Motorcycle Types Adventure / Dual-Sport 2012 Dakar Rally: Motorcycle Preview

2012 Dakar Rally: Motorcycle Preview

2012 Dakar Rally

Marc Coma’s win at the 2011 Dakar Rally was a historically one for KTM. With the Spaniard’s win, KTM claimed 10 consecutive Dakar victories, showing the all-out prowess of the Austrian machine.

After taking the 2011 title, Coma, who will again compete on the MRW KTM 450 Rally for the 2012 edition of Dakar, has earned three Dakar wins. He and his fellow KTM rider, Cyril Despres, are now equal with three wins apiece.

But as these riders are a crowd favorite, many challenges will be present at 2012 Dakar, which starts in Mal Del Plata, Argentina, Jan. 1, and finishes in Lima, Peru, Jan. 15. For the 2012 edition, riders will travel almost 5600 miles, and have only one day of rest.

This is going to be grueling on Despres and Coma and their perspective machines, but there will also be a host of challenges from many talented riders competing on various machines from Honda, Husqvarna, Yamaha, Aprilia and other KTM motorcycles.

Cyril Despres and Marc Coma have spent the last six years taking turns at winning the rally and do not seem to feel the burden of the years weighing on their shoulders. The two stars of this sport may very well end up crossing swords again, racing on identical KTM 450 motorcycles and with the same lieutenants as last year: Ruben Faria and Juan Pedrero, respectively. Racing in the same colors and being based in the same truck in the bivouac has provided an opportunity for the two Dakar favorites to smooth ruffled feathers.

"We have toned things down a bit," explains Despres. Coma adds that "there is no need for sparks to fly between two sporting rivals." Although a quick glance at the rally’s palmarès reveal that KTM’s stars have the best shot at victory, their performances so far this year have exposed chinks in their armor which their rivals could exploit.

Despres won the Rally dos Sertões but was later forced to abandon his last race in Australia, one of the few times in his career that he had to withdraw from a rally. Coma triumphed in the Pharaons Rally, the Rally di Sardegna and the Dubai Rally, but mechanical issues prevented him from finishing higher than tenth in the Morocco Rally, his last test before defending his title in South America.

All of their expected opponents respect Despres and Coma’s supposed superiority, but that does not mean they are unwilling to put up a fight. The sole exception is David Frétigné, whose plans to return to the Dakar were frustrated by medical concerns that he has still not fully recovered from his hard fall at last summer’s Rally dos Sertões.

But that will not stop the Husqvarna team from coming with an impressive line-up, with Frétigné’s substitute, José Manuel Pellicer, and especially with last year’s special stage winner Paulo Gonçalves. The threat posed by Team Aprilia should not be overlooked, in particular Francisco López, who let slip the podium place he had got in 2010 in the last stage of the 2011 Dakar. "Chaleco," who has already recovered from his accident at the Tunisian Rally, has shown his credentials as the master of the Atacama and is ready to make the difference there this year round.

Hélder Rodrigues may very well prove to be the most tenacious challenger. The Portuguese pilot finished third last year and won the 2011 Rally Raid Championship (after winning both the Tunisian and Moroccan legs of the competition). Team Yamaha also got a bumper crop this year with David Casteu (2nd in the 2007 Dakar and 4th in 2009) racing alongside Olivier Pain, who will be looking to play a leading role in the race with his improved 450 YZF.

Finally, surprises may also come from up-and-coming young pilots, some of whom have the potential to duke it out for a podium place. A couple of examples are Quinn Cody, ninth last year in his debut with Honda, and Felipe Zanol, who spent an entire week hot on the footsteps of Cyril Despres to finish second at the Rally dos Sertões a few months ago. The Brazilian pilot will tackle his first Dakar with the same ambition.

Ron Lieback
Ron Lieback
One of the few moto journalists based on the East Coast, Ron Lieback joined the motorcycle industry as a freelancer in 2007, and is currently Online Editor at Ultimate Motorcycling. He is also the author of "365 to Vision: Modern Writer's Guide (How to Produce More Quality Writing in Less Time).

Helmet Use by U.S. Motorcyclists Trends Higher in Past Decade

Could the availability of better helmet options be part of the reason? According to the U. S. Department of Transportation National Highway Traffic Safety Administration...

Editor’s Letter: A Very Merry Christmas When I Became An ‘Authentic Motorcyclist’

At the end, my parents handed me a small package. I opened it up, and it was a little booklet. It had pictures of a motorcycle.

2021 AMA Supercross and Motocross Pro Numbers: List and Analysis

Supercross starts up in January, and it’s time to match the latest crop of riders to the numbers on their motorcycles. The biggest news...

Cardo Packtalk Black and Prototype Headset Review: Racing Intercom

Cardo has been well known for its high-quality helmet-to-helmet communication systems for over a decade. Cardo uses Bluetooth technology in both is Packtalk and...

2021 Husqvarna FC 450 Rockstar Edition First Look (8 Fast Facts)

The triumvirate of 2020 AMA 450MX National Champion Zach Osborne, 2018 AMA Supercross Champion Jason Anderson, and Dean Wilson will all be racing motorcycle...

Shoei RF-1400 First Look: New Motorcycle Helmet

The folks at Shoei made the best of our pandemic situation with their unique launch of the new Shoei RF-1400. They shipped us the...