New Orleans AMA SportBike | Race 2 Results

2012-new-orleans-ama-sportbike-race-two-results (1)

AMA Pro GoPro Daytona SportBike

Spoiler Alert: 2012 AMA Pro GoPro Daytona SportBike results from NOLA Motorsports Park, New Orleans, listed below

Martin Cardenas of the GEICO Suzuki squad got a measure of revenge on Cameron Beaubier (Y.E.S./Graves/Yamaha) in Sunday’s AMA Pro GoPro Daytona SportBike race at NOLA Motorsports Park as the two class titans put on a memorable show during the final race of the 2012 season.

Cardenas crashed out of Saturday’s race won by Beaubier and the Yamaha pilot tied the series champion for victories this year with seven heading into today’s race.

Cardenas won Sunday’s nail-biter after a thrilling ending, one that saw both riders giving it all they had on the final lap. The Colombian was able to answer each of Beaubier’s tries at a pass and held off his younger rival for a 0.208 second win. For Cardenas, it was his eighth victory in his championship season.

Cardenas pulled away from the field early and Beaubier managed to catch up to make it a two-man fight. Both riders had slight bobbles that set up the last-lap showdown.

“For sure I wanted to beat Cameron,” said Cardenas. “Lately, he was winning a lot. I was prepared to give everything. If it worked out? Fine. If not? The ground was also okay. I gave everything I had.”

“Going into the last lap, I was pushing as hard as I could,” said Beaubier.

Tommy Aquino ( Yamaha) beat Dane Westby (M4 Suzuki) to the line after that duo traded paint on the final lap.

J.D. Beach (RoadRace Factory/Red Bull) finished fifth after a podium on Saturday. He topped Jason DiSalvo (Latus Motors Racing Triumph) by less than half a second. Tommy Hayden, still recovering from an injury sustained at New Jersey in the fall, was next. Michael Beck of Team Beck Racing recovered from a crash on Saturday to finish eighth.

2012 New Orleans AMA SportBike Race 2 Results:

PosNo.Rider(s)TeamBikeIntervalGapBest LapPoints
1.36Martin CardenasGEICO SuzukiSuzuki GSX-R60018 LapsWINNER1:42.5930
2.6Cameron BeaubierYamaha Extended Service, Graves, YamahaYamaha YZF-R60.2080.2081:42.3740
3.124Tommy Crown IndustriesYamaha YZF-R614.85614.6481:43.4170
4.5Dane WestbyM4 SuzukiSuzuki GSX-R60015.0520.1951:43.2580
5.95JD BeachRoad Race Factory/Red BullYamaha YZF-R623.8598.8071:44.0970
6.40Jason DiSalvoTeam Latus Motors RacingTriumph Daytona 67524.1750.3151:44.0980
7.22Tommy HaydenYamaha Extended Service, Graves, YamahaYamaha YZF-R644.41120.2361:44.5220
8.61Michael BeckTeam Beck RacingYamaha YZF-R648.8334.4221:44.6970
9.175David Crown IndustriesYamaha YZF-R655.0226.1881:44.8950
10.38Kris TurnerTurner`s Cycle RacingTriumph Daytona 6751:03.2438.2211:45.2510
11.74Josh GalsterGearzy/Josh Galster RacingYamaha YZF-R61:07.4924.2481:45.7520
12.42Kenny RiedmannSturgess Cycle TriumphTriumph Daytona 6751:08.2760.7841:46.0990
13.25Chris PerisADR Motorsports 2Yamaha YZF-R61:12.1753.8991:46.2040
14.75Huntley NashLTD RacingYamaha YZF-R61:12.2340.0591:46.3570
15.30Danny KelseyRPS Race TeamYamaha YZF-R61:12.4230.1881:46.2800
16.52Joey PascarellaRiders Discount Vesrah SuzukiSuzuki GSX-R6001:12.5110.0871:46.0360
17.86Ben YoungBYR/Fogi RacingYamaha YZF-R61:13.7741.2631:46.4340
18.72Bryce PrinceRotobox/NexxYamaha YZF-R61:21.2337.4581:46.6300
19.39Nicollas FerreiraDMS RacingYamaha YZF-R61:41.79420.5611:48.0530
20.7Fernando AmantiniTeam AmantiniKawasaki ZX-6R1:42.0050.2101:48.0330
21.111Derek WagnonHSBK RacingDucati 8481:47.1115.1061:47.0440
22.56Austin Crown IndustriesYamaha YZF-R617 Laps1 Lap1:44.8190
23.13Melissa ParisMPH RacingSuzuki GSX-R6001:18.5651:18.5651:48.9340
24.63Jeff WrobelWrobel RacingYamaha YZF-R61:18.7940.2291:49.1240
25.24Scott RyanStiles RacingYamaha YZF-R615 Laps2 Laps1:47.6780
26.57Cory WestRiders Discount Vesrah SuzukiSuzuki GSX-R6006 Laps9 Laps1:43.9170
27.50Bobby FongMeen Motorsports RacingYamaha YZF-R63 Laps3 Laps1:43.8220
28.98Jake ZemkeDucshop RacingDucati 8481.0731.0731:43.8430
29.46Shane NarbonneMOB RacingYamaha YZF-R60 Laps3 Laps-no times-0
30.132Jake GagneRoad Race Factory/Red BullYamaha YZF-R6DNSDNS-no times-0
31.20Benny Crown IndustriesYamaha YZF-R6DNSDNS-no times-0
32.34Michael Crown IndustriesYamaha YZF-R6DNSDNS-no times-0
33.80Garrett WillisSGA Racing/Yamaha Champions Riding SchoolYamaha YZF-R6DNSDNS-no times-0