2012 Indy Moto3 | Results


2012 Red Bull Indianapolis Grand Prix

In a Moto3 race with drama until the end at the Red Bull Indianapolis Grand Prix it was RW Racing GP’s Luis Salom who stormed to his first-ever victory ahead of Sandro Cortese and Jonas Folger, as Maverick Viñales crashed out in the final turn.

Red Bull KTM-Ajo’s Danny Kent, RW Racing GP’s Luis Salom and Kent’s teammate Sandro Cortese got off to the best start, leading the pack in the early bends. There was however a big crash early on as JHK Laglisse’s Adrian Martín took out TT Motion Events Racing’s Niklas Ajo, whilst Moto FGR’s Jasper Iwema was collected by San Carlo Honda Gresini’s Niccolò Antonelli. Ajo, who got back on track was black-flagged shortly after for “unsporting behaviour” after confronting Martín after the crash.

With 17 laps to go, Estrella Galicia 0,0’s Alex Rins and Blusens Avintia’s Maverick Viñales were swapping positions in second place, as AirAsia-SIC-Ajo’s Zulfahmi Malaysian Khairuddin tried to pull out a gap at the front. Whilst the scrap at the front was going on, Ambrogio Next Racing’s Alex Márquez crashed out of his first ever Moto3 race.

JHK’s Efrén Vázquez, who was in the pursuing group behind the top three, slid off track with 12 laps to go, ending a frustrating weekend for the Spaniard. Salom’s teammate Brad Binder had retired with an engine problem, and with only seven laps remaining Technomag-CIP-TSR’s Alan Techer lost the front of his bike, putting an end to his race.

The last lap was a nail bighting affair with Cortese, Viñales and Salom swapping positions fiercely with fairings touching throughout. Yet it was Salom who judged it perfectly to take his first ever Grand Prix victory ahead of Cortese, while Viñales provided last minute drama by falling in the final turn, unable to get his bike re-started.

Folger benefited from this to take his first win of the season on his first race with the Aspar team. This now gives Cortese a 29-point lead at the top of the championship. Rins’ teammate Oliveira was the first non-podium finisher in fourth, in front of Team Italia FMI’s Romano Fenati, Khairuddin, Rins, Redox-Ongetta-Centro Seta’s Jakub Kornfeil, Andalucia JHK Laglisse’s Alberto Moncayo and Caretta Technology’s Alexis Masbou.

Folger’s teammate Hector Faubel was absent from the race due to injuries sustained in a crash yesterday, as was Caretta Technology’s Jack Miller, after breaking his left collarbone for the second time this season yesterday. Mahindra Racing’s Danny Webb was another withdrawal, having fractured his right wrist in qualifying.

2012 Indy Moto3 Results:

1.2539Luis SALOMSPARW Racing GPKalex KTM137.742’14.300
2.2011Sandro CORTESEGERRed Bull KTM AjoKTM137.7+0.056
3.1694Jonas FOLGERGERMapfre Aspar Team Moto3Kalex KTM137.6+2.940
4.1344Miguel OLIVEIRAPOREstrella Galicia 0,0Suter Honda137.6+3.067
5.115Romano FENATIITATeam Italia FMIFTR Honda137.5+3.664
6.1063Zulfahmi KHAIRUDDINMALAirAsia-Sic-AjoKTM137.3+7.663
7.942Alex RINSSPAEstrella Galicia 0,0Suter Honda137.3+7.697
8.884Jakub KORNFEILCZERedox-Ongetta-Centro SetaFTR Honda137.1+11.203
9.723Alberto MONCAYOSPAAndalucia JHK LaglisseFTR Honda137.1+11.242
10.610Alexis MASBOUFRACaretta TechnologyHonda137.0+13.163
11.561Arthur SISSISAUSRed Bull KTM AjoKTM136.5+23.362
12.452Danny KENTGBRRed Bull KTM AjoKTM136.4+24.364
13.396Louis ROSSIFRARacing Team GermanyFTR Honda136.4+25.001
14.232Isaac VIÑALESSPAOngetta-Centro SetaFTR Honda136.1+31.211
15.119Alessandro TONUCCIITATeam Italia FMIFTR Honda135.9+34.179
16.9Toni FINSTERBUSCHGERMZ RacingHonda133.9+1’12.945
17.30Giulian PEDONESWIAmbrogio Next RacingSuter Honda133.8+1’14.428
18.51Kenta FUJIIJPNTechnomag-CIP-TSRTSR Honda133.8+1’14.709
19.80Armando PONTONEITAIodaRacing ProjectIoda133.8+1’15.326
20.20Riccardo MORETTIITAMahindra RacingMahindra131.21 Lap
Not Classified
25Maverick VIÑALESSPABlusens AvintiaFTR Honda137.81 Lap
89Alan TECHERFRATechnomag-CIP-TSRTSR Honda136.48 Laps
7Efren VAZQUEZSPAJHK t-shirt LaglisseFTR Honda137.212 Laps
3Luigi MORCIANOITAIoda Team ItaliaIoda133.913 Laps
12Alex MARQUEZSPAAmbrogio Next RacingSuter Honda136.117 Laps
41Brad BINDERRSARW Racing GPKalex KTM132.620 Laps
26Adrian MARTINSPAJHK t-shirt LaglisseFTR Honda0 Lap
53Jasper IWEMANEDMoto FGRFGR Honda0 Lap
27Niccolò ANTONELLIITASan Carlo Gresini Moto3FTR Honda0 Lap
31Niklas AJOFINTT Motion Events RacingKTM0 Lap

2012 Moto3 Point Standings:

2.Maverick VIÑALESFTR HondaSPA155
3.Luis SALOMKalex KTMSPA129
4.Romano FENATIFTR HondaITA96
5.Alexis MASBOUHondaFRA81
7.Alex RINSSuter HondaSPA72
8.Louis ROSSIFTR HondaFRA59
10.Niccolò ANTONELLIFTR HondaITA55
11.Miguel OLIVEIRASuter HondaPOR52
12.Efren VAZQUEZFTR HondaSPA50
13.Hector FAUBELKalex KTMSPA44
14.Alberto MONCAYOFTR HondaSPA43
17.Jonas FOLGERKalex KTMGER21
18.Alan TECHERTSR HondaFRA21
19.Niklas AJOKTMFIN21
20.Alex MARQUEZSuter HondaSPA15
21.Jack MILLERHondaAUS14
22.Ivan MORENOFTR HondaSPA10
23.Jasper IWEMAFGR HondaNED9
25.Alessandro TONUCCIFTR HondaITA8
26.Giulian PEDONESuter HondaSWI7
29.Marcel SCHROTTERMahindraGER4
30.Adrian MARTINFTR HondaSPA3
31.Kevin HANUSHondaGER3
33.Kevin CALIAHondaITA2
34.Michael Ruben RINALDIHondaITA1
35.Simone GROTZKYJSuter HondaITA1