2013 Catalunya Moto2 | Espargaro on Pole

Pol Espargaro at Catalunya Moto2 Qualifying
Pol Espargaro at Catalunya Moto2 Qualifying
Pol Espargaro at Catalunya Moto2 Qualifying

2013 Catalunya Moto2 Qualifying Results

The Moto2 contest on Sunday at the Gran Premi Aperol de Catalunya will get underway with Pol Espargaro on pole. Joining the Tuenti HP 40 pilot on the front row will be Scott Redding and Tito Rabat.

Local rider Espargaro set a rapid pace in qualifying, the Tuenti HP 40 man emerging on top thanks to a 1:46.410 lap on Saturday afternoon, in scorching heat at the brilliant Circuit de Catalunya.

Marc VDS Racing Team’s standings leader Redding ended up 0.619s adrift of pole, whilst Espargaro’s Tuenti HP 40 colleague Rabat completed the front row with a similar time to Redding’s.

Indeed another similar lap time from Italtrans Racing Team’s Takaaki Nakagami has him at the front of row two, 0.688s off pole man Espargaro. Despite an early crash, NGM Mobile Forward Racing’s Alex de Angelis made row two as well, with Came IodaRacing Project’s Johann Zarco in sixth.

The third row features Aspar Team Moto2’s Jordi Torres, Technomag carXpert’s Randy Krummenacher and Moto3 World Champion Sandro Cortese – who rides for Dynavolt Intact GP.

The top ten was rounded out by Interwetten Paddock Moto2 Racing’s Thomas Luthi, who will be disappointed with that position having shown good pace in free practice.

There were crashes for Thai Honda PTT Gresini’s Ratthapark Wilairot and Blusens Avintia’s Kyle Smith towards the end of the session, but both riders emerged without major problems.

2013 Catalunya Moto2 Qualifying Results:

140Pol ESPARGAROSPATuenti HP 40Kalex281.41’46.410
245Scott REDDINGGBRMarc VDS Racing TeamKalex275.51’47.0290.619 / 0.619
380Esteve RABATSPATuenti HP 40Kalex279.71’47.0760.666 / 0.047
430Takaaki NAKAGAMIJPNItaltrans Racing TeamKalex275.71’47.0980.688 / 0.022
515Alex DE ANGELISRSMNGM Mobile Forward RacingSpeed Up284.01’47.1490.739 / 0.051
65Johann ZARCOFRACame Iodaracing ProjectSuter280.51’47.2130.803 / 0.064
781Jordi TORRESSPAAspar Team Moto2Suter281.11’47.2580.848 / 0.045
84Randy KRUMMENACHERSWITechnomag carXpertSuter278.91’47.4181.008 / 0.160
911Sandro CORTESEGERDynavolt Intact GPKalex280.71’47.4221.012 / 0.004
1012Thomas LUTHISWIInterwetten Paddock Moto2 RacingSuter279.51’47.4241.014 / 0.002
1154Mattia PASINIITANGM Mobile RacingSpeed Up284.81’47.4751.065 / 0.051
1236Mika KALLIOFINMarc VDS Racing TeamKalex276.91’47.5401.130 / 0.065
1323Marcel SCHROTTERGERDesguaces La Torre SAGKalex280.31’47.5591.149 / 0.019
1477Dominique AEGERTERSWITechnomag carXpertSuter280.21’47.5861.176 / 0.027
153Simone CORSIITANGM Mobile RacingSpeed Up281.31’47.6951.285 / 0.109
1660Julian SIMONSPAItaltrans Racing TeamKalex280.81’47.7311.321 / 0.036
1752Danny KENTGBRTech 3Tech 3277.51’47.8031.393 / 0.072
189Kyle SMITHGBRBlusens AvintiaKalex276.41’47.8051.395 / 0.002
1919Xavier SIMEONBELDesguaces La Torre MaptaqKalex276.21’47.8081.398 / 0.003
2018Nicolas TEROLSPAAspar Team Moto2Suter280.51’47.8081.398
2124Toni ELIASSPABlusens AvintiaKalex276.91’47.8591.449 / 0.051
2272Yuki TAKAHASHIJPNIDEMITSU Honda Team AsiaMoriwaki272.01’47.9311.521 / 0.072
2396Louis ROSSIFRATech 3Tech 3278.61’47.9861.576 / 0.055
2463Mike DI MEGLIOFRAJiR Moto2Motobi279.21’48.0321.622 / 0.046
2595Anthony WESTAUSQMMF Racing TeamSpeed Up277.21’48.0641.654 / 0.032
2688Ricard CARDUSSPANGM Mobile Forward RacingSpeed Up280.41’48.1401.730 / 0.076
2755Hafizh SYAHRINMALPetronas Raceline MalaysiaKalex281.31’48.2211.811 / 0.081
2814Ratthapark WILAIROTTHAThai Honda PTT Gresini Moto2Suter281.41’48.2401.830 / 0.019
2949Axel PONSSPATuenti HP 40Kalex276.61’48.3081.898 / 0.068
3044Steven ODENDAALRSAArgiñano & Gines RacingSpeed Up279.71’48.3131.903 / 0.005
3117Alberto MONCAYOSPAArgiñano & Gines RacingSpeed Up282.81’48.3981.988 / 0.085
3227Dani RIVASSPATSR MotorsportsKalex270.61’48.5872.177 / 0.189
337Doni Tata PRADITAINAFederal Oil Gresini Moto2Suter277.01’49.0592.649 / 0.472
3497Rafid Topan SUCIPTOINAQMMF Racing TeamSpeed Up274.61’50.7094.299 / 1.650