Motorcycle Types Adventure / Dual-Sport KTM's Mullins Wins Lead Belt National Enduro

KTM’s Mullins Wins Lead Belt National Enduro

2012-ktm-mullins-wins-lead-belt-national-enduro2012 Lead Belt AMA National Enduro

Factory FMF/KTM rider Charlie Mullins took the victory at the eighth round of the AMA National Enduro Series in an impressive ride where he won four of the six special tests at Park Hills, Mo. To make the weekend even brighter for the KTM brand, he was joined on the podium by fellow KTM riders Russell Bobbitt and Steward Baylor to make it a KTM podium sweep.

Course conditions were perfect for the riders as rain the night before had left the formerly dry track with the perfect amount of rainfall to make for great conditions. Mullins had a great start to the day taking the win in the first special test.

He carried that momentum into the second test section; where in his first race back since breaking his elbow earlier in the season, he went on to win the second, third and fourth special tests to put his KTM well into the lead. Meanwhile, his teammate, Bobbitt, started the race off slow but stepped up his game in the second half of the race. Bobbitt won the fifth special test and tied Baylor for the win in the final test of the day. Bobbitt and Baylor’s perseverance at the end of the race helped move both riders up to a podium spot.

Charlie Mullins says: “It feels great to take a win. This has been a very challenging season for me and to finally feel like I am back on track is a great feeling. Everything worked well today and I am looking forward to the final few rounds.”

Factory FMF/KTM Team Manager Antti Kallonen was equally pleased, stating, “Today was a great day for KTM. It is great to have all three KTM riders up on the podium. We are happy for Mullins progress and for Baylor maintaining the points lead.”

Next Event: Matthews, Ind. – October 14, 2012

2012 Lead Belt AMA National Enduro Overall Results:

  1. Charlie Mullins – KTM
  2. Russell Bobbitt – KTM
  3. Stewart Baylor – KTM
  4. Mike Lafferty
  5. Jesse Groemm – KTM
  6. Nick Fahringer
  7. Brad Bakken
  8. Andrew Delong
  9. Geoff Barico – KTM
  10. Grant Baylor – KTM

2012 AMA National Enduro Overall Point Standings:

  1. Steward Baylor – 212
  2. Mike Lafferty – 186
  3. Russell Bobbitt – 156

Ron Lieback
Ron Lieback
One of the few moto journalists based on the East Coast, Ron Lieback joined the motorcycle industry as a freelancer in 2007, and is currently Online Editor at Ultimate Motorcycling. He is also the author of "365 to Vision: Modern Writer's Guide (How to Produce More Quality Writing in Less Time).

Breitling Top Time Deus Limited Edition Watch First Look

“Bikers, boarders, surfers, digital nomads,” Breitling CEO George Kerns observes, “this is a timepiece for dynamic people of action, purpose, and style. Our versatile...

86 Gear Motorcycles Yamaha XT630 Supermoto: Restomod Special

Sometimes the route to a custom build is a short one. An idea pops into a builder's head, and the process begins. Other times,...

Honda, KTM, Piaggio, and Yamaha Sign E-Motorcycle Battery Agreement

Get ready for the Swappable Batteries Consortium for Motorcycles and Light Electric Vehicles made up of Honda, KTM, Piaggio, and Yamaha. The goal is...

Laurin & Klement Slavia B – The Birth of Škoda Motorsports 120 Years Ago

Czechs Václav Laurin and Václav Klement founded their bicycle manufacturing company in Mladá Boleslav, Bohemia, in 1895. The company, Laurin & Klement, started a...

2021 Daytona Fantasy Supercross Tips (16 Fast Facts)

The Daytona Supercross is the midway point in the 2021 Monster Energy Supercross Championship Series. There are eight rounds in the book, and there...

BMW Motorrad International GS Trophy Comes To Europe For 2022

For the first time since its 2008 debut, the BMW Motorrad International GS Trophy competition will be held in Europe. Located above the northeast...