2012 Mugello Moto2 | Results

2012-mugello-moto2-results (1)

2012 Moto2 Championship

Spoiler Alert: 2012 Moto2 Championship results from Mugello, Italy, listed below

The ninth round of the 2012 Moto2 Championship got underway Sunday for the Gran Premio d’Italia at Mugello, the race won by a home favorite.

It was Speed Master’s Andrea Iannone who recorded an emphatic home win at Mugello after beating Pol Espargaró and Tom Lüthi to the line.

It was Team CatalunyaCaixa Repsol’s Marc Márquez who got the holeshot, yet he was closely pursued by Pons 40 HP Tuenti’s Pol Espargaró and Tech 3 Racing’s Bradley Smith. Two laps in there were already numerous crashes from NGM Mobile Forward Racing’s Alex de Angelis and Kiefer Racing’s Max Neukirchner. Italtrans Racing Team’s Takaaki Nakagami was a man on a mission, as he had pushed his way past Interwetten-Paddock’s Lüthi to lead the pack with 17 laps to go.

Local rider Alessandro Andreozzi crashed on that lap on board his S/Master Speed Up bike, putting an end to his charge in front of his home fans. Shortly after he was followed by Cresto Guide MZ Racing’s Mike Di Meglio, who also dropped his bike in the gravel. As the group headed into lap 13, Espargaró’s teammate Axel Pons and Tech 3’s Xavier Siméon crashed out of the race, while QMMF Racing Team’s Elena Rosell retired with a mechanical issue. Desguaces La Torre SAG’s Massimo Roccoli suffered a crash further down the pack, while Pons rider Esteve Rabat also crashed out.

Espargaró provided the team with some hope however as he challenged Márquez with a move, and then went past Nakagami into second. With nine laps to go Came IodaRacing Project’s Simone Corsi ran off track, but was able to re-join. Espargaró and Lüthi touched fairings as the Spaniard took the lead, while Márquez almost suffered a near crush as he pushed hard. Mapfre Aspar Team’s Toni Elías, who’s split from his team was announced just after the race, crashed out heavily, yet was unhurt.

Iannone was on the Spaniard’s rear wheel, and the Italian ultimately passed him in turn one on the last lap, prompting a nail bighting finale. And it was Iannone who kept his nerve right up until the end to narrowly take the win, with Espargaró and Lüthi completing the final spots on the rostrum. Smith and Márquez completed the top five with the Spaniard still 34 points clear at the top of the championship ahead of Espargaró and Iannone, who are now equal on points. They were followed by Marc VDS Racing Team’s Scott Redding, Nakagami, Technomag-CIP’s Dominique Aegerter, Italtrans’ Claudio Corti and JiR Moto2’s Johann Zarco.

2012 Mugello Moto2 Results:

1.2529Andrea IANNONEITASpeed MasterSpeed Up165.739’52.523
2.2040Pol ESPARGAROSPAPons 40 HP TuentiKalex165.7+0.090
3.1612Thomas LUTHISWIInterwetten-PaddockSuter165.7+0.897
4.1338Bradley SMITHGBRTech 3 RacingTech 3165.7+1.025
5.1193Marc MARQUEZSPATeam CatalunyaCaixa RepsolSuter165.5+3.796
6.1045Scott REDDINGGBRMarc VDS Racing TeamKalex165.5+3.911
7.930Takaaki NAKAGAMIJPNItaltrans Racing TeamKalex165.4+4.425
8.877Dominique AEGERTERSWITechnomag-CIPSuter165.0+11.366
9.771Claudio CORTIITAItaltrans Racing TeamKalex164.9+12.817
10.65Johann ZARCOFRAJIR Moto2Motobi164.8+13.031
11.536Mika KALLIOFINMarc VDS Racing TeamKalex164.8+13.129
12.44Randy KRUMMENACHERSWIGP Team SwitzerlandKalex164.8+13.362
13.318Nicolas TEROLSPAMapfre Aspar Team Moto2Suter164.7+15.199
14.260Julian SIMONSPABlusens AvintiaSuter164.5+17.238
15.188Ricard CARDUSSPAArguiñano Racing TeamAJR163.2+36.556
16.14Ratthapark WILAIROTTHAThai Honda PTT Gresini Moto2Suter162.5+47.701
17.72Yuki TAKAHASHIJPNNGM Mobile Forward RacingFTR162.2+51.966
18.3Simone CORSIITACame IodaRacing ProjectFTR162.1+53.969
19.8Gino REAGBRFederal Oil Gresini Moto2Suter162.0+54.654
20.10Marco COLANDREASWISAG TeamFTR161.1+1’08.279
21.57Eric GRANADOBRAJIR Moto2Motobi160.7+1’14.807
22.63Mike DI MEGLIOFRACresto Guide MZ RacingMZ-RE Honda156.31 Lap
23.95Anthony WESTAUSQMMF Racing TeamSpeed Up151.01 Lap
Not Classified
24Toni ELIASSPAMapfre Aspar Team Moto2Suter164.87 Laps
44Roberto ROLFOITATechnomag-CIPSuter161.19 Laps
80Esteve RABATSPAPons 40 HP TuentiKalex164.611 Laps
55Massimo ROCCOLIITADesguaces La Torre SAGBimota161.613 Laps
49Axel PONSSPAPons 40 HP TuentiKalex162.714 Laps
19Xavier SIMEONBELTech 3 RacingTech 3162.614 Laps
82Elena ROSELLSPAQMMF Racing TeamMoriwaki156.715 Laps
22Alessandro ANDREOZZIITAS/Master Speed UpSpeed Up160.616 Laps
15Alex DE ANGELISRSMNGM Mobile Forward RacingFTR159.519 Laps
76Max NEUKIRCHNERGERKiefer RacingKalex152.020 Laps

2012 Moto2 Championship Point Standings (after nine of 18 rounds):

1.Marc MARQUEZSuterSPA163
3.Andrea IANNONESpeed UpITA129
4.Thomas LUTHISuterSWI123
5.Scott REDDINGKalexGBR96
6.Mika KALLIOKalexFIN77
7.Bradley SMITHTech 3GBR69
8.Claudio CORTIKalexITA59
9.Dominique AEGERTERSuterSWI52
10.Esteve RABATKalexSPA51
12.Johann ZARCOMotobiFRA47
14.Takaaki NAKAGAMIKalexJPN36
15.Toni ELIASSuterSPA34
17.Xavier SIMEONTech 3BEL17
18.Julian SIMONSuterSPA17
19.Mike DI MEGLIOSpeed UpFRA10
20.Anthony WESTMoriwakiAUS9
22.Ratthapark WILAIROTSuterTHA8
23.Nicolas TEROLSuterSPA8
25.Gino REAMoriwakiGBR1