Suzuka 8: Yoshimura Suzuki on Pole


2011 Suzuka 8-Hours

Suzuki’s newest entry into the FIM Endurance World Championship (EWC), the Yoshimura Suzuki Racing Team, grabbed the pole for Sunday’s Suzuka 8-Hours, round 3 of 5 in the EWC.

Yukio Kagayama piloted the Yosh Suzuki GSX-R1000 to a 2:08.001, taking the top spot; the Suzuka 8-Hours is the only race in the Endurance World Championship that places the fastest lap-rider on the pole after a “Top 10 Trial,” rather than the traditional combined results of each rider per team.

Kagayama has been at all events leading up to the Suzuka 8, the Japanese rider dominating free practice and qualifying with teammate Josh Waters and Nobuatsu Aoki.

Second on the grid will be the Monster Yamaha YART team, which posted a 2:08.025 ahead of Honda’s Musashi RT HARC-Pro squad on 2:08.162.

World Endurance Champions and current series leaders, Suzuki Endurance Racing Team (SERT) did not qualify for the Top-10 Superpole and will start tomorrow’s race from 15th position on the grid.

The start of the race is scheduled for tomorrow at 10:30 am local time (GMT + 9) – an hour earlier than originally scheduled – to save energy consumption in the country that is still recovering from the after-effects of the recent earthquake and tsunami.

Suzuka 8 Top 10 Trial (Qualifying) Results:
1. Yoshimura Suzuki Racing Team (Suzuki GSX-R1000) 2’08.001
2. Monster Yamaha YART (Yamaha) 2’08.025
3. Musashi RT Harc PRO (Honda) 2’08.162
4. FCC TSR Honda (Honda) 2’08.258
5. Honda SuzukaRacing Team (Honda) 2’09.170
6. Yamaha Racing France GMT94 iPhone (Yamaha) 2’09.409
7. BMW Motorrad France 99 (BMW) 2’09.545
8. Crown Keibihosyou Racing (Honda) 2’09.725
9. Honda Dream RT Sakuria Honda (Honda) 2’10.300
10. Eva RT Test Type-01 Trickstar FRTR (Kawasaki) 2’10.979
15. SERT (Suzuki GSX-R1000) 2’12.103.