2012 Daytona Supercross | Results

2012 AMA Supercross Results

Spoiler Alert: 2012 AMA Supercross results from Daytona International Speedway listed below

Besides the layout of the Ricky Carmichael-designed track at Daytona International Speedway, there was another element presenting a challenge to the AMA Supercross field – mud.

The entire circuit was a muddy mess due to rain showers throughout Saturday at Daytona before the start of Round 10 in the 2012 AMA Supercross Championship. These slippery track conditions also caused the 20-lap main event to be shortened to 16.

And the winner? Joe Gibbs Racing Yamaha’s James Stewart, who secured his second win of 2012 AMA SX. The Florida native piloted his YZ450F to some impressive lap times in the messy conditions, Stewart taking the win by 7.572 seconds over his teammate Davi Millsaps. Taking the final podium position was GEICO Honda’s Kevin Windham.

When the main got underway, Millsaps got the holeshot, followed by Stewart. The defending AMA Supercross Champion and current series’ leader, Ryan Villopoto, got out of the gate cleanly but fell, restarting in last place.

On the third lap, Stewart passed Millsaps for the lead, and began opening a gap. Behind Millsaps were Windham and Red Bull KTM’s Marvin Musquin. The top four remained this way to the end of the shortened race, and Villopoto fought his way up to take fifth.

With his win, Stewart gained some points on the man who holds second but is currently out hurt due to shoulder surgery, Red Bull KTM’s Ryan Dungey; Stewart is now in third with 177 points, 15 points behind Dungey.

James Stewart (JGRMX Yamaha YZ450F Supercross says: "It means a lot. I felt good all day. I was fastest in practice. Once I got in front, I was just trying to survive."

With his fifth-place finish, Villopoto garnered a few more points, and now leads the 2012 AMA Supercross Championship with 221 points after 10 of 17 rounds.

Ryan Villopoto (Monster Energy Kawasaki KX450F Supercross) says: "That finish is a lot better than what it could have been."

In the shortened 12-lap AMA Supercross Eastern Lites race, GEICO Honda’s Justin Barcia stayed unbeaten in 2012 by holding off Monster Energy Kawasaki’s Blake Baggett by a margin of 2.537 seconds. Taking the final podium position was Baggett’s teammate, Darryn Durham.

Barcia led from the start but received a challenge for the lead from Baggett in the final laps.

Justin Barcia (GEICO Honda CRF250R Supercross) says: "That was the most demanding race of my career. It was so gnarly out there. I needed a good start and I got it and just powered through from there. The biggest thanks to my trainer for pushing me to be in shape because it was just brutal conditions. Tonight was all about survival."

Barcia now has a perfect 100 points, 24 ahead of Durham.

The 2012 AMA Supercross Championship will head to Indianapolis next weekend for Round 11 at Lucas Oil Stadium.

2012 AMA Supercross: Daytona Results:
1. James Stewart, Yamaha
2. Davi Millsaps, Yamaha
3. K Windham, Honda
4. M Musquin, KTM
5. R Villopoto, Kawasaki
6. M Alessi, Suzuki
7. Jake Weimer, Kawasaki
8. Broc Tickle , Kawasaki
9. Matt Goerke, Suzuki
10. Brett Metcalfe, Suzuki
11. Nick Wey, Kawasaki
12. Kyle Chisholm, Kawasaki
13. Kyle Regal, Honda
14. G Faith, Honda
15. J Sipes, Kawasaki
16. Justin Brayton, Honda
17. Cole Seely, Honda
18. Ryan Clark, Kawasaki
19. W Peick, Kawasaki
20. R Kiniry, Yamaha

2012 AMA Supercross Point Standings (after 11 of 17 rounds):
1. Ryan Villopoto 221
2. Ryan Dungey 192
3. James Stewart 177
4. Kevin Windham 143
5. Jake Weimer 134
6. Davi Millsaps 131
7. Chad Reed 128
8. Brett Metcalfe 124
9. Justin Brayton 121
10. Mike Alessi 113
11. Kyle Chisholm 91
12. Josh Hansen 87
13. Broc Tickle 82
14. Nick Wey 76
15. Andrew Short 59
16. Matt Goerke 38
17. R Kiniry 32
18. Marvin Musquin 30
19. Kyle Partridge 29
20. W Peick 27

2012 AMA Supercross Lites: Daytona Results:
1. Justin Barcia, Honda
2. Blake Baggett, Kawasaki
3. D Durham, Kawasaki
4. Ken Roczen, KTM
5. Blake Wharton, Suzuki
6. Jake Canada, Honda
7. K Cunningham, Yamaha
8. M. Stewart , KTM
9. C Thompson, Honda
10. T Weeck, Suzuki
11. L Smith, KTM
12. S Sewell, KTM
13. Alex Martin, Honda
14. T Bowers, Kawasaki
15. J Starling, KTM
16. PJ Larsen, KTM
17. K Peters, Yamaha
18. Justin Bogle, Honda
19. J Gibson, Honda
20. P Nicoletti, Honda

2012 AMA Supercross Lites: Point Standings:
1. J. Barcia 100
2. D Durham 76
3. Ken Roczen 75
4. B. Wharton 72
5. Blake Baggett 62
6. Jake Canada 56
7. Justin Bogle 46
8. M. Stewart 42
9. K Cunningham 42
10. C Thompson 32
11. Hunter Hewitt 31
12. PJ Larsen 31
13. Alex Martin 29
14. Les Smith 22
15. Lance Vincent 21
16. S Sewell 20
17. Matt Lemoine 20
18. P Nicoletti 19
19. A Politelli 15
20. Tommy Week 11