Isle of Man TT: Senior TT Results

2011 Isle of Man TT

Mother Nature wasn’t too kind to the Isle of Man, but the Island was surely kind to John McGuinness.

After multiple delays Friday due to rain on the 37.73 Mountain Course, the Honda TT Legends rider won the IOMTT PokerStars Senior TT Race. It was his 51st Isle of Man TT, which includes 33 podiums and now 17 wins.

In the age of modern sportbikes, McGuinness can easily call himself the King of the Mountain. His name was already etched in IOMTT history with greats like Mike Hailwood, and considering his stellar 2011 performance, there’s probably more TT history to be written about McGuinness, there’s no doubt about that.

Joining McGuinness on the IOMTT Senior podium was Relentless Suzuki’s Guy Martin, which was his fourth podium in the 2011 IOMTT, and Dainese 6-Lap Superbike winner Bruce Anstey on the Padgetts Honda CBR1000RR.

When the six lap PokerStars Senior TT was completed, McGuinness had finished 7.2 seconds ahead of Martin, and 15.7 ahead of Anstey.

John McGuinness (Honda TT Legends IOMTT) "I can’t remember being pushed that hard in a superbike race for a very long time. It took me a lap or so to get into the rhythm of the superbike again and I made the odd little mistake at the beginning there.

"I settled down after lap two, we had a mega pit stop and after that I was just going for it. On laps three and four I was pushing really, really hard and after another good pit stop I was able to run round on the last two laps with enough pace to stop Guy catching me.

"He made me work for it though! I want to thank the whole team and everyone who is behind the scenes making this happen – without them I wouldn’t be in the position I’m in now. I’m so proud of winning my 17th IOMTT win."

Martin was the early IOMTT Senior TT leader, completing his first lap at over 131 mph. Anstey held an edge of McGuinness on the first lap, but when the riders pitted at the end of the second lap, a slower stop by Anstey allowed McGuinness to take second with four laps remaining.

McGuinness then gained some rhythm, and passed the Martin’s Relentless Suzuki GSX-R1000 before Lap 3 was complete. The Morecambe rider immediately began pulling away from Martin, eventually finishing 7.2 seconds ahead.

The sole American in the 2011 IOMTT Senior TT, Mark Miller, finished 23nd on the Aprilia RSV4, 7:49 seconds behind McGuinness at Glen Helen.

2011 Isle of Man TT: PokerStars Senior TT Race Results:

  1.  John McGuinness (1) 2008 Honda CBR1000RR IOMTT 
  2.  Guy Martin (3) 2011 Suzuki GSXR 1000 IOMTT 
  3.  Bruce Anstey (5) Honda CBR1000 IOMTT 
  4.  Keith Amor (2) 2008 Honda CBR1000RR IOMTT
  5.  Cameron Donald (6) 2010 Honda CBR1000RR IOMTT
  6.  Michael Dunlop (9) 2011 Kawasaki ZX10R
  7.  Gary Johnson (11) 2010 Honda CBR 1000
  8.  William Dunlop (16) 2008 Honda CBR 1000
  9.  James Hillier (17) 2011 Kawasaki ZX10R 
  10.  Michael Rutter (14) 2011 Ducati 1098
  11.  Simon Andrews (31) / 2010 BMW S1000RR
  12.  Dan Kneen (15) 2011 Kawasaki ZX10R
  13.  Ryan Farquhar (7) 2011 Kawasaki ZX10
  14.  Ian Mackman (26) 2010 Suzuki GSXR
  15.  Paul Shoesmith (33) / BMW S1000RR


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.