 / 0.028
1594Jonas FOLGERGERAGR TeamKalex270.42’01.0450.964 / 0.013
1681Jordi TORRESSPAMapfre Aspar Team Moto2Suter272.32’01.1111.030 / 0.066
1739Luis SALOMSPAPons HP 40Kalex271.92’01.1241.043 / 0.013
1888Ricard CARDUSSPATech 3Tech 3272.32’01.1851.104 / 0.061
1960Julian SIMONSPAItaltrans Racing TeamKalex271.92’01.1901.109 / 0.005
2096Louis ROSSIFRASAG TeamKalex275.22’01.2771.196 / 0.087
2118Nicolas TEROLSPAMapfre Aspar Team Moto2Suter273.22’01.3191.238 / 0.042
224Randy KRUMMENACHERSWIIodaRacing ProjectSuter270.42’01.3341.253 / 0.015
237Lorenzo BALDASSARRIITAGresini Moto2Suter270.12’01.4311.350 / 0.097
248Gino REAGBRAGT REA RacingSuter270.32’01.5691.488 / 0.138
2549Axel PONSSPAAGR TeamKalex271.92’01.6091.528 / 0.040
2695Anthony WESTAUSQMMF Racing TeamSpeed Up275.32’01.7321.651 / 0.123
272Josh HERRINUSAAirAsia CaterhamCaterham Suter271.62’02.2582.177 / 0.526
2825Azlan SHAHMALIDEMITSU Honda Team AsiaKalex270.42’02.3552.274 / 0.097
2921Franco MORBIDELLIITAItaltrans Racing TeamKalex270.42’02.3952.314 / 0.040
3055Hafizh SYAHRINMALPetronas Raceline MalaysiaKalex278.32’02.4732.392 / 0.078
3197Roman RAMOSSPAQMMF Racing TeamSpeed Up273.52’02.6762.595 / 0.203
3210Thitipong WAROKORNTHAAPH PTT The Pizza SAGKalex270.62’03.3293.248 / 0.653
3398Mashel AL NAIMIQATQMMF Racing TeamSpeed Up274.32’03.9483.867 / 0.619
3445Tetsuta NAGASHIMAJPNTeluru Team JiR WebikeTSR260.72’04.0363.955 / 0.088
3570Robin MULHAUSERSWITechnomag carXpertSuter268.12’04.1474.066 / 0.111