2013 Aragon Moto2 | Results

2013 Grand Prix of Aragon Moto2 Race Results

Spoiler Alert: 2013 Moto2 results from the Grand Prix of Aragon listed below

The 2013 Moto2 Championship headed to Spain this past weekend for the Grand Prix of Aragon. And after claiming his first-ever Moto2 pole Saturday, Aspar Team’s Nicol Terol absolutely dominated Sunday’s Moto2.

Terol took a flag-to-flag victory ahead of Tito Rabat and Pol Espargaro, the latter putting in an amazing battle for the final podium position with title-rival Scott Redding, who finished fourth from 13th on the grid.

As Terol enjoyed a clean start, arguably the best getaway came from Redding who just minutes into the race was already inside the top five. Italtrans Racing Team’s Takaaki Nakagami was also lightning quick off the line, rising to second at Turn 2 before dropping down the field due to a mistake on the fourth lap; the Japanese rider, who had finished second at the previous four races, would fight back up to 11th spot.

At the front, Terol was untouchable and would enjoy career victory number 15 after taking the chequered flag 1.7 seconds in front of Rabat. Espargaro finally came out on top in the duel for the final podium slot, but only after a mesmerizing, fairing-to-fairing contest with Redding as the Spaniard and Englishman continued to swap positions over the second half of the race – at one point making contact as the championship leader overtook in a daring maneuverer at the final corner.

The final exchanging of places came on the penultimate tour, with Espargaro defending the line into Turn 16 while Redding’s teammate Mika Kallio kept a watching brief from fifth place, having performed a climb of ten places since the start of the race.

As Redding’s championship lead over Espargaro reduces to 20 points with four rounds remaining, Terol’s teammate Jordi Torres ensured Aspar bikes bookended the top six while reigning Moto3 World Champion Sandro Cortese finished tenth.

However, the Dynavolt Intact GP rider was involved in a last-lap incident on the exit of Turn 14 which caused the demise from proceedings of NGM Mobile Forward Racing’s Alex de Angelis, with Technomag carXpert rider Dominique Aegerter also becoming involved but continuing to finish 13th. In 15th, Alex Mariñelarena (Blusens Avintia) scored his maiden World Championship point in only his fifth Moto2™ race, achieving the feat at the same track on which he made his debut last year.

Other incidents included a second corner retirement for Interwetten Paddock Moto2 Racing’s Tom Luthi, who bounced across the gravel trap, while there was a similar scenario for Xavier Simeon whose race finished at the end of his first run down the back straight; thankfully, the Maptaq SAG Zelos Team rider was not collected by Argiñano & Gines Racing’s Steven Odendaal, who crashed in the same place.

2013 Aragon Moto2 Results:

12518Nicolas TEROLSPAAspar Team Moto2Suter158.940’15.232
22080Esteve RABATSPATuenti HP 40Kalex158.8+1.736
31640Pol ESPARGAROSPATuenti HP 40Kalex158.7+3.530
41345Scott REDDINGGBRMarc VDS Racing TeamKalex158.6+3.783
51136Mika KALLIOFINMarc VDS Racing TeamKalex158.6+4.049
61081Jordi TORRESSPAAspar Team Moto2Suter158.1+11.602
795Johann ZARCOFRACame Iodaracing ProjectSuter157.8+16.298
8860Julian SIMONSPAItaltrans Racing TeamKalex157.7+18.765
9754Mattia PASINIITANGM Mobile RacingSpeed Up157.4+22.266
10611Sandro CORTESEGERDynavolt Intact GPKalex157.3+23.757
11530Takaaki NAKAGAMIJPNItaltrans Racing TeamKalex157.3+23.924
12423Marcel SCHROTTERGERMaptaq SAG Zelos TeamKalex157.3+24.487
13377Dominique AEGERTERSWITechnomag carXpertSuter157.1+28.011
14292Alex MARIÑELARENASPABlusens AvintiaKalex156.7+33.120
15152Danny KENTGBRTech 3Tech 3156.1+43.909
1649Axel PONSSPATuenti HP 40Kalex156.0+44.230
178Gino REAGBRGino Rea Montaze Broz RacingFTR156.0+44.293
1896Louis ROSSIFRATech 3Tech 3155.8+47.587
1988Ricard CARDUSSPANGM Mobile Forward RacingSpeed Up155.8+47.678
2028Roman RAMOSSPAJiR Moto2Motobi155.5+52.153
2117Alberto MONCAYOSPAArgiñano & Gines RacingSpeed Up155.4+53.848
227Doni Tata PRADITAINAFederal Oil Gresini Moto2Suter153.5+1’24.099
2370Robin MULHAUSERSWITechnomag carXpertSuter153.4+1’26.887
2410Thitipong WAROKORNTHAThai Honda PTT Gresini Moto2Suter152.7+1’37.241
2597Rafid Topan SUCIPTOINAQMMF Racing TeamSpeed Up147.11 Lap
Not Classified
15Alex DE ANGELISRSMNGM Mobile Forward RacingSpeed Up157.51 Lap
95Anthony WESTAUSQMMF Racing TeamSpeed Up156.47 Laps
3Simone CORSIITANGM Mobile RacingSpeed Up156.614 Laps
25Azlan SHAHMALIDEMITSU Honda Team AsiaMoriwaki152.716 Laps
34Ezequiel ITURRIOZARGBlusens AvintiaKalex94.820 Laps
12Thomas LUTHISWIInterwetten Paddock Moto2 RacingSuter0 Lap
19Xavier SIMEONBELMaptaq SAG Zelos TeamKalex0 Lap
44Steven ODENDAALRSAArgiñano & Gines RacingSpeed Up0 Lap

2013 Moto2 Championship Point Standings:

1Scott REDDINGKalexGBR215
3Esteve RABATKalexSPA171
4Mika KALLIOKalexFIN143
5Takaaki NAKAGAMIKalexJPN130
6Dominique AEGERTERSuterSWI122
7Johann ZARCOSuterFRA113
8Nicolas TEROLSuterSPA108
9Thomas LUTHISuterSWI94
10Jordi TORRESSuterSPA83
11Simone CORSISpeed UpITA74
12Xavier SIMEONKalexBEL71
13Julian SIMONKalexSPA57
14Alex DE ANGELISSpeed UpRSM46
15Mattia PASINISpeed UpITA42
16Anthony WESTSpeed UpAUS39
17Marcel SCHROTTERKalexGER28
18Toni ELIASKalexSPA21
20Mike DI MEGLIOMotobiFRA18
21Sandro CORTESEKalexGER13
22Danny KENTTech 3GBR8
23Louis ROSSITech 3FRA4
24Axel PONSKalexSPA2
26Ricard CARDUSSpeed UpSPA1