News Malaysian Moto2: Bradl Tops Friday

Malaysian Moto2: Bradl Tops Friday

2011 Moto2

Stefan Bradl was the quickest Moto2 rider of the day at Sepang in Malaysia with Aleix Espargaró and Dominique Aegerter in second and third. Bradl’s Championship rival Marc Márquez elected to sit out the afternoon session in order to fully recover after a crash in the morning run.

Viessmann Kiefer Racing’s Bradl edged Espargaró (Pons HP 40) by two-hundredths of a second for the top spot in the final practice of the day and was a tenth quicker than FP1 leader Aegerter (Technomag-CIP) with a best effort of 2’08.464.

Michele Pirro (Gresini Racing Moto2) stepped up to the fourth spot for the day with a best lap of 2’08.594, a margin of 0.015s ahead of Thomas Lüthi (Interwetten Paddock Moto2) who completed the top five with a best lap of 2’08.609.

Alex de Angelis (JiR Moto2) was seven-thousandths off the Swiss rider in sixth, with Simone Corsi (Ioda Racing Project) just behind Australian GP winner De Angelis. Mika Kallio (Marc VDS Racing) was eighth for the day with a time of 2’08.970, followed by Claudio Corti (Italtrans Racing) and Yuki Takahashi (Gresini Racing) who completed the top ten.

There were no fewer than 11 crashes in the session, with a highside for Ricky Cardús (QMMF Racing Team) resulting in a fractured left wrist for the Spanish rider which means he will be unable to ride on Sunday.

Following a crash in a wet Turn 10 in the first practice outing, Márquez (Team CatalunyaCaixa Repsol) decided to sit out the second free practice session in order to fully recover for Saturday’s FP3 and QP. Jules Cluzel (NGM Forward Racing) and Bradley Smith (Tech 3 Racing) also both went down in the same corner at the same time, with Smith suffering a fractured collarbone and a chest contusion and therefore unable to continue this weekend.

Following the incident, Race Direction deemed the marshals had not displayed the appropriate flag at Turn 10 and a decision was made to fine the organiser €15,000.

2011 Sepang Moto2: Friday Practice Results

Pos. Num. Rider Nation Team Bike Km/h Time Gap 1st/Prev.
1. 65 Stefan BRADL GER Viessmann Kiefer Racing Kalex 264.3 2’08.464  
2. 40 Aleix ESPARGARO SPA Pons HP 40 Pons Kalex 260.7 2’08.486 0.022 / 0.022
3. 77 Dominique AEGERTER SWI Technomag-CIP Suter 256.5 2’08.572 0.108 / 0.086
4. 51 Michele PIRRO ITA Gresini Racing Moto2 Moriwaki 257.1 2’08.594 0.130 / 0.022
5. 12 Thomas LUTHI SWI Interwetten Paddock Moto2 Suter 263.9 2’08.609 0.145 / 0.015
6. 15 Alex DE ANGELIS RSM JIR Moto2 Motobi 259.3 2’08.616 0.152 / 0.007
7. 3 Simone CORSI ITA Ioda Racing Project FTR 260.4 2’08.862 0.398 / 0.246
8. 36 Mika KALLIO FIN Marc VDS Racing Team Suter 259.4 2’08.970 0.506 / 0.108
9. 71 Claudio CORTI ITA Italtrans Racing Team Suter 256.7 2’09.001 0.537 / 0.031
10. 72 Yuki TAKAHASHI JPN Gresini Racing Moto2 Moriwaki 258.8 2’09.007 0.543 / 0.006

Ron Lieback
Ron Lieback
One of the few moto journalists based on the East Coast, Ron Lieback joined the motorcycle industry as a freelancer in 2007, and is currently Online Editor at Ultimate Motorcycling. He is also the author of "365 to Vision: Modern Writer's Guide (How to Produce More Quality Writing in Less Time).

2021 World Superbike Schedule First Look: 13-Round WSBK Calendar

The 2021 FIM Superbike World Championship calendar is now public, and it is planned to be a 13-round affair. Government restrictions in reaction to...

2021 MotoE World Cup Championship Series Schedule First Look

The 2021 FIM Enel MotoE World Cup Calendar is set—well, at least as set as anything can be in the era of COVID-19 government...

Klim Adventure GTX Boots Review: Target Audience Perfection

Although mic drop is a cliché these days, some situations and products deserve that accolade. The all-new Klim Adventure GTX boots check every boot...

Harley-Davidson Gift of Riding H-D Riding Academy Contest

There is no better gift in the world than turning a non-rider into a motorcyclist. Of course, it takes more than best wishes to...

2021 Suzuki 650 V-Twins: New Colors Sneak Peek First Look

It’s always interesting to check into Europe’s latest to see what might appear on dealer showroom floors in the United States. We look at...

2021 Honda Rebel 500 ABS SE First Look (5 Fast Facts)

After an upgrade last year, Honda has more plans for the now-midsize Rebel. There is now a 2021 Honda Rebel 500 ABS—an accessorized version...