Motorcycle Racing News SERT on Oschersleben 8 Hours EWC Pole

SERT on Oschersleben 8 Hours EWC Pole


2012 FIM Endurance World Championship

The Suzuki Endurance Racing Team (SERT) was fastest Friday during qualifying for the Oschersleben 8 Hours in Germany.

The team, consisting of riders Vincent Philippe, Anthony Delhalle and Yukio Kagayama, recorded a combined time of 1:26.982 to place its Suzuki GSX-R 1000 on the pole for Saturday’s Oschersleben event. Philippe was quickest out of the trio, the Frenchman posting a best individual lap of 1:26.672.

But it wasn’t a runaway qualifying session for SERT, which also led Thursday’s practice; the top four teams were separated by only a second.

Starting from second at round four of five in the 2012 FIM Endurance World Championship will be BMW Motorrad France, which consist of riders Sébastien Gimbert, Damian Cudlin and Erwan Nigon.

Third on the grid goes to Monster Yamaha’s Igor Jerman, Steve Martin and Katsuyuki Nakasuga; the Japanese rider clocking-up the fastest individual lap of the day with a blistering time of 1:26.397.

Yamaha France GMT 94 will start from fourth on the grid, the final team to post within a second of SERT. Starting from fifth is the Honda TT Legends team.

The Oschersleben 8 Hours gets underway at 2 p.m. local time Saturday, and finishes at 10 p.m.

2012 Oschersleben 8 Hours Qualifying Results:

1. SERT (Suzuki GSX-R1000) 1:26.982

2. BMW Motorrad France (BMW) 1:27.064

3. Monster Energy Yamaha (Yamaha) 1:27.199

4. Yamaha France GMT94 (Yamaha) 1:27.519

5. Honda TT Legends (Honda) 1:28.053

6. MCP Starteam 67 (Suzuki GSX-R1000) 1:28.548

7. Maco Racing Team (Yamaha) 1:28.635

8. QERT (Suzuki GSX-R1000) 1:28.861

9. Bolliger Team Switzerland (Kawasaki) 1:28.937

10. AM Moto Racing Competition (Suzuki GSX-R1000) 1:29.225

Ron Lieback
Ron Lieback
One of the few moto journalists based on the East Coast, Ron Lieback joined the motorcycle industry as a freelancer in 2007, and is currently Online Editor at Ultimate Motorcycling. He is also the author of "365 to Vision: Modern Writer's Guide (How to Produce More Quality Writing in Less Time).

2021 AMA Supercross and Motocross Pro Numbers: List and Analysis

Supercross starts up in January, and it’s time to match the latest crop of riders to the numbers on their motorcycles. The biggest news...

Cardo Packtalk Black and Prototype Headset Review: Racing Intercom

Cardo has been well known for its high-quality helmet-to-helmet communication systems for over a decade. Cardo uses Bluetooth technology in both is Packtalk and...

2021 Husqvarna FC 450 Rockstar Edition First Look (8 Fast Facts)

The triumvirate of 2020 AMA 450MX National Champion Zach Osborne, 2018 AMA Supercross Champion Jason Anderson, and Dean Wilson will all be racing motorcycle...

Shoei RF-1400 First Look: New Motorcycle Helmet

The folks at Shoei made the best of our pandemic situation with their unique launch of the new Shoei RF-1400. They shipped us the...

2021 Ducati Monster First Look [13 Fast Facts + Specs]

Amid these unique times when OEMs are usually launching their lineups at EICMA, Ducati spent the past five Wednesdays releasing new models. Many, like the...

2021 Ducati Monster Lineup First Look: 4 Models; 2 All-New

There’s a big shakeup in the Ducati Monster lineup for 2021. Say goodbye to the 797, 821, and 821 Stealth. Those three models are...