2013 Valenica Moto2 | Season Finale Preview

2013 Valenica Moto2 | Season Finale Preview2013 Valencia Moto2

Heading to Valencia for the last round of 2013, Moto2 is the only category where the title has already been decided. The 2013 Moto2 Championship went to Pol Espargaro, who put in a dominance performance at Motegi to clinch the title.

However, plenty of rivals will be looking for a confidence-boosting victory at the end of another tiring campaign.

With just the sole round still to run, Espargaro (Tuenti HP 40) heads the luckless Scott Redding (Marc VDS Racing Team) by the unassailable margin of 41 points, with a maximum of 25 still on offer.

Compounding a dreadful end to the triple-header, Redding was taken out of the Japanese Grand Prix in a crash triggered by third title contender and Espargaro’s teammate, Tito Rabat. Both men will now be looking to put one over the Champion in Valencia, with Espargaro and Redding then heading to MotoGP™ for 2014, while Rabat remains in Moto2 with Marc VDS.

There will be plenty more to fight for at the Ricardo Tormo circuit, as well. Fourth, eighth and tenth in the championship, Mika Kallio (Marc VDS), and Aspar Team Moto2 pairing Nico Terol and Jordi Torres will all be searching for one more win before the end of the season, whereas no less than four of the riders in the overall top ten are still on the lookout for a victory before moving into the off-season.

Regular wildcard Gino Rea will be taking part once more with his Gino Rea Montaze Broz Racing team, as will other familiar, Malaysian Hafiz Syahrin, with the Petronas Raceline Malaysia outfit.

2013 Moto2 Championship Point Standings (after 17 of 18 rounds):

2Scott REDDINGKalexGBR224
3Esteve RABATKalexSPA204
4Mika KALLIOKalexFIN185
5Dominique AEGERTERSuterSWI151
6Thomas LUTHISuterSWI146
7Takaaki NAKAGAMIKalexJPN145
8Nicolas TEROLSuterSPA125
9Johann ZARCOSuterFRA123
10Jordi TORRESSuterSPA106
11Simone CORSISpeed UpITA92
12Xavier SIMEONKalexBEL84
13Julian SIMONKalexSPA74
14Alex DE ANGELISSpeed UpRSM66
15Anthony WESTSpeed UpAUS53
16Mattia PASINISpeed UpITA48
17Marcel SCHROTTERKalexGER33
18Toni ELIASKalexSPA21
20Sandro CORTESEKalexGER19
21Mike DI MEGLIOMotobiFRA18
22Danny KENTTech 3GBR15
23Ricard CARDUSSpeed UpSPA7
24Axel PONSKalexSPA5
25Louis ROSSITech 3FRA4
26Gino REASpeed UpGBR4
28Doni Tata PRADITASuterINA1