Motorcycle Types Adventure / Dual-Sport 2011 Quail Lodge Motorcycle Honorees

2011 Quail Lodge Motorcycle Honorees

2011-quail-lodge-motorcycle-honorees (1)Isle of Man TT Quail Lodge Gatering

On May 14, 2011, more than 1,500 motorcycle enthusiasts and collectors attended the third annual Quail Motorcycle Gathering at Quail Lodge Golf Club in Carmel, Calif. The daylong celebration paid tribute to A Century of Racing at the Isle of Man, while also showcasing nearly 200 of the top motorcycles from the past, present and future.

Motorcycles on display included the world’s most famous motorcycle, the John Edgar Lightning, star of the renowned “Bathing Suit Bike” photograph, shot at the Bonneville Salt Flats in 1948. Unveilings included Falcon Motorcycles’ Black Falcon, which was designed and engineered around the engine of a 1952 Vincent Black Shadow.

This motorcycle underwent more than a year of engineering and design by founder Ian Barry and his team. So-Cal Speed Shop, known for custom car creations, also debuted its new line of limited edition motorcycles, the Miler, which are reminiscent of flat-track Triumph racers from the 1960s and 1970s.

Other key motorcycles on display included a 1929 Sunbeam Model 90 TT, winner of the 1929 Isle of Man TT, a 1938 Brough Superior SS-80, a 1961 BSA Goldstar and Avon Motorcycle Tyres 100th Anniversary Bike, built in celebration of its incredible milestone and custom painted by renowned airbrush artist Carlos Avelar. In addition to admiring the aesthetics and engineering of the rare bikes and mingling with fellow collectors and enthusiasts, guests enjoyed live entertainment by The City Limits Band and a barbeque lunch prepared by the culinary team at Quail Lodge Golf Club.

Bonhams & Butterfields’ highly-anticipated auction set a new record with the sale of legendary actor and racer Steve McQueen’s 1971 Husqvarna 400 Cross motorcycle – a machine identical to the one he famously rode shirtless on the cover of Sports Illustrated – at an estimate-shattering price of $144,500. A 1925 BMW R32, an early and very rare motorcycle from the Bavarian Motor Works which would become the blueprint for all subsequent BMWs, also sold for $139,000 – what is believed to be a new record for the model.

The Quail Motorcycle Gathering concluded with the Circle of Champions awards ceremony presented by Breitling. For the first time, full concours judging was offered for those enthusiasts interested in entering a motorcycle and competing for an award in their class.

The appreciation for the wide variety of motorcycles represented at The Quail Motorcycle Gathering was acknowledged by a select group of motorcycle industry experts, The Quail Motorcycle Gathering Judges Committee who chose the motorcycles in their respective class that they believed was most deserving of the award.

This year’s Quail Lodge Motorcycle award winners:

Best of Show
1938 Brough Superior SS-80 owned by Gene Brown

Isle of Man Award
1925 New Hudson Factory Racing owned by Paul Hudson

Innovation Award
1990 DNEPR Diesel owned by Treven Baker

Competition Sport Award
1948 Indian 648 B16 Base Scout owned by Don Emde

Design and Style Award
1966 Velocette Thruxton owned by Frank and Elizabeth Recoder

Custom Award
2011 So-Cal “Miler” owned by Terry Karges

Cycle World Award
1966 Velocette Thruxton owned by Richard Varner

Vetter Fuel Economy Challenge Winner
2010 Hayes Diesel MD690R1 owned by Fred Hayes

Antique through 1940
First place: 1910 Pierce Arrow Four Cylinder owned by C.C. Kasik
Second place: 1924 BMW R-37 owned by Gary Lewis

Japanese through 1978
First place: 1977 Honda GL1000 owned by Albert Catelani
Second place: 1976 Yamaha XT500c owned by Steve Casey

European through 1978
First place: 1957 Triumph TR6 owned by Robert Jordan
Second place: 1954 BMW R-68 owned by Tim Stafford

Competition through 1978
First place: 1961 Bultaco TSS 125 Factory Prototype owned by Randolf Reed
Second place: 1968 Honda CL175 Roadster owned by Michael A. Polkobla

American through 1978

First place: 1960 Harley Davidson Duo-Glide Super Sport Solo owned by Paul Pardini
Second place: 1967 Aermacchi Harley Davidson 250H owned by Frank Jerant

Custom/Modified through 2011

First place: Falcon Motorcycles ‘Black Falcon’ with a 1952 Vincent Black Shadow engine owned by Chad Findley (Designer/Engineer: Ian Barry)
Second place: 2006 Psyclone Boardtrack Racer owned by Fred Fortune

Off Road through 1978
First place: 1972 Penton Six-Day 125cc owned by Blair Beck
Second place: 1966 Triumph Trackmaster 750cc owned by Jack Finegan

Ron Lieback
Ron Lieback
One of the few moto journalists based on the East Coast, Ron Lieback joined the motorcycle industry as a freelancer in 2007, and is currently Online Editor at Ultimate Motorcycling.

2019 Aragon MotoGP Qualifying Results: Marquez Claims Pole #9

The man who claimed the past three wins at Motorland Aragon, Marc Marquez, put in a dominating performance Saturday to claim the pole - his ninth of 2019.

Marquez Tops Aragon MotoGP Friday Practice by 1.1 Seconds

2019 Aragon MotoGP Friday Practice News Repsol Honda's Marc Marquez further proved Friday why he's the clear favorite for this weekend's 14th round of MotoGP...

Ducati Builds 100,000th Multistrada: Confirms V4 MST for 2021

Ducati has reached a milestone after building its 100,000th Multistrada. The Bologna-based manufacturer also confirmed the V4 Multistrada for 2021.

She Rode a Harley: A Memoir of Love and Motorcycles: Rider’s Library Review

She Rode a Harley: A Memoir of Love and Motorcycles Mary Jane Black’s debut book - She Rode a Harley: A Memoir of Love and...

2019 Aragon MotoGP Preview: Leader Marquez to Start 200th Race

Sunday's 23-lap Aragon MotoGP will also be a historic one for Honda's Marc Marquez as the points leader starts his 200th GP race.

The BMW Story: Second Edition by Ian Fallon: Rider’s Library (Review)

In the second edition of The BMW Story shares what Ian Falloon has learned as he tracked the BMW motorcycle line since the book’s first printing in 2003.