News 2012 Indy Moto2 | Results

2012 Indy Moto2 | Results

2012-indy-moto2-results (1)

2012 Red Bull Indianapolis Grand Prix

At the Red Bull Indianapolis Grand Prix it was Team CatalunyaCaixa Repsol’s Marc Márquez who recorded a dominant win in the Moto2 race in front of Pol Espargaró and Julian Simón to extend his championship lead.

Speed Master’s Andrea Iannone took the holeshot ahead of Pons 40 HP Tuenti’s Pol Espargaró and Technomag-CIP’s Dominique Aegerter. And it was Aegerter who was fastest in the early laps as he took and held the lead. Márquez, who did not have a good start made his way aggressively past Iannone and Espargaró in the first two laps to hunt down the Swiss rider, whom he overtook with 23 laps left down the home straight.

With 22 laps reaming, Espargaró, who had dropped down the order, went past Blusens Avintia’s Julián Simón, as he looked to claw back space on Márquez at the front. Two laps later Iannone and Espargaró both went past Aegerter, who looked to be slowing, down the home straight. And it was the Spaniard who was soon finding the pace he displayed all weekend as he went past the Italian to take second. Simón took advantage of this to slip into third. On the same lap it was disappointment for QMMF Racing Team’s Elena Rosell, as she crashed out of the race. In the meantime, Iannone looked to be slowing, as he was also passed by Marc VDS Racing Team’s Mika Kallio and Aegerter. With 15 laps remaining S/Master Speed Up’s Alessandro Andreozzi crashed out of the race, though fortunately walked away unscathed.

With 11 laps left, Márquez had pulled out of gap of over six seconds, whilst Iannone had been handed down to tenth. Interwetten-Paddock’s Tom Lüthi was however starting to find some form as he battled with Kallio for fourth. On the same lap, NGM Mobile Forward Racing’s Yuki Takahashi was forced to pit for a new front tyre. Four laps on, Tech 3 Racing’s Xavier Siméon slid into NGM’s Alex de Angelis, taking both out of the race. Six laps before the end, Aegerter’s teammate Roberto Rolfo also had his race ended with a tyre issue and pain in his recently operated knee.

In the final few laps, the Moto2 front runners had spread out significantly, with Márquez keeping his nerve after a faultless ride to extend his championship lead with an emphatic victory, ahead of Espargaró in second and Simón in third. Márquez now holds a 39-point over Espargaró in the championship, while Simón recorded his firs podium since Portugal 2011. Mika Kallio won the battle for fourth, ahead of Lüthi, Marc VDS’ Scott Redding, Aegerter, Came IodaRacing Project’s Simone Corsi, Iannone and Italtrans Racing Team’s Claudio Corti.

2012 Indy Moto2 Results:

Pos. Points Num. Rider Nation Team Bike Km/h Time/Gap
1. 25 93 Marc MARQUEZ SPA Team CatalunyaCaixa Repsol Suter 145.4 45’13.763
2. 20 40 Pol ESPARGARO SPA Pons 40 HP Tuenti Kalex 145.1 +5.855
3. 16 60 Julian SIMON SPA Blusens Avintia Suter 144.9 +9.394
4. 13 36 Mika KALLIO FIN Marc VDS Racing Team Kalex 144.6 +15.549
5. 11 12 Thomas LUTHI SWI Interwetten-Paddock Suter 144.6 +16.138
6. 10 45 Scott REDDING GBR Marc VDS Racing Team Kalex 144.5 +16.805
7. 9 77 Dominique AEGERTER SWI Technomag-CIP Suter 144.3 +21.359
8. 8 3 Simone CORSI ITA Came IodaRacing Project FTR 144.3 +21.368
9. 7 29 Andrea IANNONE ITA Speed Master Speed Up 144.0 +25.873
10. 6 71 Claudio CORTI ITA Italtrans Racing Team Kalex 144.0 +26.471
11. 5 80 Esteve RABAT SPA Pons 40 HP Tuenti Kalex 144.0 +26.916
12. 4 5 Johann ZARCO FRA JIR Moto2 Motobi 144.0 +27.274
13. 3 18 Nicolas TEROL SPA Mapfre Aspar Team Moto2 Suter 143.8 +31.122
14. 2 95 Anthony WEST AUS QMMF Racing Team Speed Up 143.5 +35.701
15. 1 88 Ricard CARDUS SPA Arguiñano Racing Team AJR 143.5 +35.928
16. 38 Bradley SMITH GBR Tech 3 Racing Tech 3 143.3 +39.240
17. 30 Takaaki NAKAGAMI JPN Italtrans Racing Team Kalex 143.2 +42.507
18. 4 Randy KRUMMENACHER SWI GP Team Switzerland Kalex 143.0 +45.629
19. 81 Jordi TORRES SPA Mapfre Aspar Team Moto2 Suter 143.0 +45.753
20. 8 Gino REA GBR Federal Oil Gresini Moto2 Suter 142.7 +51.567
21. 76 Max NEUKIRCHNER GER Kiefer Racing Kalex 142.7 +52.106
22. 49 Axel PONS SPA Pons 40 HP Tuenti Kalex 142.5 +56.150
23. 23 Marcel SCHROTTER GER Desguaces La Torre SAG Bimota 141.7 +1’11.069
24. 14 Ratthapark WILAIROT THA Thai Honda PTT Gresini Moto2 Suter 141.7 +1’11.765
25. 63 Mike DI MEGLIO FRA MZ Racing MZ-RE Honda 141.2 +1’20.042
26. 57 Eric GRANADO BRA JIR Moto2 Motobi 140.1 +1’42.924
27. 10 Marco COLANDREA SWI SAG Team FTR 140.1 +1’43.184
28. 72 Yuki TAKAHASHI JPN NGM Mobile Forward Racing FTR 125.7 3 Laps
Not Classified
44 Roberto ROLFO ITA Technomag-CIP Suter 140.4 6 Laps
19 Xavier SIMEON BEL Tech 3 Racing Tech 3 143.3 9 Laps
15 Alex DE ANGELIS RSM NGM Mobile Forward Racing FTR 143.3 9 Laps
22 Alessandro ANDREOZZI ITA S/Master Speed Up Speed Up 140.8 16 Laps
82 Elena ROSELL SPA QMMF Racing Team Moriwaki 137.7 19 Laps

2012 Moto2 Championship Point Standings:

Pos. Rider Bike Nation Points
1. Marc MARQUEZ Suter SPA 188
2. Pol ESPARGARO Kalex SPA 149
3. Andrea IANNONE Speed Up ITA 136
4. Thomas LUTHI Suter SWI 134
5. Scott REDDING Kalex GBR 106
6. Mika KALLIO Kalex FIN 90
7. Bradley SMITH Tech 3 GBR 69
8. Claudio CORTI Kalex ITA 65
9. Dominique AEGERTER Suter SWI 61
10. Esteve RABAT Kalex SPA 56
11. Johann ZARCO Motobi FRA 51
13. Simone CORSI FTR ITA 48
14. Takaaki NAKAGAMI Kalex JPN 36
15. Toni ELIAS Suter SPA 34
16. Julian SIMON Suter SPA 33
17. Randy KRUMMENACHER Kalex SWI 24
18. Xavier SIMEON Tech 3 BEL 17
19. Anthony WEST Speed Up AUS 11
20. Nicolas TEROL Suter SPA 11
21. Mike DI MEGLIO Speed Up FRA 10
23. Ratthapark WILAIROT Suter THA 8
24. Ricard CARDUS AJR SPA 6
25. Gino REA Moriwaki GBR 1

Ron Lieback
Ron Lieback
One of the few moto journalists based on the East Coast, Ron Lieback joined the motorcycle industry as a freelancer in 2007, and is currently Online Editor at Ultimate Motorcycling. He is also the author of "365 to Vision: Modern Writer's Guide (How to Produce More Quality Writing in Less Time).

2021 Moto Guzzi V85 TT Lineup First Look: Adventure and Travel

Sporting two touring-oriented ADV motorcycles, the 2021 Moto Guzzi V85 TT lineup returns with some motor and electronics package updates, and a bit more....

2021 American Flat Track Schedule: 17 AFT Rounds Planned

The 2021 American Flat Track schedule has been revealed, and it features 17 rounds running from March to October, and coast-to-coast. There are four...

2021 Aprilia RSV4 and RSV4 Factory First Look (11 Fast Facts)

There are quite a few updates to the 2021 Aprilia RSV4 and RSV4 Factory. None of them are revolutionary. However, taken together, they add...

Honda CRF110F EFI Long-Term Test: 11-Year-Old Tested

When we got a hold of the 2019 Honda CRF110F, we were reluctant to give it back. Test rider Ben Karsian was cutting his...

2021 Moto Guzzi V9 Lineup First Look: Bobber and Roamer Updated

The  Moto Guzzi V9 lineup of the Bobber and Roamer gets a significant update for 2021. There’s a new motor powering the two V9s,...

Tirox SnapJack SS First Look: Motorcycle Chain Maintenance Aid

Although single-sided swingarms are designed to simplify maintenance, if the motorcycle doesn’t have a centerstand, it doesn’t make working on your drive chain any...