Motorcycle Racing News Phillip Island Superpole

Phillip Island Superpole

Superpole Video

At the 2011 opening round of World SBK, Carlos Checa (Althea Racing) set the quickest lap ever recorded around Phillip Island on a Superbike machine when he powered his Ducati 1098R to a time of 1 minute 30.882 seconds, thus grabbing the first Superpole trophy of the year.

Checa, one of last year’s winners in Australia, was just a fraction ahead of Max Biaggi (Aprilia Alitalia) who put in a quick lap towards the end but who was edged off the top slot by 0.013 seconds.

Sylvain Guintoli (Ducati 1198 SBK) gave the Effenbert Liberty Racing team a great championship baptism with third place on the grid, after another good run at Phillip Island for teh Frenchman.

Leon Haslam (BMW S 1000 RR Factory Superbike) made a great effort to take his S1000 RR machine to the fourth slot, just managing to hold off a last-minute attempt by Eugene Laverty (Yamaha World Superbike Team).

Jakub Smrz (Ducati 1198 SBK) was next up followed by Troy Corser (BMW S 1000 RR Factory Superbike), while Marco Melandri (Yamaha R1 Factory Superbike) concluded his first Superpole with eighth place.

Ron Lieback
Ron Lieback
One of the few moto journalists based on the East Coast, Ron Lieback joined the motorcycle industry as a freelancer in 2007, and is currently Online Editor at Ultimate Motorcycling. He is also the author of "365 to Vision: Modern Writer's Guide (How to Produce More Quality Writing in Less Time).

2021 KTM 350 XC-F Kailub Russell Edition First Look (12 Fast Facts)

KTM continues its tradition of special edition motorcycles to honor championship-winning riders. The good news is that buyers get a chance to own a...

2021 BMW R 18 Classic First Look: Touring Motorcycle (9 Fast Facts)

Hot on the heels of the 2021 BMW R 18 First Edition comes the 2021 BMW R 18 Classic. BMW goes for the touring...

2021 Yamaha YZ250F Review (13 First Ride Fast Facts)

We rode the new, upgraded 2021 Yamaha YZ250F at Glen Helen Raceway for a first ride impression. We were fans of the previous YZ250F, so...

2021 Monster Energy Supercross Schedule (Super Tuesdays and more)

The 2021 Monster Energy Supercross schedule is now public. Due to the government responses to the COVID-19 pandemic, the schedule is unlike any seen...

2021 Yamaha MT-09 First Look and All-New (18 Fast Facts)

All-new from the ground-up this year, the 2021 Yamaha MT-09 gets a new motor and chassis, along with a full suite of electronics. Let's...

2020 Yamaha Super Ténéré 1200 ES Adventure-Touring Test

The Yamaha Super Ténéré story begins with the TT500 off-road enduro machine released in 1975, and the XT500 dual-sport model the following year. These...