Motorcycle Types Adventure / Dual-Sport 2012 Germany ISDE, Day 2: KTM Report (Video)

2012 Germany ISDE, Day 2: KTM Report (Video)

2012-germany-isde-day-two-ktm-report-video2012 International Six Days Enduro Video

France continued to consolidate its early lead in the coveted ISDE World Trophy on Day Two of the Red Bull International Six Days Enduro on Germany’s Saxony on Tuesday. The French national team was well supported by KTM factory riders Antoine Meo and Christophe Nambotin, the 2012 World Champions and Johnny Aubert second in E2 behind current overall leader Pierre-Alexandre Renet.

France now has an impressive 12-minute advantage over Australia in second place with KTM’s Australian Offroad champion Toby Price continuing to make a strong charge despite having damaged a wheel on the opening day.

The competition rules allow for repairs but no replacement of bikes but Price was still well in the competition and trails E3 leader Nambotin in the individual class rankings by just 43 seconds.  Italy also had a good day moving up from overall fifth to third place to displace Finland. Spain however dropped down the order and has lost the services of KTM factory rider Cristobal Guerrero who crashed in the tenth test and dislocated his shoulder. He will not be able to continue in the competition.  The team’s collective times count and they are able to drop their worst result of the day.

The USA team, also heavy on KTM factory riders hung on to sixth place with the strongest rider on Tuesday being Charlie Mullins who is currently fourth in the E2 class and eighth overall.  Kurt Caselli appears to have no lingering problems from a first day crash.

There were also some changes in the order of the World Junior Trophy and Britain moves into the lead, displacing opening day leaders France. The British have a 39- seconds advantage on the French line-up while USA moved up two places into third.

In the individual rankings, Meo and KTM factory teammate Eero Remes are 1-2 in the E1 class. Johnny Aubert is second in E2 trailing overall leader ad French teammate Renet and in E3 it is Nambotin and Price who are currently 1-2 in E3.

The second day saw riders engage in the same loop as on the opening day but on Day Three the pace will step up with organizers saying that there will be more difficult riding on the agenda.  KTM is not only present to support its world class factory riders; it also offers a full customer package service that embraces everything from rental bikes to spares and expert advice and tips to the extent that is allowed by the rules of the competition.

The ISDE is not only a highlight of the Enduro calendar for the world’s best; it is also an opportunity for riders and enthusiasts at all levels to compete together in the same conditions and track in what is a multi layered competition right down to club level. It is the oldest offroad competition on the FIM calendar. It was first held in the UK in 1913 and apart from disruptions for WWI and WW2 has been held every year.

2012 Germany ISDE World Trophy Day 2 Results

1. France: Antoine Meo (KTM), Rodrig Thain, Johnny Aubert (KTM), Pierre-Alexandre Renet, Sebastien Guillaume and Christophe Nambotin (KTM), 11:10:46.60

2. Australia: Glenn Kearney, Daniel Milner, Christopher Hollis (KTM), Matthew Philipps, Josh Strang (KTM) and Toby Price (KTM), +12:00.08

3. Italy: Maurizio Micheluz, Deny Philippaerts, Alex Salvini, Oscar Baletti, Manuel Monni (KTM), Mirko Gritti (KTM), + 16:58.73

4. Finland: Eero Remes (KTM), Antii Hellsten, Roni Nikander (KTM), Juha Salminen, Jari Mattila (KTM), Marko Tarkkala, +18:31.00

5. Spain: Victor Guerrero (KTM), Lorenzo Santolino, Ivan Cervantes, Cristobal Guerrero (KTM), Armand Monleon (KTM), Aaron Bernardez, + 18:51.17

6. USA: Mike Brown (KTM), Destry Abbott, Kurt Caselli (KTM), Taylor Robert, Charlie Mullins (KTM), Russell Bobbitt (KTM), + 19:25.59

7. Sweden: +21:33.86

8. Britain: +37:47.21

9. Netherlands: +42:26.52

10. Czech Republic: +55:06.67

11. Germany: +58:31.12

12. Belgium: +58:5106

13. Austria: +1:09:25.16

Junior World Trophy

1. Britain: Jack Rowland, Steve Holcombe (KTM), Alex Rockwell, Danny McCanny 6:59:44.45

2. France: Jeremy Joly, Matthias Bellino, Alexandre Queyreyre, Kevin Rohmer +38.95

3. USA: Travis Coy (KTM), Andrew Delong, Thaddeus Duvall, Jesse Groemm (KTM) +6:39.96

4. Australia: Benjamin Burrell (KTM), Luka Bussa, Mitcham Harper, Lachlan Stanford +7:51.60

5. Portugal: Bernardo Megre (KTM), Henrique Nogueira, Luis Oliveira and Diogo Ventura +6:09.61

6. Finland: + 14:04.41

7. Spain: + 18:13.98

8. Czech Republic: +20:39.79

9. Germany: +20:49.73

10. Sweden: +27:41.43

Women’s World Trophy

1. France: Blandine Dufrene, Ludivine Puy, Audrey Rossat (KTM), 5:29:22.73

2. Australia: Jessica Gardiner, Tanya Hearn (KTM), Tayla Jones (KTM), 5:43:17.62

3. Germany: Heike Petrick, Nina Oppenländer, Sabrina Lauke (KTM), 5:51:35.83


E1 individual Progressive

1. Antoine Meo, France, KTM 2:13.00.88

2. Eero Remes, Finland, KTM, 2:14.43.36

3. Lorenzo Santolino, Spain, Husqvarna 2:16:49.24

4. Rodrig Thain, France, Honda, 2:17:38.53

5. Daniel Milner, 2:17.54.83

6. Antti Hellsten, Finland, TM, 2:17:55.45

7. Maurizio Micheluz, Italy, Honda, 2:18:20.19

8. Lauri Pohjonen, Finland, KTM, 2:19:05.54

9. Michael Brown, USA, KTM, 2:19:14.14

10. Victor Guerrero, Spain, KTM, 2:19:15.43

E2 Individual Progressive

1. Pierre-Alexandre Renet, France, Husaberg 2:12:58.82

2. Johnny Aubert, France, KTM, 2:13:36.14

3. Alex Salvini, Italy, Husqvarna, 2:15:24.78

4. Charlie Mullins, USA, KTM, 2:1538.41

5. Matthew Philipps, Australia, Yamaha, 2:15:40.81

6. Ivan Cervantes, Spain, Gas-Gas, 2:15:47.53

7. Josh Strang, Australia, KTM, 2:16:02.05

8. Taylor Robert, USA, Kawasaki,  2:16:23.90

9. Robert Kvarnstrom, Sweden, Beta, 2:17:15.99

10. Hans Vogels, Netherlands, Husaberg, 2:17:36.97

E3 Individual Progressive

1. Christophe Nambotin, France, KTM, 2:13:32.23

2. Toby Price, Australia, KTM, 2:14:19.54

3. Joakim Ljunggren, Sweden, 2:16:18.24

4. Manuel Monni, Italy, 2:17:21.15

5. Algar Leok, Estonia, TM, 2:17:32.81

6. Danny McCanney, GBR, Gas-Gas, 2:18:18.53

7. Marcus, Kehr, Germany, KTM, 2:18:19.02

8. Sebastien Guillaume, France, Gas-Gas 2:18:26.22

9. Mirko Gritti, Italy, KTM, 2:18:31.81

10. Pontius Hogberg, Sweden, Gas-Gas, 2:18:54.34

Ron Lieback
Ron Lieback
One of the few moto journalists based on the East Coast, Ron Lieback joined the motorcycle industry as a freelancer in 2007, and is currently Online Editor at Ultimate Motorcycling. He is also the author of "365 to Vision: Modern Writer's Guide (How to Produce More Quality Writing in Less Time).

2022 Triumph Bonneville Speedmaster First Look: New Fork and More

The 2022 Triumph Bonneville Speedmaster gets a more responsive motor with additional midrange power from the vertical-twin 1200HT engine. The powerplant also meets Euro...

Avon Tyres + Blood Bikes = Motorcycles Saving Lives

We’ve all heard of blood banks, but this is the first time we have heard of blood bikes. Leicestershire & Rutland Blood Bikes is...

2021 Moto Guzzi V7 Stone 100th Anniversary First Look

Back in December, we gave you a first look at the new 2021 Moto Guzzi V7 lineup. The big news was an increase in...

2022 Triumph Bonneville Bobber First Look (11 Fast Facts)

The 2022 Triumph Bonneville Bobber enjoys a wide range of updates that include functional and aesthetic. The changes are, in part, to meet Euro...

2021 MV Agusta Dragster RR SCS RC First Look (9 Fast Facts)

The 2021 MV Agusta Dragster RR SCS RC is the new flagship of the urban-brawling Dragster lineup. The RC stands for Reparto Corse, and...

2022 Triumph Bonneville T100 First Look (9 Fast Facts)

The Triumph Bonneville T100 gets a more powerful and higher-revving motor for 2022,  along with a lighter chassis and upgraded suspension as the British...