Motorcycle Racing News 2011 Provisional MotoGP Grid Entry List

2011 Provisional MotoGP Grid Entry List

2011 MotoGP Entry List

The provisional 2011 MotoGP rider line up was released Monday by the FIM. The 2011 MotoGP grid will consist of 17 riders who will vie for the championship throughout 17 rounds.

The two new riders on the 2011 MotoGP entry list are Toni Elias and Karel Abraham.

Elias, who previously competed in MotoGP, joins the 2011 grid after winning the debut 2010 Moto2 Championship. The Spaniard Elias will compete on the LCR Honda.

In MotoGP, Elias competed with Tech 3 Yamah in 2005, Gresini Honda in 2006 and 2007, Pramac Ducati in 2008, and then back to Gresini Honda in 2009 before joining the inaugural Moto2 grid.

Abraham also arrives from the Moto2 Championship. The Czech will compete on the Cardion AB Motoracing Ducati team.

The 2011 season gets underway on March 20 with the opening round in Qatar.

2011 MotoGP Provisional Entry List

(1) Jorge Lorenzo, Spanish, Yamaha Factory Racing
(4) Andrea Dovizioso, Italian, Repsol Honda Team
(5) Colin Edwards, American, Monster Yamaha Tech 3
(7) Hiroshi Aoyama, Japanese, San Carlo Honda Gresini
(8) Hector Barbera, Spanish, Aspar Ducati Team
(11) Ben Spies, American, Yamaha Factory Racing
(14) Randy de Puniet, French, Pramac Racing Ducati Team
(17) Karel Abraham, Czech, Cardion AB Motoracing Ducati
(19) Alvaro Bautista, Spanish, Rizla Suzuki
(24) Toni Elias, Spanish, LCR Honda
(26) Dani Pedrosa, Spanish, Repsol Honda Team
(27) Casey Stoner, Australian, Repsol Honda Team
(35) Cal Crutchlow, British, Monster Tech 3 Yamaha
(46) Valentino Rossi, Italian, Ducati Team
(58) Marco Simoncelli, Italian, San Carlo Honda Gresini
(65) Loris Capirossi, Italian, Pramac Racing Ducati Team
(69) Nicky Hayden, American, Ducati Team

Ron Lieback
Ron Lieback
One of the few moto journalists based on the East Coast, Ron Lieback joined the motorcycle industry as a freelancer in 2007, and is currently Online Editor at Ultimate Motorcycling. He is also the author of "365 to Vision: Modern Writer's Guide (How to Produce More Quality Writing in Less Time).

2021 MotoE World Cup Championship Series Schedule First Look

The 2021 FIM Enel MotoE World Cup Calendar is set—well, at least as set as anything can be in the era of COVID-19 government...

Klim Adventure GTX Boots Review: Target Audience Perfection

Although mic drop is a cliché these days, some situations and products deserve that accolade. The all-new Klim Adventure GTX boots check every boot...

Harley-Davidson Gift of Riding H-D Riding Academy Contest

There is no better gift in the world than turning a non-rider into a motorcyclist. Of course, it takes more than best wishes to...

2021 Suzuki 650 V-Twins: New Colors Sneak Peek First Look

It’s always interesting to check into Europe’s latest to see what might appear on dealer showroom floors in the United States. We look at...

2021 Honda Rebel 500 ABS SE First Look (5 Fast Facts)

After an upgrade last year, Honda has more plans for the now-midsize Rebel. There is now a 2021 Honda Rebel 500 ABS—an accessorized version...

Sena SRL2 Review: Bluetooth Communications for Select Shoei Helmets

The Shoei Neotec II is a sweet upgrade from the original Neotec, and it incorporates many improvements. Nic de Sena reviewed the Shoei Neotec...