News 2012 Brno Moto3 | Results

2012 Brno Moto3 | Results


2012 Moto3 Championship

In an enthralling Moto3 race at the bwin Grand Prix České republiky in Brno it was Mapfre Aspar Team Moto3’s Jonas Folger who held his nerve in drying conditions to take victory in front of Luis Salom and Sandro Cortese.

Despite no rain falling it was declared a wet race from the start, with most of the riders opting for slick tyres as a dry line was forming quickly. It was AirAsia-SIC-Ajo’s Zulfahmi Khairuddin who got the holeshot, yet it was JHK T-Shirt Laglisse’s Efrén Vázquez, on wet tyres, who soon took the lead on the still very damp track. With 18 laps left he was however being chased down by Mapfre Aspar Team Moto3’s Jonas Folger, who had made his way into second.

It was two laps later that Folger, on slicks, pushed past for the lead, as the ever-drying track was causing Vázquez problems. Behind the two, Mahindra Racing’s local replacement for the injured Danny Webb, Miroslav Popov, Redox-Ongetta-Centro Seta’s Jakub Kornfeil and Racing steps Foundation KRP’s John McPhee were having a great race dicing for podium positions. Half way through the race, both Khairuddin and McPhee had gone past Vázquez, as the pursuing group containing Red Bull KTM Ajo’s Sandro Cortese closed in on that fifth spot. In the meantime, MZ Racing’s Toni Finsterbusch retired with a mechanical issue.

Caretta Technology’s Michael Ruben Rinaldi was forced to retire with six laps remaining, whilst Blusens Avintia’s Maverick Viñales had slowly fought his way up into fourth place. It was heartache for Khairuddin as he crashed out of the race with four laps left, as Popov fell coming onto the straight. The final laps provided the typical battle between Cortese and Viñales for the final podium spot, with Kornfeil struggling to keep the pair off. Going into the final lap, RW racing GP’s Luis Salom, who had been stalking behind, snuck behind Cortese, with Viñales and Kornfeil behind.

In the end was Folger who crossed the finish line first with a near six-second gap to take his second-ever GP win ahead of Salom, who had pushed passed Cortese in the final turns. This now gives Cortese a 32-point lead at the top of the championship standings ahead of Viñales, who came in fourth. Behind him were Estrella Galicia 0,0’s Alex Rins, Kornfeil, Cortese’s teammate Danny Kent, Team Italia FMI’s Romano Fenati, Rins’ teammate Miguel Oliveira and Fenati’s teammate Alessandro Tonucci.

2012 Brno Moto3 Results:

Pos. Points Num. Rider Nation Team Bike Km/h Time/Gap
1. 25 94 Jonas FOLGER GER Mapfre Aspar Team Moto3 Kalex KTM 143.1 43’03.089
2. 20 39 Luis SALOM SPA RW Racing GP Kalex KTM 142.7 +5.918
3. 16 11 Sandro CORTESE GER Red Bull KTM Ajo KTM 142.7 +5.963
4. 13 25 Maverick VIÑALES SPA Blusens Avintia FTR Honda 142.7 +6.091
5. 11 42 Alex RINS SPA Estrella Galicia 0,0 Suter Honda 142.7 +6.490
6. 10 84 Jakub KORNFEIL CZE Redox-Ongetta-Centro Seta FTR Honda 142.7 +6.572
7. 9 52 Danny KENT GBR Red Bull KTM Ajo KTM 142.6 +8.421
8. 8 5 Romano FENATI ITA Team Italia FMI FTR Honda 142.3 +13.382
9. 7 44 Miguel OLIVEIRA POR Estrella Galicia 0,0 Suter Honda 142.3 +13.909
10. 6 19 Alessandro TONUCCI ITA Team Italia FMI FTR Honda 141.8 +22.466
11. 5 55 Hector FAUBEL SPA Mapfre Aspar Team Moto3 Kalex KTM 141.6 +25.974
12. 4 23 Alberto MONCAYO SPA Andalucia JHK t-shirt Laglisse FTR Honda 141.6 +26.013
13. 3 26 Adrian MARTIN SPA JHK t-shirt Laglisse FTR Honda 141.6 +26.549
14. 2 61 Arthur SISSIS AUS Red Bull KTM Ajo KTM 141.6 +26.708
15. 1 17 John McPHEE GBR Racing Steps Foundation KRP KRP Honda 141.4 +29.753
16. 10 Alexis MASBOU FRA Caretta Technology Honda 141.3 +32.949
17. 96 Louis ROSSI FRA Racing Team Germany FTR Honda 141.1 +35.869
18. 6 Joan OLIVE SPA TT Motion Events Racing KTM 140.9 +40.433
19. 43 Luca GRUENWALD GER Freudenberg Racing Team Honda 140.8 +40.951
20. 41 Brad BINDER RSA RW Racing GP Kalex KTM 140.8 +41.125
21. 12 Alex MARQUEZ SPA Ambrogio Next Racing Suter Honda 140.8 +41.271
22. 30 Giulian PEDONE SWI Ambrogio Next Racing Suter Honda 140.6 +45.814
23. 27 Niccolò ANTONELLI ITA San Carlo Gresini Moto3 FTR Honda 140.1 +55.417
24. 53 Jasper IWEMA NED Moto FGR FGR Honda 138.5 +1’25.801
25. 7 Efren VAZQUEZ SPA JHK t-shirt Laglisse FTR Honda 137.8 +1’39.559
26. 51 Kenta FUJII JPN Technomag-CIP-TSR TSR Honda 137.5 +1’44.620
27. 3 Luigi MORCIANO ITA Ioda Team Italia Ioda 135.8 +2’17.928
28. 80 Armando PONTONE ITA IodaRacing Project Ioda 130.4 1 Lap
Not Classified
63 Zulfahmi KHAIRUDDIN MAL AirAsia-Sic-Ajo KTM 140.5 5 Laps
95 Miroslav POPOV CZE Mahindra Racing Mahindra 139.6 5 Laps
71 Michael Ruben RINALDI ITA Caretta Technology Honda 128.2 8 Laps
9 Toni FINSTERBUSCH GER MZ Racing Honda 116.0 9 Laps

Ron Lieback
Ron Lieback
One of the few moto journalists based on the East Coast, Ron Lieback joined the motorcycle industry as a freelancer in 2007, and is currently Online Editor at Ultimate Motorcycling. He is also the author of "365 to Vision: Modern Writer's Guide (How to Produce More Quality Writing in Less Time).

2021 BMW R 18 Review (19 Fast Facts on the First Edition)

Over a year after its concept debut, the 2021 BMW R 18 has made its way to production. Much has been written about its...

2021 Honda CRF450R Review (12 First Ride Fast Facts from Glen Helen)

The 2021 Honda CRF450R is all-new for 2021. The entirely new chassis, bodywork, exhaust, and hydraulic clutch highlight the changes to the CRF450R. Add to...

Arai Spoiler EX2 for the Corsair-X Helmet First Look

The Arai Corsair-X is the Japanese company’s flagship helmet and intended for riders of the highest performance motorcycle. MotoGP racers Maverick Viñales of Monster...

2021 Indian Scout Lineup First Look: Five Models (Photos, Specs + Prices)

Although the five-motorcycle Indian Scout lineup is functionally unchanged for 2021—last year was a major expansion of the line—this year, Indian is offering new...

2020 Ural Weekender SE First Look: Special Edition Sidecar

Just in time for autumn, Ural lets loose with the 2020 Ural Weekender SE. Based on the 2WD Gear Up model, the Weekender SE...

Royal Enfield American Flat Track Debut: AFT Production Twins Class

Johnny Lewis debuted the Royal Enfield Twins FT in the Production Twins class at the American Flat Track Williams Grove Half-Mile I in Mechanicsburg,...