2013 Assen Moto2 | Dutch TT Preview

Marc VDS Racing's Scott Redding
Marc VDS Racing's Scott Redding
Marc VDS Racing’s Scott Redding

2013 Iveco TT Assen Moto2

After a resurgence in form, fans will be braced for a shootout between Tuenti HP40’s Pol Espargaro and Marc VDS Racing Team’s championship leader Scott Redding, as the Moto2 class lines up for the Iveco TT Assen race this Saturday.

Espargaro re-found some of his old form at the last Grand Prix in Catalunya, and will be hoping to carry it through to Assen in a bid to chip away at Redding’s 35-point advantage in the standings. The Brit, however, will not be easy to stop, as his form this year has shown.

Pons’ Esteve Rabat could be one to spoil the party for both, as he came very close to beating Espargaro in Spain. A constant threat, Rabat may find himself joined by Interwetten-Paddock’s Tom Luthi, who scored his first podium last time out since his horrific pre-season crash.

The Swiss rider had been concerned about his fitness over race distance, but found that gritting his teeth gets the job done.

The likes of Italtrans Racing Team’s Takaaki Nakagami, Marc VDS’ Mika Kallio, Came IodaRacing Project’s Johann Zarco and NGM Mobile Forward Racing’s Simone Corsi are likely to make up strong competition for the front-runners amongst many others, and will be joined by just one wildcard this time out in the form of Gino Rea on his Gino Rea Race Team FTR machine.

2013 Moto2 Championship Point Standings:

Pos. Rider Bike Nation Points
1 Scott REDDING Kalex GBR 114
2 Pol ESPARGARO Kalex SPA 79
3 Esteve RABAT Kalex SPA 75
4 Mika KALLIO Kalex FIN 65
5 Dominique AEGERTER Suter SWI 61
6 Nicolas TEROL Suter SPA 58
7 Johann ZARCO Suter FRA 53
8 Takaaki NAKAGAMI Kalex JPN 40
9 Xavier SIMEON Kalex BEL 35
10 Simone CORSI Speed Up ITA 30
11 Alex DE ANGELIS Speed Up RSM 30
12 Thomas LUTHI Suter SWI 28
13 Jordi TORRES Suter SPA 26
14 Mattia PASINI Speed Up ITA 23
15 Anthony WEST Speed Up AUS 20
16 Julian SIMON Kalex SPA 19
17 Toni ELIAS Kalex SPA 19
18 Marcel SCHROTTER Kalex GER 19
19 Mike DI MEGLIO Motobi FRA 18
20 Randy KRUMMENACHER Suter SWI 16
21 Sandro CORTESE Kalex GER 5
22 Danny KENT Tech 3 GBR 3
23 Axel PONS Kalex SPA 2
24 Ricard CARDUS Speed Up SPA 1
25 Louis ROSSI Tech 3 FRA 1