2013 Washougal AMA Motocross | Results

KTM's Ryan Dungey

2013 AMA Motocross Championship

Spoiler Alert: 2013 AMA Motocross Championship results from Washougal listed below

The 2013 AMA Pro Motocross Championship headed to the Northwest Saturday fro the 33rd Annual Peterson CAT Washougal National in Washington for round eight of the series

And for the first time in his career, Kawasaki Racing’s Ryan Villopoto was victorious, the 2011 450-class Champion ending Red Bull KTM rider Ryan Dungey’s five-year winning streak at the circuit.

Villopoto, of Poulsbo, Wash., was joined on the overall podium by Dungey and Yoshimura Suzuki’s James Stewart. Villopoto each split a win and a runner-up finish, and Stewart went 3-3.

In the opening moto, Dungey secured the Motorcycle Supersport Holeshot award, followed by Team Honda Muscle Milk’s Justin Barcia and Stewart. Villopoto, meanwhile, started outside the top five. But he quickly made it up front and began battling with Stewart.

As for Barcia, he suffered a light crash while in second, and lost a few positions. This allowed Villopoto to chase down Dungey, who he couldn’t catch. Dungey would win by over two seconds ahead of Villopoto. Stewart held onto third, with Barcia finishing in fourth.

In Moto2, Toyota/JGR/Yamaha’s Josh Grant grabbed the Motorcycle Superstore Holeshot. But it didn’t take long for Dungey to take first; by the end of lap one, Dungey was in the lead. Villopoto and Stewart also made it pass Grant, and the Kawasaki rider began chasing down Dungey.

Villopoto would take the lead, and not be challenged again to take his first-ever win at Washougal. Dungey finished second, followed by Stewart and Barcia.

With his win, Villopoto continues to hold the championship point lead after eight of 12 rounds. He has 380 points, 42 ahead of Dungey.

GEICO Honda’s Eli Tomac dominated the 250 Class competition as he swept both motos of the day en route to his third overall victory of the season. In Moto 1, GEICO Honda’s Justin Bogle grabbed the Motorcycle Superstore Holeshot and led the field on the opening lap but it didn’t take long for Tomac to put himself out front, MX Sports says

Monster Energy Kawasaki’s Blake Baggett caught up to Bogle and the two went to battle for second place early in the race. Baggett eventually moved past Bogle for second where he maintained a comfortable position until a mechanical issue ultimately took the defending 250 Class champion out of competition in Moto 1, MX Sports says.

The Red Bull KTM duo of Ken Roczen and Marvin Musquin caught the front-runners from behind in the first moto, each capitalizing on Baggett’s misfortune. Roczen inherited the second place position, while Musquin remained close behind in third. Bogle dropped back to fourth, where he ultimately finished in Moto 1, just ahead of rookie Justin Hill who rode his Monster Energy/Pro Circuit/Kawasaki machine to a career best finish of fifth place in Moto 1, MX Sports says.

In Moto 2 of the 250 Class, GEICO Honda’s Wil Hahn took the early lead after grabbing the Motorcycle Superstore Holeshot but a small mistake on the opening lap allowed his GEICO Honda teammates of Bogle and then Tomac to take over the lead. Similar to Moto 1, Tomac generated a comfortable lead on the rest of the field from the early stages of the race, MX Sports says.

Roczen settled into the second place position in Moto 2 and despite a hard fought attempt to catch the leader, Roczen wasn’t able to contend for the lead position. Tomac secured the overall victory with a (1-1) sweep for the day, while Roczen’s consistent (2-2) moto score awarded him second overall.

The battle in Moto 2 ensued for the third place position as Bogle attempted to hold off GEICO Honda teammate Zach Osborne and Musquin late in the race. Bogle eventually dropped back a few spots, while Osborne pushed his way to a third place finish, followed by Musquin in fourth. Musquin earned third place overall with a (3-4) moto score for the day, returning to the podium for the first time since Round 5, MX Sports says.

Only one point separates Tomac and Roczen in the ultra-competitive 250 Class Championship after eight rounds of racing.

Round 9 of the Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championship heads to Millville, Minn. for the Red Bull Spring Creek National on Saturday, July 27.

2013 Washougal AMA Motocross 450 Class (Moto Finish):
1. Ryan Villopoto, Poulsbo, Wash., Kawasaki (2-1)
2. Ryan Dungey, Belle Plaine, Minn., KTM (1-2)
3. James Stewart, Haines City, Fla., Suzuki (3-3)
4. Jake Weimer, Twin Falls, Idaho, Kawasaki (10-4)
5. Mike Alessi, Victorville, Calif., Suzuki, (7-6)
6. Andrew Short, Colorado Springs, Colo., KTM (6-9)
7. Josh Grant, Riverside, Calif., Yamaha, (5-10)
8. Chad Reed, Australia, Honda (9-7)
9. Broc Tickle, Holly, Mich., Suzuki (13-5)
10. Justin Barcia, Monroe, N.Y., Honda (4-17)

2013 AMA 450 Class Championship Standings:
1. Ryan Villopoto, Poulsbo, Wash., Kawasaki, 380
2. Ryan Dungey, Belle Plaine, Minn., KTM, 338
3. Justin Barcia, Monroe, N.Y., Honda, 271
4. James Stewart, Haines City, Fla., Suzuki, 224
5. Trey Canard, Oklahoma City, Okla., Honda, 219
6. Mike Alessi, Victorville, Calif., Suzuki, 199
7. Andrew Short, Colorado Springs, Colo., KTM, 164
8. Jake Weimer, Twin Falls, Idaho, Kawasaki, 160
9. Broc Tickle, Holly, Mich., Suzuki, 159
10. Josh Grant, Riverside, Calif., Yamaha, 158

2013 Washougal AMA Motocross 250 Class (Moto Finish):
1. Eli Tomac, Cortez, Colo., Honda (1-1)
2. Ken Roczen, Apolda, Germany, KTM (2-2)
3. Marvin Musquin, La Reole, France, KTM (3-4)
4. Justin Bogle, Grand Terrace, Calif., Kawasaki (4-6)
5. Justin Hill, Yoncalla, Ore., Kawasaki (5-7)
6. Zach Osborne, Abingdon, Va., Honda (14-3)
7. Jason Anderson, Edgewood, N.M., Suzuki (11-5)
8. Martin Davalos, Ecuador, Kawasaki (7-9)
9. Cole Seely, Newbury Park, Calif., Honda (9-10)
10. Adam Cianciarulo, Port Orange, Fla., Kawasaki (6-16)

2013 AMA Motocross 250 Class Championship Standings:
1. Ken Roczen, Apolda, Germany, KTM, 356
2. Eli Tomac, Cortez, Colo., Honda, 355
3. Marvin Musquin, La Reole, France, KTM, 298
4. Blake Baggett, Grand Terrace, Calif., Kawasaki, 260
5. Zach Osborne, Abingdon, Va., Honda, 239
6. Jason Anderson, Edgewood, N.M., Suzuki, 202
7. Justin Bogle, Cushing, Okla., Honda, 178
8. Kyle Cunningham, Aledo, Texas, Yamaha, 177
9. Jeremy Martin, Millville, Minn., Yamaha, 171
10. Cooper Webb, Morehead City, N.C., Yamaha, 159